مراجعة Bark لعام 2021: هل غيَّرت الميزات الجديدة رأيي؟

[email protected]
www.bark.us

ما الذي ننظر إليه؟

متوافق مع:

نظرة عامة على Bark يوليو 2021

أهم التحديثات:

  • إضافة خاصية التحكم في إدارة الشاشة. التقييم: خطوة في الاتجاه الصحيح، لكنها ما تزال بحاجة إلى تحسينات.
  • عودة تطبيق Bark Kids إلى متجر App Store. التقييم: خبر سعيد لمستخدمي آيفون وآيباد.
  • هيكل تسعير جديد.

يدعي Bark أن تطبيقه يهدف إلى بناء الثقة بين الأطفال والآباء، ورغم أنني لست متأكدًا من أن “الثقة” هي الكلمة الأنسب، لكن بالي يرتاح لعلمي أنني لست مضطرًا إلى الاطلاع على حسابات أطفالي على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي للتأكد من أنهم لا يتعرضون للتنمر الإلكتروني أو يستخدمون ألفاظًا نابية أو يبحثون عن مخدرات أو أسلحة أو يتحدثون عن أشياء تستدعي قلقي.

أول ما جذب انتباهي كان العدد الهائل من شبكات التواصل الاجتماعي التي يستطيع Bark مراقبتها، من الأسماء الكبيرة البديهية مثل فيسبوك وسناب شات إلى التعليقات على Google Docs. وقد أرسل Bark إشعارات إليَّ كلما وجد تعليقًا أو بحثًا أو فيديو مشكوكًا فيه، بل كان يخطرني إن وجد نصًا عنيفًا في أحد الميمز.

أكبر مشكلة واجهتها مع Bark هي أنني بصفتي غير مقيم في الولايات المتحدة، لم أستطع تلقي التنبيهات عن طريق الرسائل القصيرة واضطررت إلى الاعتماد على تنبيهات البريد الإلكتروني. وعندما تواصلت مع خدمة عملاء Bark لأستفسر عن طريقة لإدخال رقم هاتفي غير الأمريكي، أخبروني أنهم لا يدعمون إلا المستخدمين داخل الولايات المتحدة.

بصفتي والدًا لخمسة أطفال تتراوح أعمارهم بين 5 أعوام و16 عامًا، أدرك أهمية العثور على تطبيق رقابة أبوية يسمح لي بمراقبة الوقت الذي يمضونه في استخدام أجهزتهم، لذا قررت أن أختبر أكثر من 50 تطبيقًا وأرتبها وفقًا لمدى سهولة إعدادها، وإدارة الوقت المستغرق في استخدام الأجهزة، وما إذا كان من السهل على الأطفال إيجاد طريقة للتحايل على الفلاتر. آمل أن تستعين ببحثي لتختار أفضل تطبيق يناسب احتياجات أسرتك. وإن كان اختيارك هو Bark، فيمكنك الاستفادة من الفترة التجريبية المجانية لمدة 7 أيام لتختبر البرنامج بنفسك دون مخاطر.

جرب Bark مجانًا اليوم

المميزات 9.8

عندما اختبرت Bark للمرة الأولى، كانت أكبر شكوى لديَّ أنه يفتقر إلى أدوات إدارة وقت استخدام الشاشة، فكان مجرد برنامج رقابة يرسل تنبيهات ولقطات شاشة لأي محتوى مشكوك فيه جرى إرساله أو استقباله عبر البريد الإلكتروني أو الرسائل النصية أو عُثِر عليه على حسابات أطفالي في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. ومع ذلك، فقد أضاف الإصدار الأحدث من التطبيق خاصية لإدارة وقت استخدام الشاشة وفلترًا للإنترنت يتماشيان مع أدواته الفعالة المخصصة للرقابة.

