تحميل Signal النسخة: 5.47.0

  • نظام التشغيل: ويندوز, ماك, لينكس
  • الترخيص: مجانًا
  • اسم المطور: a
  • إجمالي التنزيلات: 371,841
Share on:
  • احصل على أحدث نسخة رسمية من البرنامج
  • نظيف من الفيروسات وآمن للتحميل
  • تحميل سريع ومجاني من الموقع الرسمي
  • دليل تثبيت يوضح كل التفاصيل اللازمة

الزوّار الآخرون حمّلوا التطبيقات التالية أيضًا

  • Adobe Photoshop Adobe Photoshop

    فوتوشوب هو أفضل وأقوى برنامج في السوق لتعديل الصور، فهو يحتوي على الأدوات اللازمة لتحويل أي صورة عادية إلى تحفة فنية. وقد كان فوتوشوب أول برنامج لتعديل الصور يعمل بنظام الطبقات، وهذا يسهِّل العمل على أي مشروع كبير دون القلق من تغيير أي جزء آخر من المشروع. يحتوي البرنامج على مجموعة كبيرة من الأدوات المختلفة: والتي تسمح بتغيير الخلفية، وتعديل

    اقرأ المزيد
  • Microsoft Word Microsoft Word

    كيفية تحميل Microsoft Word مجانًا بصراحة، لا توجد نسخة مجانية غير محدودة من Microsoft Word، وإذا عرض أحدهم عليك نسخةً مجانية، فاعلم أنها إما أن تكون خدعة وإما أن تكون نسخةً مقرصنة. ومع ذلك، يمكنك تحميل Microsoft Office 365 لتجرب Word مجانًا لمدة 30 يومًا. بعدها قرر ما إذا كنت تريد أن تشتري اشتراكًا. أو يمكنك التسجيل للحصول على تجربةٍ مجانيةٍ

    اقرأ المزيد
  • Adobe Illustrator Adobe Illustrator

    Adobe Illustrator برنامج رائع لإنشاء وتعديل وإنتاج الرسوميات الشعاعية التي يُمكن التحكم في مقاسها. قد يبدو برنامج Illustrator للوهلة الأول برنامجًا في غاية التعقيد لكنه يمتلك ورشة عمل بأدوات كثيرة، كما يُمكنك الاستعانة بالفيديوهات التعليمية والشروحات للتعرف على خيارات البرنامج المتنوعة وتخصيص شرائط أدواتك لعرض الأدوات التي تستخدمها. يُمكنك تحميل نسخة تجريبية مجانية من برنامج Illustrator إمَّا بتحميل التطبيق منفردًا

    اقرأ المزيد

Signal يُقدِّم خدمة المراسلة الفورية عبر مختلف المنصات بتشفير آلي شامل بين الطرفين لكافة المحادثات، وهو بديل مثالي للتطبيقات الأخرى المشهورة مثل واتساب، وتيليجرام، وفيس بوك ماسنجر. يُمكنك بكل سهولة عبر Signal التحدث مع الآخرين وإرسال الملفات والملاحظات الصوتية والصور ومقاطع الفيديو.

أحد المميزات التي يتفرَّد بها Signal هو خاصية التحقق من الهوية التي تتحقق من هوية جهات اتصالك.

اتَّبع الخطوات التالية وسأريك طريقة تحميل Signal مجَّانًا على حاسوبك.

كيفية تحميل وتثبيت Signal على حاسوبك مجَّانًا

يتوجب عليك أولًا تثبيت نسخة تطبيق المحمول على هاتفك كي تتمكن من استخدام نسخة Signal المكتبية.