Bark يراقب الأجهزة والبريد الإلكتروني وشبكات التواصل الاجتماعي

ما زالت نقطة قوة Bark تكمن في كيفية تعرفه على المحتوى المثير للقلق على مجموعة واسعة من شبكات التواصل الاجتماعي والأجهزة وحسابات البريد الإلكتروني، إذ يلتقط تطبيق Bark لقطات شاشة لكل تنبيه ويسجلها ليتفادى حدوث أي ارتباك أو نقص في سياق المعلومات.

يستطيع Bark مراقبة ما يلي:

الأجهزة

يستطيع Bark الاتصال بالأجهزة التي تستخدم معظم الأنظمة المعروفة: أندرويد وiOS وكروم بوك ومتصفح كروم وAmazon Fire وكيندل

البريد الإلكتروني

يمكن لـ Bark قراءة رسائل البريد الإلكتروني من الخدمات التالية: Gmail وYahoo وOutlook وComcast وAOL وiCloud

وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي

يقدر Bark على الاتصال بأكثر من 25 شبكة للتواصل الاجتماعي:

  • أندرويد وiOS: واتساب وتويتر وفيسبوك وSlack وGoogle Drive وOneDrive وسبوتيفاي وOneNote وKik وDropbox وFlickr وPinterest وReddit وKidzworld وGroupMe وLiveMe ويوتيوب (وظائف محدودة على نظام iOS) وإنستجرام (وظائف محدودة على نظام iOS)
  • أندرويد فقط: سناب شات وتيك توك وسكايب وديسكورد وMessenger Kids وVSCO وHolla وHouseparty وLipsi.

كان عليَّ تسجيل الدخول إلى حسابات أطفالي على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي للبدء، أي أنني كنت بحاجة إلى الجلوس معهم وإدخال اسم المستخدم وكلمة المرور لكل حساب. ورغم أن هذا استغرق وقتًا، فقد كنت أعلم أنه إجراء يُتخذ لمرة واحدة (على الرغم من أن فيسبوك يطلب منك إعادة الاتصال مرة في الشهر)، وأنه بمجرد الانتهاء من الإعداد لن أضطر إلى ذلك مرة أخرى. ومن فوائد ذلك أنه دفعني إلى إجراء حوار منفتح مع أطفالي عن مخاطر الإنترنت.

ميزات بسيطة للغاية لإدارة الوقت

على الرغم من أن تطبيق Bark 3.0 المحدَّث لا يفرض حدًا زمنيًا يوميًا، إلا أن به خيارًا لضبط وقت النوم في أيام الأسبوع وعطلات نهاية الأسبوع.

Bark Screen time settings
يمكنني اختيار وقت قفل الهاتف وفتحه

من الإضافات الجديدة أيضًا ميزة “الإيقاف المؤقت Pause” التي تقطع الإنترنت عن جميع الأجهزة المتصلة، أما الجانب السلبي في هذا فهو أن التطبيقات أو الألعاب التي لا تتطلب اتصالًا بالإنترنت ستظل تعمل دون مشكلة.

Bark Pause Phone
أوقف الهاتف مؤقتًا لإيقاف تشغيل الإنترنت

فلتر مخصص للإنترنت

يستطيع Bark فلترة 17 فئة، منها مواقع المشاهدة والأسلحة والمخدرات والكحول والمقامرة والمواقع الدينية وغيرها.

مرشح الويب النباح

حصلت على نتائج متباينة عند اختبار الفلاتر: فمثلًا عندما طلبت من ابني أن يبحث عن “كيفية لعب البلاك جاك”، لم يجد صعوبة في فتح الصفحات من نتائج البحث، بل واستطاع مشاهدة مقطع تعليمي، لكن عندما حاول البحث عن “كيفية لعب البوكر على الإنترنت” وجد أن جميع الصفحات التي حاول فتحها محظورة.

هل يعمل Bark Web Filter

أرسل إلى أطفالك طلب تسجيل وصول

في حين لا يحتوي البرنامج على خاصية التتبع بالـ GPS، فإن به ميزة تسجيل الوصول، لذا تمكنت من إرسال طلب إلى ابني الأكبر لتسجيل وصوله، كما أن في البرنامج أيضًا خيارًا للأطفال لتسجيل الوصول بأنفسهم. وعندما سجل ابني وصوله، أرسل إليَّ Bark تنبيهًا يخبرني بموقعه الحالي بناءً على خاصية الـ GPS في هاتفه.

يرسل بارك تنبيهات تسجيل الوصول

استقبل التنبيهات في لوحة التحكم

من الأشياء التي أحببتها كثيرًا في Bark أنني لم أكن مضطرًا لقراءة كل رسالة مرسلة أو مستلمة، أو أغنية مشغلة على سبوتيفاي، أو بريد إلكتروني أرسله أطفالي أو استقبلوه لأعرف ما يحدث في حياتهم، بل يتولى Bark المراقبة ويرسل إليَّ تنبيهات عندما يرصد نشاطًا غير لائق، وقد أظهرت لي التنبيهات تفاصيل سبب الإبلاغ عنها، مثل محتوى رسالة بريد إلكتروني أو كلمات أغنية على سبوتيفاي.

يحتوي Bark على ثلاثة مستويات من الحساسية لتشغيل التنبيهات، وهذا جيد لأنني في البداية كنت غارقًا في رسائل التنبيه، لا سيما العديد من “الإنذارات الكاذبة”. فمثلًا، تلقيت تنبيهًا بأن إحدى الرسائل تتحدث عن المشروبات الكحولية، في حين لم تكن تحتوي إلا على رمز تعبيري لكأس من النبيذ. وقد تمكنت من تحديد مستوى الحساسية لكل تطبيق يراقبه البرنامج، مما ساعد كثيرًا على تقليل عدد التنبيهات.

Bark Alert Sensor
اختر ما إذا كنت تريد تلقي التنبيهات على مقياس يتراوح من “الأكثر خطورة فقط Only Most Severe” إلى “كل المشكلات All Issues”

احصل على نصائح من الآباء الآخرين

يحتوي تطبيق Bark على منتدى نشط يضم آباء من جميع أنحاء العالم، وقد وجدت فيه مساحة رائعة لطرح الأسئلة، مثل كيفية التحدث مع أطفالك حول المواد الإباحية، أو المواقع التي ينبغي الحذر منها، أو تعلم أحدث الألفاظ الدارجة. والمنتدى منظَّم وفقًا لعمر أطفالك، لذا ستتمكن من العثور على نصائح مناسبة لهم.

Bark Community Forum

احمِ أطفالك مع Bark!

التثبيت9.5

يتكون تثبيت Bark من مرحلتين حتى تراقب أنشطة أطفالك على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. أولاً، أنشأت حسابًا على Bark (حصلت على عرض رائع من هذه الصفحة الخفية) ثم أضفت حساب طفل لكل من أطفالي. وبعد السؤال عن اسم كل طفل وعمره، تبقت خطوتان:

  • اختيار التطبيقات والخدمات التي يستخدمونهاSetting up a Bark account
انقر على الأجهزة ورسائل البريد الإلكتروني وحسابات التواصل الاجتماعي التي يمتلكها أطفالك
  • السماح لـ Bark بالوصول إلى كل موقع.

بعض التطبيقات (مثل واتساب) تتطلب تحميل التطبيق على أجهزة الأطفال، وهنا قد يواجه البعض صعوبة؛ إذ أزال Bark تطبيق Bark for Kids من على متجر Google Play بسبب القيود التي تفرضها Google على تطبيقات الرقابة. أما تطبيق Bark للآباء فمتاح على Google Play ويمكن تحميله كأي تطبيق آخر. وبمجرد تثبيته على هاتفك، سجل الدخول بنفس البيانات التي استخدمتها عند الاشتراك في التطبيق، وسيتاح لك الوصول على الفور إلى لوحة التحكم.