  1. أول خطوة مطلوبة منك هي التوجه إلى متجر Apple App أو متجر جوجل بلاي لتثبيت Signal على هاتفك.
  2. أدخِل رقم هاتفك المحمول لبدء استخدام التطبيق. أنشيء ملفك الشخصي وعيِّن رمزًا سريًا من 4 أرقام.
    إشارة إدخال لقطة شاشة رقم الهاتف
  3. والآن عُد إلى حاسوبك ثم اضغط على زر تحميل (Download) الموجود بالشريط الجانبي لتنتقل مباشرة إلى الصفحة الرسمية لتحميل Signal.
  4. اضغط على زر “تحميل للويندوز Download for Windows” كما هو موضح بالأسفل لتحميل ملف التثبيت .exe الخاص بالتطبيق.
    لقطة شاشة واجهة مستخدم Signal for Windows
  5. فإن كان لديك نظام تشغيل آخر، فمرر السهم إلى الأسفل لتطلع على المزيد من خيارات التحميل.
  6. توجه إلى مجلد تحميلاتك ثم اضغط مرتين على الملف الذي قد حمَّلته للتو لبدء تثبيت التطبيق على حاسوبك.
  7. افتح التطبيق على هاتفك ثم امسح بالكاميرا رمز الاستجابة السريعة (QR Code) الموجود على التطبيق المكتبي.
    مسح إشارة QR لقطة شاشة
  8. اضغط على الانتهاء من ربط الهاتف (Finish Linking Phone) لإكمال العملية. سيتولى Signal مهمة مزامنة جهات اتصالك الذين يستخدمون بالفعل Signal.
    لقطة شاشة إشارة ربط الهاتف

كيفية إزالة تثبيت Signal من حاسوبك

إذا لم تعد ترغب في استخدام Signal للتواصل مع أصدقائك وزملائك، فبإمكانك حذف التطبيق بكل سهولة من حاسوبك باتباع الخطوات البسيطة التالية:

  1. اكتب في شريط الويندوز للبحث إضافة أو إزالة البرامج (Add or Remove Programs) ثم اضغط على زر إدخال (Enter).
    تطبيق Signal إضافة أو إزالة لقطة شاشة للبرامج
  2. انتقل إلى الأسفل حتى تعثر على Signal ضمن قائمة البرامج المُثبَّتة ثم اضغط على زر إزالة التثبيت (Uninstall).
    لقطة شاشة لإلغاء تثبيت تطبيق Signal
  3. أكِّد على رغبتك في حذف البرنامج بعدما يفتح مساعد إزالة التثبيت لإزالته نهائيًا من حاسوبك،

إذا كنت ترغب في تجربة تطبيقات أخرى للمراسلة الفورية فإليك بدائل مجَّانية بالأسفل.

نظرة عامة عن Signal

إذا كنت تبحث عن تطبيق للمراسلة الفورية يهتم أكثر بالخصوصية، فإن Signal أول ما سيخطر على البال. فبالإضافة إلى أنه يُقدِّم لك كل ما قد تحتاجه من برامج المراسلة، فإنه يتمتع بواجهة مستخدم بسيطة، ويُقدِّم نسخة للهواتف ونسخة للحواسيب المكتبية لتستخدمه بمرونة، ويوفِّر تشفيرًا آليًا شاملًا للطرفين لكل المحادثات. من الأشياء المهمة التي يجب أن تعلمها هو أن البرنامج من تطوير أحد المؤسسات غير الربحية ولهذا فإنه مجَّاني ومفتوح المصدر.

ملاحظة إشارة إلى لقطة للشاشة الذاتية

من المعلوم أن Signal يستخدم أرقام الهواتف الخلوية كمعلومات مُحددة للهوية لتأمين كافة المحادثات التي تجري بين مستخدمي Signal. التطبيق يعتمد على آليات تتيح لك التحقق من هوية جهات الاتصال الذين تتواصل معهم وكذلك التحقق من قناة البيانات. رغم أن Signal متاح على الويندوز والماك ولينكس، سيتوجب عليك أولًا تثبيت تطبيق Signal على هاتفك الآيفون، أو الآيباد، أو الأندرويد لتتمكن من استخدامه على الحاسوب المكتبي.

مميزات Signal

إليك بعض مميزات Signal التي ساهمت في تحسين تجربة المستخدمين. ضع في اعتبارك أن نسخة التطبيق على الحاسوب المكتبي تفتقر إلى بعض المميزات المتقدمة الموجودة في نسخ التطبيق على الهواتف المحمولة:

1. الرسائل ذاتية الاختفاء

خاصية “الرسائل ذاتية الاختفاء” تتيح لمستخدمي Signal إرسال رسائل مؤقتة، أي أن بإمكانك إرسال رسائل تختفي ذاتيًا بعد مرور فترة زمنية محددة، وهذه الخاصية مفيدة للغاية لأنها توفِّر على نفسك عناء محو المحادثات لا ترغب في الاحتفاظ بها في كل مرة. يوجد مدد زمنية محددة مسبقًا مثل 30 ثانية، و5 دقائق، وساعة، ويوم، وأسبوع، وإلخ ويُمكنك كذلك تعيين مدة زمنية محددة كما يناسبك. ويُمكنك أيضًا حذف أي محادثة إلى الأبد.