كيفية تحميل Bark for Kids على أندرويد

باستخدام متصفح كروم على جهاز طفلك، اذهب إلى Bark.us/android وحمل الملف.

How to download the Bark mobile app

إذا لم تكن فعلت ذلك من قبل، فستحتاج إلى السماح لهاتفك بتثبيت تطبيقات من مصادر مجهولة. انقر على “الإعدادات Settings” ثم قم بتفعيل خيار “السماح من المصدر Allow from the Source” (يجب أن تكون النقطة زرقاء).

Allowing unknown installation on Android
اسمح بالتثبيت من مصادر مجهولة

كل ما تبقى هو النقر على زر التثبيت Install وسيبدأ تحميل Bark for Kids وتثبيته فورًا على الهاتف.

Install Bark on Android

كيفية تثبيت Bark for Kid على iOS

بعد التحديث الأخير، يمكنك تحميل Bark من متجر App Store. ستحتاج أيضًا إلى تحميل Bark for Desktop على جهازك العامل بنظام ماك أو حاسوبك الشخصي لأن التطبيق سيعمل على نسخ جميع البيانات والتنبيهات ولقطات الشاشة احتياطيًا عند اتصال التطبيقين بنفس شبكة الواي فاي.

احصل على أحدث عرض من Bark!

سهولة الإستخدام 9.6

بمجرد الانتهاء من خطوات التحميل والتثبيت، سيتعين عليك قضاء بعض الوقت في توصيل كل حساب من حسابات أطفالك على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي بـ Bark. وقد تمكنتُ من ربط معظم حساباتهم من خلال تطبيق الحاسوب، ولكن بعض التطبيقات تتطلب تثبيت تطبيق Bark على جهاز طفلك حتى تعمل.

تستغرق العملية برمتها وقتًا طويلًا، خاصةً إذا كنت تستخدمها مع عدد من الأطفال، فقد استغرقني الأمر نحو 15 دقيقة لكل طفل لإعداد كل شيء كما ينبغي.

بمجرد اكتمال الإعداد، بدأ Bark العمل تلقائيًا في الخلفية، وتمكنت من الاطلاع على أنشطة أطفالي على الإنترنت.

الدعم 9.8

يحتوي Bark على خيار المحادثات المباشرة، لكن هذا لا يعني أن ممثلي خدمة العملاء متاحون دائمًا؛ فالخدمة ليست مفتوحة إلا خلال ساعات العمل العادية، ولكن حتى خلال تلك الساعات قد يستغرق الأمر بعض الوقت حتى يرد أحد على سؤالك.

اختبرت خاصية المحادثات المباشرة لأحاول معرفة ما إذا كان بإمكاني -بصفتي أعيش خارج الولايات المتحدة- إدخال رقم هاتفي لأتلقى التنبيهات عن طريق الرسائل القصيرة بدلًا من الاعتماد على رسائل البريد الإلكتروني وحدها، فأرسلت السؤال قبل الموعد الرسمي لفتح المحادثات المباشرة، وتلقيت إجابة بعد بضع ساعات. وبمجرد أن اتصل ممثل الخدمة بالإنترنت، تمكنت من طرح بعض الأسئلة الأخرى، ومنها ما يتعلق ببعض الأحداث الجارية، وهكذا تأكدت أنني لا أتحدث مع برنامج آلي.

Bark Customer Support
بدت الإجابة وكأنها من برنامج آلي، لكني أنهيت المحادثة بمناقشة بعض الأحداث الجارية

يمتلك Bark أيضًا خيارًا لإرسال بريد إلكتروني إذا كنت لا تريد الانتظار لإجراء محادثة مباشرة، كما أن قسم الأسئلة الشائعة يجيب على بعض الأسئلة الأكثر شيوعًا.

احمِ أطفالك مع Bark!

الأسئلة المتكررة

😇 هل Bark آمن؟

ترددت بعض المخاوف بشأن سلامة تطبيق Bark وأمنه بعد إزالته من متجري App Store وGoogle Play، لكني وضعت الملف على VirusTotal وعاد نظيفًا من الفيروسات والبرمجيات الخبيثة بنسبة 100%.