لقطة شاشة لرسائل الإشارة تختفي

2. المكالمات الصوتية والفيديو

يُمكنك عبر Signal إجراء المكالمات الفردية والجماعية وكذلك مكالمات الفيديو مع ما يصل إلى 40 شخصًا عبر المنصات المختلفة مثل iOS، والأندرويد، وحاسوبك المكتبي. يُمكنك إجراء مكالمات مجَّانية عبر الاتصال بأحد الشبكات اللاسلكية أو بيانات الهاتف سواء ما كنت ستتواصل مع جهة اتصال محليًا أو دوليًا.

إشارة تسمح بالوصول إلى لقطة الشاشة

3. ملاحظات شخصية

لن تحتاج إلى استخدام تطبيقات جانبية لتدوِّن ملاحظاتك الشخصية، لأن بإمكانك تفعيل تلك الخاصية واستخدامها لتسجيل ملاحظاتك الشخصية مثل المهام التي تود الانتهاء منها أو لتبقى على اطلاع بالمهام التي ما زلت تعمل عليها، وبإمكانك استخدام الخاصية فيما تحب لكن ضع في اعتبارك أنه لا تشتمل على خاصية التذكير.

ملاحظة إشارة إلى لقطة شاشة ميزة ذاتية

4. التعديل على الصور

يدعم Signal خاصية التعديل على الصور كي تتمكن بكل سهولة من إضافة النصوص، وتحديد أجزاء معينة من الصورة بألوان مختلفة، وإضافة اللاصقات، وقص الصور. من المميزات الأخرى أيضًا أداة التمويه التي تساعدك على حماية هويتك عبر إخفاء أجزاء معينة من الصور مثل عنوانك، أو بريدك الإلكتروني، أو وجوه الأشخاص، أو رقم هاتفك.

5. الوضع الليلي

إذا كان تُفضِّل استخدام Signal على الحاسوب المكتبي بواجهة مستخدم أكثر اناقة، فبإمكانك تفعيل الوضع الليلي. كل ما تحتاجه هو الذهاب إلى ملفك الشخصي ثم الضغط على التفضيلات (Preferences) بيسار الزاوية العليا ثم الضغط على المظهر (Appearance). وستجد هنالك خيار التحويل إلى الوضع الليلي أو النهاري.

لقطة شاشة إعدادات مظهر الإشارة

6. إرسال الرسائل

يتيح Signal لك أيضًا إمكانية إرسال الرسائل النصية، والملفات، والوثائق، والملاحظات الصوتية، والصور، والصور المتحركة، ورسائل الفيديو عبر الاتصال بأحد الشبكات اللاسلكية أو بيانات الهاتف لمستخدمي Signal الآخرين على تطبيق الحاسوب المكتبي وكذلك أجهزة الـ iOS والأندرويد.

لقطة شاشة لمجموعة الإشارة

7. محفظة العملات الرقمية

أحد المميزات الرائعة في Signal هو محفظة العملات الرقمية التي تتيح لك تخزين وإرسال واستلام المدفوعات داخل التطبيق. لم تكن تلك الخاصية متاحة لجميع المستخدمين حتى نوفمبر 2021، إذ كانت مقتصرة على بعض المناطق والبلدان. واعتبارًا من يناير 2022، فإن طريقة الدفع الوحيدة المدعومة هي MobileCoin التي جرى اختبارها أولًا على يد المستخدمين في المملكة المتحدة في عام 2021. من المهم أن تعلم أن خاصية الدفع هذه متاحة فقط عبر نسخ التطبيق على الهاتف المحمول.

لقطة شاشة لمدفوعات الإشارة

8. قراءة الرسائل متخفيًّا

يتيح Signal لك قراءة الرسائل متخفيًا حتى تتمكن بكل سهولة من قراءة الرسائل متخفيًا دون أن يعلم الطرف الآخر أنك قرأت الرسالة. توجه بكل بساطة إلى الإعدادات (Settings) > الخصوصية (Privacy) > إلغاء تفعيل خاصية استلام الرسائل (Read Receipts) أسفل قسم المحادثات (Communication).

9. تشفير شامل بين الطرفين

كافة المحادثات التي تجري بين مستخدمي Signal يتم حمايتها تلقائيًّا بتشفير شامل بين الطرفين، مع العلم أن مفاتيح التشفير يجري توليدها وتخزينها على هاتفك المحمول. كما يوجد خاصية التحقق من الهوية التي تتيح لك التحقق مما إذا كان الشخص الذي تتواصل معاه هو فعلًا الشخص الذي يدعي أنه هو. يتيح Signal لك التأكد من ذلك بمقارنة رموز المفاتيح (أو مسح رموز الاستجابة السريعة QR Codes). وذلك لأن Signal يعتمد على آلية موثوقة لتنبيهك في حال اختلفت رموز الشخص الذي تتحدث معه.

10. حجب جهات الاتصال

يُمكنك كذلك استخدام خاصية الحجب لمنع أشخاص معينين أو جهات اتصال محددة من الاتصال بك أو مراسلتك. يُمكنك الوصول إلى زر الحجب عبر إعدادات المحادثة (Chat Setting)، ويُمكنك حجب جهات الاتصال التي لم تعد ترغب في التواصل معها.

بدائل مجَّانية لـ Signal

واتساب للحاسوب: واتساب للحاسوب هو غالبًا البديل الأكثر استخدامًا لـ Signal. وكما هو الحال لدى Signal، فإنه ليس تطبيقًا مستقلًا، بل إنه يعمل فقط إذا كان لديك التطبيق على المحمول كذلك. ورغم أنه يفتقر إلى بعض المميزات المتقدمة الموجودة في التطبيق على المحمول، فإنه لا يزال يُوفِّر لك تجربة مرضية لمراسلة الآخرين.

تيليجرام للحاسوب: تيليجرام للحاسوب هو تطبيق مُكمِّل لتطبيق تيليجرام للمراسلة على هاتفك؛ إذ يتيح تيليجرام لك قراءة الرسائل وإرسالها لجهات اتصالك، بما في ذلك المرفقات والصور ومقاطع الموسيقى والمستندات والفيديوهات. يُمكنك أيضًا إنشاء الجروبات والقنوات وإجراء الكثير من المهام المتعلقة بالمراسلة.

فيسبوك ماسنجر: فيس بوك ماسنجر هو تطبيق للمراسلة الفورية ومنصة صُممت لتسهيل تبادل النصوص والصور والمستندات وكذلك إجراء المكالمات الصوتية والفيديو بكل سلاسة. يشتمل تطبيق الماسنجر على ملصقات وصور متحركة وأيقونات. إذا كنت تستخدم كثيرًا منصة فيس بوك للمراسلة، فإن ذلك التطبيق خيارٌ مناسب لك.

الأسئلة الشائعة

هل Signal مجَّاني؟

Signal هو بلا شك تطبيق مفتوح المصدر ومجَّاني للمراسلة ويدعم نظام الويندوز ولينكس والماك وiOS وأجهزة الأندرويد. اتَّبع خطوات التحميل البسيطة هذه .لتثبيت Signal على حاسوبك

هل Signal آمن؟

Signal تطبيق آمن لأنه يستخدم تشفير شامل بين الطرفين لمنع التنصت على اتصالاتك مع أي جهة من جهات اتصالك دون إذن، بل حتى Signal لا يستطيع الاطلاع على رسائلك. يُمكنك تحميل وتثبيت Signal على حاسوبك بصورة آمنة عبر الموقع الرسمي. احرص على تجنب تحميله من المواقع غير الرسمية كي لا تُعرِّض جهازك للفيروسات وبرامج التجسس.

كم عدد الأشخاص الذين يمكنهم الانضمام إلى المكالمة الجماعية الواحدة؟

عدد الأشخاص الذين يمكنهم الانضمام إلى مكالمة جماعية واحدة 40 شخصًا وهو نفس الحد الأقصى الذي تسمح به المكالمة الجماعية العادية. مع العلم أن كل شخص يجب أن يكون لديه النسخة الأخيرة من Signal ولابد أن يكون عضوًا في نفس المحادثة الجماعية.