🤩 ماذا يراقب Bark؟

يمكنه الاتصال بأكثر من 25 من شبكات التواصل الاجتماعي الشهيرة، والتعرف على الرسائل النصية وعمليات البحث على Google والمشاركات ومقاطع الفيديو وغيرها مما يتعلق بالتنمر الإلكتروني وتعاطي المخدرات والانتحار والأسلحة ومتطفلي الإنترنت وما إلى ذلك.

😎 هل يمكنني استخدام Bark لقفل هواتف أطفالي أو أجهزتهم اللوحية؟

على الرغم من البرنامج لا يفرض حدًا يوميًا للاستخدام، فإن به زر إيقاف مؤقت “Pause” وخيارًا لوضع جدول لمواعيد النوم “Bedtime Schedule” يمكن ضبطه لأيام الأسبوع ولياليه. وعندما يكون الهاتف في وضع الإيقاف المؤقت، فسيظل يعمل كهاتف، ولكن مع حظر الاتصال بالإنترنت.

🤓 هل يحتوي Bark على خاصية تتبع الموقع؟

يستطيع Bark الوصول إلى نظام الـ GPS الخاص بالهاتف، لكن لا يمكن للوالد استخدامه لتحديد موقع طفله. لكن في البرنامج ميزة تسجيل الوصول التي تسمح للوالد بأن يطلب من طفله تسجيل وصوله، فإن سجل الطفل وصوله يُرسَل موقعه إلى الوالد.

😁 هل سيعمل Bark إذا كان لدي جهاز من نوع آيفون وكانت أجهزة أطفالي تعمل بنظام أندرويد؟

يعمل Bark على مختلف المنصات؛ فلا مشكلة في اختلاف الأجهزة التي يستخدمها أفراد الأسرة ما دامت متوافقة مع Bark.

الأسعار 9.8

يقدم Bark خيارين للتسعير:

  • Bark Jr: يقتصر على خصائص إدارة وقت استخدام الشاشة، وفلتر الإنترنت، وميزة تسجيل الوصول.
  • Bark: يشمل جميع ميزات Bark.

ولا تفرض أي من الباقتين حدًا على عدد الأجهزة، لذا يمكنك مراقبة جميع أفراد العائلة.

يقدم Bark فترة تجريبية مجانية لمدة 7 أيام، ولكن سيتعين عليك إدخال معلومات بطاقتك الائتمانية عند إنشاء الحساب، ولن يتم تحصيل الرسوم منك إلا بعد انتهاء الأيام السبعة.

للاشتراك خياران: شهري أو سنوي. ولتوفير أكبر مبلغ من المال، أوصي بزيارة صفحة العروض الخفية، وستوفر مبلغًا معتبرًا عندما تشتري اشتراكًا سنويًا.

عروض المزودين والخطط التالية

السطر الآخير

Bark ليس للجميع، فهو يتطلب مستوى من الثقة بين الأطفال والآباء، وأن يمنح الأطفال والديهم حق الوصول إلى حساباتهم على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.

إذا كنت ما تزال تحاول أن تقرر ما إذا البرنامج يناسبك، جربه دون مخاطرة مستفيدًا من الفترة التجريبية المجانية لمدة 7 أيام، والتي تمنحك متسعًا من الوقت لترى كيف تسير الأمور وما إذا كان التطبيق مناسبًا لك ولطفلك.

بعد اختباره لفترة من الوقت، أتمنى لو كانت ميزة تقييد الوقت أكثر مرونة، لكنها ميزة جديدة وآمل أن يحسنها Bark بمرور الوقت. ومع ذلك، فإن Bark يتفوق في ميزاته الأساسية، فهو تطبيق مراقبة يرسل تنبيهات عندما يرصد نشاطًا مشبوهًا.

جرب Bark مجانًا اليوم!

المشاركة والدعم

WizCase موقع مراجعات محايد يعتمد على دعم قرائه، مما يعني أننا قد نربح نسبة من المال إذا قررت الشراء عبر الروابط التي نضعها على موقعنا، لكنك لن تدفع أي رسوم إضافية على أي شيء تشتريه عبر موقعنا، فنحن نحصل على نسبتنا مباشرةً من الشركة المالكة للمنتج.

Bark Reviews and Expert Opinion May 2020

9.8
Outstanding!
Visit Bark

Compatible on:

Bark Overview May 2020

Major Updates:

  • Added screen management control. Verdict: A step in the right direction, but still needs improvement.
  • Bark Kids app is back in the App Store. Verdict: Great news for iPhone and iPad users.
  • New pricing structure.

Bark claims that its app is intended to build trust between kids and parents. While I don’t know that “trust” is the word I’d use, it does give me peace of mind knowing that I don’t have to check my kids’ social media account to know they aren’t getting cyberbullied, using profanity, searching for drugs, weapons, or talking about things I should worry about.

The first thing that grabbed my attention was the huge amount of social media networks that Bark can monitor. From the obvious big names like Facebook and Snapchat to comments made in Google Docs. Bark sent me notifications whenever there was a questionable comment, search, or video. It even notified me about the violent text in a meme.

The biggest issue I had with Bark is that as a non-US resident, I couldn’t receive SMS alerts and had to rely on email alerts. When I checked with the Bark customer support to see if there is a way for me to enter my non-US phone number, I was told that they only support users in the US.

As a father to five kids from ages 5 to 16, I understand the importance of finding a parental control app that will allow me to monitor their time on their devices. I decided to test over 50 apps and rank them based on how easy they were for me to set up, manage the time spent on the devices, and whether it was easy for the kids to find a way to circumvent the filters. I hope that you use my research to choose the best app that fits your family’s needs. In the case of Bark, you can take advantage of its 7-day free trial, and test it yourself risk-free.

Try Bark for Free Today!

Features9.8

When I initially tested Bark, my biggest complaint was that it lacked screen time management tools. It was purely a monitoring software that sent alerts and screenshots of all questionable content that was emailed, sent or received by text, or found on my kid’s social media accounts. However, the latest version of the app has added screen time management and a web filter to go along with its powerful monitoring tools.

Bark Monitors Devices, Email, and Social Media Networks

The strength of the Bark app is still in how it recognizes worrisome content across a wide spectrum of social media networks, devices, and email accounts. The Bark app will record and take screenshots of every alert, so there is no confusion or lack of context.

Bark can monitor the following:

Devices

Bark can connect with devices using most major platforms:

Android iOS Amazon Fire and Kindle
Chromebook Chrome Browser

Email

Bark can read emails from the following services:

Gmail iCloud Outlook
Yahoo AOL Comcast

Social Media

Bark can connect with over 25 social media networks:

WhatsApp Twitter Snapchat (Doesn’t work on iOS) YouTube (Can’t access Views and Searches on iOS) TikTok (Doesn’t work on iOS) Instagram (Can’t access DMs and Searches on iOS) Facebook
Skype (Doesn’t work on iOS) Slack Google Drive OneDrive Spotify OneNote Kik
Dropbox Flickr Discord (Doesn’t work on iOS) Messenger Kids (Doesn’t work on iOS) Pinterest Reddit VSCO (Doesn’t work on iOS)
Kidzworld Holla (Doesn’t work on iOS) GroupMe Houseparty (Doesn’t work on iOS) LiveMe Lipsi (Doesn’t work on iOS)

I had to log in to each of my kids’ social media accounts to get started. This means that I needed them to sit with me and enter their usernames and passwords for each account. While this was time-consuming, I knew it was a one time deal (although Facebook does make you reconnect once a month) and once the setup is complete I didn’t have to deal with it again. One of the benefits of this was that it required me to have an open dialogue between me and my kids about the dangers online.