اقرأ المزيد

الأسئلة الشائعة

هل Signal مجَّاني؟

Signal هو بلا شك تطبيق مفتوح المصدر ومجَّاني للمراسلة ويدعم نظام الويندوز ولينكس والماك وiOS وأجهزة الأندرويد. اتَّبع خطوات التحميل البسيطة هذه .لتثبيت Signal على حاسوبك

هل Signal آمن؟

Signal تطبيق آمن لأنه يستخدم تشفير شامل بين الطرفين لمنع التنصت على اتصالاتك مع أي جهة من جهات اتصالك دون إذن، بل حتى Signal لا يستطيع الاطلاع على رسائلك. اتَّبع خطوات التحميل البسيطة هذه. احرص على تجنب تحميله من المواقع غير الرسمية كي لا تُعرِّض جهازك للفيروسات وبرامج التجسس.

كم عدد الأشخاص الذين يمكنهم الانضمام إلى المكالمة الجماعية الواحدة؟

عدد الأشخاص الذين يمكنهم الانضمام إلى مكالمة جماعية واحدة 40 شخصًا وهو نفس الحد الأقصى الذي تسمح به المكالمة الجماعية العادية. مع العلم أن كل شخص يجب أن يكون لديه النسخة الأخيرة من Signal ولابد أن يكون عضوًا في نفس المحادثة الجماعية.

المشاركة والدعم

WizCase موقع مراجعات محايد يعتمد على دعم قرائه، مما يعني أننا قد نربح نسبة من المال إذا قررت الشراء عبر الروابط التي نضعها على موقعنا، لكنك لن تدفع أي رسوم إضافية على أي شيء تشتريه عبر موقعنا، فنحن نحصل على نسبتنا مباشرةً من الشركة المالكة للمنتج.

Advertising Disclosure

Wizcase was established in 2018 as an independent site reviewing VPN services and covering privacy-related stories. Today, our team of hundreds of cybersecurity researchers, writers, and editors continues to help readers fight for their online freedom in partnership with Kape Technologies PLC, which also owns the following products: ExpressVPN, CyberGhost, ZenMate, and Private Internet Access which may be ranked and reviewed on this website. The reviews published on Wizcase are believed to be accurate as of the date of each article, and written according to our strict reviewing standards that prioritize the independent, professional and honest examination of the reviewer, taking into account the technical capabilities and qualities of the product together with its commercial value for users. The rankings and reviews we publish may also take into consideration the common ownership mentioned above, and affiliate commissions we earn for purchases through links on our website. We do not review all VPN providers and information is believed to be accurate as of the date of each article.

Advertising Disclosure

Wizcase was established in 2018 as an independent site reviewing VPN services and covering privacy-related stories. Today, our team of hundreds of cybersecurity researchers, writers, and editors continues to help readers fight for their online freedom in partnership with Kape Technologies PLC, which also owns the following products: ExpressVPN, CyberGhost, ZenMate, and Private Internet Access which may be ranked and reviewed on this website. The reviews published on Wizcase are believed to be accurate as of the date of each article, and written according to our strict reviewing standards that prioritize the independent, professional and honest examination of the reviewer, taking into account the technical capabilities and qualities of the product together with its commercial value for users. The rankings and reviews we publish may also take into consideration the common ownership mentioned above, and affiliate commissions we earn for purchases through links on our website. We do not review all VPN providers and information is believed to be accurate as of the date of each article.

Download Signal Version: 5.47.0

  • Operating System: Windows, Mac, Linux
  • License: Free
  • Developer Name: a
  • Total Downloads: 372,518
  • Category: Messaging App
Share on: X
  • Get the latest official version of the software.
  • Clean from viruses and safe to download.
  • Fast and free download from the official website
  • Guided installation with all the needed details

Other people also downloaded this

  • Adobe Photoshop Adobe Photoshop

    Photoshop stands out as the premier and most potent image editing software available today. It provides a comprehensive set of tools capable of elevating an ordinary photograph into a true masterpiece. There’s a whole host of tools that include changing backgrounds, adjusting facial features, creating 3D images, video editing, and much more. Photoshop is a part of the Adobe Creative

    Read More
  • Microsoft Word Microsoft Word

    Finding a free version of Word can be a tough mission. I know it because I tried so many times, just to find out that Microsoft isn’t giving away its most powerful word-processing tool for free. What I did find is either a pirated version or malware and in most cases, even the pirated version is infected with malware. The