Very Basic Time Management Features

While the updated Bark 3.0 app doesn’t have a daily time limit there is the option is to set a bedtime for weekdays and weekends.

Bark Screen time settings

I can choose when the phone should be locked and unlocked

Another new addition is the “Pause” feature, which blocks the internet on all connected devices. The one downside to this is that apps or games that don’t require the internet will still run without a problem.

Bark Pause Phone

Pause the phone to turn off the internet

Customized Web Filter

There are 17 categories that Bark will filter, including streaming sites, weapons, drugs, alcohol & gambling, religion, and more.

Bark Web Filter

I had mixed results while testing the filters. For example, when I had my son search for “How to Play Blackjack” he had no trouble opening the pages from the search results, including watching a video tutorial. However, when he tried searching for “how to play poker online”— all the pages he tried to open were blocked.

Does Bark Web Filter work

Send Your Kids a Check-in Request

While there is no GPS tracking, there is a check-in feature. I was able to send a request to my oldest son to check-in, and there is also the option for the kids to check-in on their own. When my son checked in, Bark sent me an alert that let me know his current location, based on his phone’s GPS.

Receive Alerts on Your Dashboard

One thing I really liked about Bark is that I didn’t have to read every message sent and received, song played on Spotify, or email my kids are sending and receiving to know what’s going on with their lives. Bark is in charge of the monitoring and it sends me alerts whenever it flags an inappropriate activity. The alerts actually showed me the details of why it was flagged, such as the content of an email or the lyrics to a song on Spotify.

Bark has three sensitivity levels for triggering alerts, which is nice because initially I was being overwhelmed with alert messages, including several “false positives.” For example, an email with an emoji of a glass of wine triggered an alcohol alert. I was able to specify the sensitivity level for each app it monitors, which helped drastically reduce the number of alerts.

Bark Alert Sensor

Choose whether you want to receive alerts on a scale from Only Most Severe to All Issues

Get Advice From Other Parents

The Bark app has an active forum with parents from all over the world. I found this to be a great space to ask questions, such as how to talk with your kids about pornography, what sites to look out for, or learning the latest slang. The forum is organized based on the age of your kids, so you’ll be able to find advice that is actually relevant for your children.

Bark Community Forum

Protect Your Kids with Bark!

Installation9.4

There are two parts to installing Bark to monitor your kids’ social media activities. First I created a Bark account (I got a great deal from this hidden page) and then added a child account for each of my children. After asking for the name and age of each child, there were two remaining steps I had to complete:

  • Choose which apps and services they are using
    Setting up a Bark account
Click on the Devices, Emails, and Social Media accounts that your kids have
  • Grant permissions to Bark to have access to each site.

There are some apps, such as WhatsApp, that require the app to be downloaded on the kids’ devices. This is where it can get tricky for some. Bark has removed the Bark for Kids app from Google Play because of the restrictions that Google put on monitoring apps. The Bark app for parents is available through Google Play and can be downloaded like any other app. Once it’s on your phone, log in with the same credentials used when purchasing the app, and you’ll have instant access to your dashboard.

How to Download Bark for Kids on Android

Using the Chrome browser on your child’s device, go to Bark.us/android and download the file.

How to download the Bark mobile app

If you haven’t done so in the past, you will need to allow your phone to install an app from an unknown source. Click on Settings and then turn on the option to Allow from the Source (the dot should be blue.)

Allowing unknown installation on Android

Allow installation from Unknown Sources

All that’s left to do is click on the Install button and Bark for Kids will immediately download and install on the phone.

Install Bark on Android

How to Install Bark for Kid on iOS

After the latest update, you can download Bark from the App Store. You will also need to have Bark for Desktop downloaded on your Mac or PC because the app will back up all the data, alerts, and screenshots when the two apps are connected to the same wifi network.

Get Bark’s Latest Deal!

Ease of Use9.6

Once you get past the download and installation steps, you’ll have to spend some time connecting each of your kid’s social media accounts to Bark. I was able to connect most of their accounts through the desktop app, but there are a few apps that will require the Bark app to be on your kid’s device to work.

The whole process was pretty time consuming, especially if you’re using it with multiple kids. It took me around 15 minutes per child to get everything properly set up.

Once the setup was complete, Bark automatically ran in the background, and I was able to check in on my kids’ online activities.

Support 9.8

Bark has a Live Chat option, but that doesn’t mean that customer support reps are always available. The service is only open during regular business hours but even then, it can take some time for someone to respond to your question.

I tested out their Live Chat feature to try and see if, as someone not living in the US, I could enter my phone number so I can receive SMS alerts instead of just relying on emails. I sent the question before the Live Chat was officially open, and received an answer a few hours later. Once the rep was online, I was able to ask some other questions, including some current events, which is how I confirmed it wasn’t a bot.

Bark Customer Support

While the answer seemed like it came from a bot, I ended the chat by discussing current events

Bark also has an option to send an Email if you don’t want to wait around for a live chat, and an FAQ section that answers some of the more common questions.

Protect Your Kids with Bark!

FAQ

Q. Is Bark safe?

A. There was some concern about the safety and security of the Bark app once it was removed from the App Store and Google Play. But I put the file through VirusTotal and it came back 100% clean of viruses and malware.

Q. What does Bark monitor?

A. It can connect with over 25 popular social media networks and can recognize text messages, Google searches, posts, videos, etc. that are related to cyberbullying, drug use, suicide, weapons, online predators, and more.

Q. Can I use Bark to lock my kids’ phone or tablet?

A. While there is no daily limit, there is a Pause button and the option to set a Bedtime Schedule that can be set for Weekdays and Weeknights. When the phone is in Pause mode, it will still work as a phone, but internet access will be blocked.

Q. Is there location tracking on Bark?

A. While Bark has access to the phone’s GPS, a parent can’t access it to find the location of their kids. There is a Check-In feature, where a parent can request that their kid to check-in and, if the kids actually check-in, their location will be sent to the parents.

Q. Will Bark work If I have an iPhone and my kids have Android devices?

A. Bark works across multiple platforms. It doesn’t matter what devices everyone in the family is using, as long as they are compatible with Bark.

Pricing 9.8

Bark has two pricing options:

  • Bark Jr: Only includes screen time management, web filter, and check-in feature.
  • Bark: This includes all the Bark features.

There is no device limit with either plan, so you can monitor everyone in the family.

Bark offers a 7-day free trial, but you will have to enter your credit card information when creating the account. You won’t be charged until after the 7 days are completed.

There are two options when it comes to purchasing a subscription; monthly or annually. For the biggest savings, I recommend going to their hidden deals page, you’ll save a nice amount of money when you get the annual subscription.

Bark offers the following plans

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Monitors most major social media networks
  • Sends detailed alerts
  • Works on most major platforms
  • Recognizes slang, and terminology for weapons, drugs, suicide, cyberbullying and more

Cons

  • Screen Limit feature is limited
  • Web filter doesn't always work

Bottom Line

Bark isn’t for everyone. It requires a level of trust between children and parents, and for the kids to give access to their social media accounts to their parents.

If you are still trying to decide if this is for you, try it risk-free and take advantage of the 7-day free trial. This will give you plenty of time to see how it goes and if it works for both you and your child.

After testing it for a while, I do wish that the time restriction feature was more flexible, but it’s a new feature and Bark will hopefully improve it with time. That being said, Bark does excel at its core features, it’s a monitoring app that sends alerts whenever it recognizes suspicious activity.

Try Bark for Free Today!

Share & Support

WizCase is an independent review site. We are reader-supported so we may receive a commission when you buy through links on our site. You do not pay extra for anything you buy on our site — our commission comes directly from the product owner.

Support WizCase to help us guarantee honest and unbiased advice. Share our site to support us!