    Read More
  • Adobe Illustrator Adobe Illustrator

    Adobe Illustrator proves to be an excellent application for crafting, modifying, and generating scalable vector graphics. Initially, Illustrator might appear daunting due to its abundance of tools. To ease into it, you can leverage video tutorials to acquaint yourself with the various features. Moreover, you have the option to tailor your toolbars, displaying only those tools that you find

    Read More

Signal is a cross-platform centralized instant messaging service that uses automatic end-to-end encryption for all communications. It’s an excellent alternative to popular options like WhatsApp, Telegram, and Facebook Messenger. Signal allows you to easily chat with others and send files, voice notes, images, and video clips.

One unique feature of Signal is the Identity Verification function that allows you to independently verify the identity of your contacts.

Follow the instructions below and I’ll show you how to download Signal on your PC for free.

How to Download and Install Signal on Your PC for Free

Note that to use the Signal desktop app, you must first install the mobile app on your phone.

  1. The first thing you want to do is go to your Apple App Store or Google Play Store and install Signal on your phone.
  2. Use your phone number to set it up. Create a profile and a 4-digit PIN.
    Signal enter phone number screenshot
  3. Now come back to your computer and click on the download button on the sidebar to go directly to the official Signal download page.
  4. Click on the “Download for Windows” button as shown below to download the .exe setup file for the application.
    Signal for Windows user interface screenshot
  5. For other operating systems, scroll down a bit to see more download options.
  6. Go to your download folder and double-click the file you just downloaded to begin the installation on your PC.
  7. Open the app on your phone and scan the QR Code you see on the desktop app.
    Signal scan QR screenshot
  8. Click Finish Linking Phone to complete the process. Signal will sync up your phone contacts that are already using Signal.
    Signal linking phone screenshot

How to uninstall Signal from your PC

If you no longer wish to use Signal to communicate with friends and colleagues, you can easily delete the application from your PC by following these simple steps:

  1. Type Add or Remove Programs in the Windows search bar and click the Enter key.
    Signal add or remove programs screenshot
  2. Scroll and locate Signal on the list of installed programs, then click the “Uninstall” button.
    Signal uninstall screenshot
  3. Once the uninstallation wizard opens, confirm that you want to remove the software, and it will be deleted from your computer.

If you would like to try out other instant messaging applications, check out the free alternatives below.

Signal Overview

If you’re looking for an instant messaging service that puts an extra premium on privacy, Signal would most likely come to mind. Aside from offering you everything you can expect from a messaging software, it includes an intuitive user interface, mobile and desktop versions for flexibility, and an automatic end-to-end encryption for all conversations. An important thing to note is that the software was developed by a non-profit organization, so it is free and open-source.

Signal note to self screenshot

Signal is known to use standard cellular telephone numbers as identifiers, which it uses to secure all communications to other Signal users. The client software includes mechanisms that allow you to independently verify the identity of contacts you communicate with and the integrity of the data channel. While Signal for Desktop is available for Windows, Mac, and Linux, you must have the Signal app installed on your iPhone, iPad, or Android device to use it on the desktop.

Features of Signal

Here are some of the features of Signal that make it enhance the experience of users. Keep in mind that the desktop app lacks some of the advanced features you’ll see in the mobile apps:

1. Disappearing Messages

The “disappearing messages” feature allows Signal users to send timed messages, meaning that you can make your messages disappear on their own after a period of time has passed. This is very useful, as it saves you trouble of going back every time to clear chats that you do not want to keep. There are already preset options of 30 seconds, 5 minutes, 1 hour, 1 day, 1 week, etc., but you can set custom times if you want. You can also permanently delete any conversation.

Signal disappearing messages screenshot

2. Voice & Video Calls

With Signal, you can make one-to-one and group voice and video calls with up to 40 people across different platforms, including on iOS, Android, and your desktop. You can make free calls over a Wi-Fi or mobile data connection, whether they are local or international contacts.

Signal allow access screenshot

3. Note to Self

No need to use additional applications to keep notes. You can activate this feature and use it to keep personal notes of things you want to do or as a way of keeping tabs on your progress on a task. You are free to decide how it serves you, but keep in mind that it doesn’t work as a reminder.

Signal note to self feature screenshot

4. Photo Editor

Signal features a photo editor, which you can use to quickly add text, highlight parts of an image in different colors, add stickers, crop an image. Another feature here is the blur tool that allows you to protect your identity by hiding parts of an image, such as, address, email, faces, and phone number.

5. Signal Dark Mode

If you prefer a sleeker appearance when using Signal on Desktop, you can also use the dark mode. Simply go to your profile on the top left corner and click Preferences, then select Appearance. There you’ll find an option to switch to Light or Dark modes.

Signal appearance settings screenshot

6. Send SMS

Signal also allows you to send text messages, files, documents, voice notes, pictures, GIFs, and video messages over a Wi-Fi or data connection to other Signal users on the desktop app, as well as on iOS and Android devices.

Signal group screenshot

7. Cryptocurrency Wallet

An interesting feature in signal is the cryptocurrency wallet functionality, which allows you to store, send, and receive in-app payments. Until November 2021, this function was not available to all users, as it was previously restricted to certain regions and countries. As of January 2022, the only supported payment method is MobileCoin, which was initially tested with UK users back in 2021. Also note that the payment feature is only available via the mobile versions of the app.

Signal payments screenshot

8. Read Receipts

Signal allows you to disable read receipts. For instances where you might not want to reveal whether you have read a message or not, this comes in handy. Simply go Settings > Privacy and toggle off Read receipts under Communication.

9. End-to-end Encryption

All communications between Signal users are automatically secured with end-to-end encryption. The encryption keys are generated and stored on your phones. There is also an identity verification mechanism that allows you to verify that the person you’re communicating with is really the person that they claim to be. Signal enables you to do this by comparing key codes (or scan QR codes) out-of-band. This is because Signal uses a trust-on-first-use mechanism to notify you if your correspondent’s key has changed.

10. Block Contacts

You can also use the block feature to bar certain people or contacts from calling and messaging you. The block button can be found in Chat Settings, and is useful if you have contacts you no longer wish to communicate with.

Free Alternatives to Signal

WhatsApp for Desktop: WhatsApp for Desktop is likely the most popular substitute for Signal among users. Similar to Signal, it functions as a companion app and requires the presence of the mobile application. While it may not offer all the advanced functionalities found in its mobile counterparts, it still provides a highly satisfactory messaging experience.

Telegram for Desktop: Telegram for Desktop complements your mobile Telegram messenger app. Telegram allows you to check and send messages to your contacts, including attachments, like photos, music, documents, and videos. You can also create groups and channels and carry out many other messaging functions.

Facebook Messenger: Facebook Messenger is an instant messaging app and platform built to enable seamless exchange of texts, images, and documents, as well as for making audio and video calls. Messenger also comes with stickers, GIFs, and emojis. If you use Facebook messaging a lot, this is a good option for you.

FAQs

Is Signal free?

Signal is an open-source and absolutely free messaging application for Windows, Linux, macOS, iOS, and Android devices. To install Signal on your desktop, follow this simple download instruction.

Is Signal secure?

Signal is safe and uses end-to-end encryption to prevent unauthorized interception of your communication with any contact. Not even Signal can read your messages. You can safely download and install Signal on your computer from the official website. Be sure to avoid unofficial sources to avoid exposing your device to spyware and viruses.

How many people can join a Signal group call?

The number of people who can join a Signal group call is the same as the general group call size limit of 40. Each participant must have the latest version of Signal installed and must be a member of the same Signal Group chat.
Read More

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Signal free?

Signal is an open-source and absolutely free messaging application for Windows, Linux, macOS, iOS, and Android devices. To install Signal on your desktop, follow this simple download instruction.

Is Signal secure?

Signal is safe and uses end-to-end encryption to prevent unauthorized interception of your communication with any contact. Not even Signal can read your messages. You can safely download and install Signal on your computer from the official website. Be sure to avoid unofficial sources to avoid exposing your device to spyware and viruses.

How many people can join a Signal group call?

The number of people who can join a Signal group call is the same as the general group call size limit of 40. Each participant must have the latest version of Signal installed and must be a member of the same Signal Group chat.
Share & Support

WizCase is an independent review site. We are reader-supported so we may receive a commission when you buy through links on our site. You do not pay extra for anything you buy on our site — our commission comes directly from the product owner.

Support WizCase to help us guarantee honest and unbiased advice. Share our site to support us!