Google Family Link 評價 2022:免费应用有什么隐性成本?

兼容:

Google Family Link总览 八月 2022

我在测试 Google Family Link 之前,就从朋友那里听到了不同的评价。尽管有些人说这是他们安装过的最好的应用,但还有些人遇到了严重的问题和困难。我不能完全凭借大家的说法,因此我注册了一个免费账户,在我 12 岁女儿的手机上安装了它。

使用一周后,我很快发现了免费的家长控制应用和具有付费功能的应用之间的差别。这证实了我的猜测:有些东西确实让人愿意付费,而避免孩子沉迷网络和手机就是其中之一。

Google Family Link 有一些基本的控制功能,比如设置应用的使用时限,但它的网页过滤器出奇地差。

付费的家长控制应用可以更大力度地保护孩子。它们拥有 Family Link 缺少的所有必要工具,比如全面的网页过滤器、多种屏幕时间限制工具,以及其他一些优秀监控工具。

提醒:一旦孩子年满 13 岁,Google 就会允许他们从账户中删除 Google Link。如果家长试图强迫他们在手机上安装,他们随时都可以创建一个新的 Google 账户,并在家长不知情或不允许的情况下,不用新账户连接 Family 账户。

孩子还可以用假生日创建 Google 账户,这样它就不必连接到家长的账户。如此一来,孩子就可以不受限制地访问网络,而不会受到任何监督。

赶时间?1 分钟摘要在此

  • 平庸的屏幕时间功能:不能创建每日时间表,而且有几种方法都能绕过屏幕时间限制。查看绕过屏幕时间规则有多轻松。
  • 应用程序每日使用情况的基本数据:可以查看孩子使用应用程序的时长,但完全无法得知孩子的具体活动。点击这里了解更多信息。
  • 有实时位置跟踪,但没有地理围栏:家长可以随时查看孩子的位置,但不能设置在孩子出入特定地点时自动发送警报的地理围栏。在这里进一步了解实时位置跟踪。
  • 没有网页过滤器:如果你想在孩子的手机上应用过滤器,不要使用 Google Family Link。点击这里了解更多信息。

功能5.5

我对 Google Family Link 配备的一系列功能印象不深。在我看来,它的家长控制工具是为有 5-10 岁孩子的家庭设计的,因为内容过滤和日程安排工具的功能都很有限。Google 政策是,所有 13 岁以下的孩子必须先绑定 Google Family 账户,才能创建 Gmail 账户。然后家长就能启用监管(Supervision)功能,并在孩子的手机上下载 Google Family Link 应用。然而,一旦孩子年满 13 岁,他们就可以选择解绑家庭账户,自己管理自己的账户。

Google Family Link 功能(更新于八月 2022)

价格 免费
网页过滤器
屏幕时间管理 每日限制
位置跟踪
地理围栏
通话和短信监控
应用程序管理
紧急求救按钮
客户服务
平台 Android

家长面板:仅限移动设备

我最先查看的功能之一是家长端的仪表板,在那里可以看到所有数据、修改应用权限、锁定手机等等。我希望在任何设备(比如电脑)上都能访问仪表板,这样不用手机也可以检查我女儿的在线活动。在电脑应用程序上,Bark 和 Qustodio 的数据整理方式都非常方便、让人难忘

可惜的是,与我测试过的多数家长控制应用不同,Google Family Link 的仪表板只能在智能手机上查看。相较于在电脑上查看数据,我觉得这种方式要不舒服得多。

除了设备兼容性外,我没发现仪表板有任何问题。它会显示我女儿每天、每周、每月使用手机的总时间,细分每款应用的使用时间,不过不显示在各应用上的具体活动。它的设计简单易用,我只花了几分钟就能浏览完整个界面,了解如何找到我需要的数据和设置不同的限制。

Google Family Link 对孩子手机使用情况概览的屏幕截图

查看孩子如何使用手机

基本(且不太有用)的屏幕时间工具

Google Family Link 提供两种屏幕时间安排方法:一是设置每日时间限制,比如上学日的手机使用时间为两小时;二是设置就寝时间。当使用时间达到两小时后,或者我女儿上床睡觉的时间到了之后,手机就会被锁定。锁定期间,仍然有一些功能可以使用,比如电话,我可以接受她打电话的需求。

我觉得这些工具有所不足。我可以把女儿的手机使用时间限制在每天两小时,却无法设置每日时间表,能做的只有设置一天结束时的就寝时间。

Google Family Link 每天和晚上的屏幕使用时间设置的屏幕截图用 Google Family Link 设置屏幕时间限制

如果缺乏自定义设置尚可接受,我女儿说,她学校里的朋友向她展示了一些诀窍,有助于绕过时间限制。她告诉我,诀窍是让朋友用短信或 WhatsApp 把 YouTube 或抖音的链接发给她,这样就能绕过屏蔽和限制。如果这些方法都失败了,她随时都可以用假生日创建一个新的 Google 账户,在主账户受到限制时使用新账户。要想获得经证实没有这些漏洞的保护,我建议使用 Qustodio,这款家长应用不仅有我需要的所有工具,而且设定的限制也无法被孩子绕过。

每日应用使用的细分情况——Google 应该提供的远不止于此

这或许是 Google Family Link 应用中最有用的功能。它不是只告诉我女儿用了几小时的手机(在我设置两小时限制前),而是向我展示了她每款应用使用时间的完整明细。我可以查看前几天甚至前一个月的情况,了解每款应用的平均使用时间。

我还可以在它上面设置各款应用的对待方式:设定每日使用时间限制、完全禁止使用或者始终不禁用。

Google Family Link 对每个应用设置的规则的屏幕截图

管理孩子设备上安装的所有应用

我最大的不满是,Google Family Link 只给出应用使用时间,而不提供其他任何相关信息。特别是对于 Google 自有的应用,如 YouTube 和 Google Search,它应该显示搜索历史或观看记录。Bark 等非 Google 旗下的家长控制应用就会提供这种类型的数据,那么为什么 Google 不能也提供呢?

Google Family Link 为家长提供的数据不足也体现在短信和聊天监控上。这些功能并不存在,让我觉得特别烦恼,因为 Google Family Link 是面向低龄儿童的。我想确保我的孩子没有受到网络欺凌,也没有收到在线猎手或变态的聊天请求。Qustodio 在这方面做得很好,还提供 30 天免费试用,让人毫无风险地亲自试用。利用 Qustodio 获得强大的网页过滤器!

24/7 全天候查看孩子的位置——但没有地理围栏功能

如果你只关心孩子每时每刻的所在位置,那么免费的 Google Family Link 就很适合你。它可以访问手机的 GPS,并在 Google Map 上显示孩子的图标或头像。当你想检查并确保孩子到了学校或朋友家,或者在你找不到孩子的情况下,这一功能很有用。当然,如果孩子关机或没有带手机,这项功能就无法发挥作用,但我不能把这归咎于 Google Family Link。

尽管它没有地理围栏(Geofence)功能,但我能标记出来孩子应该在的几个地点,比如家、学校、最好的朋友家和公园,这样可以更轻易地看到我女儿的位置,而不用特别关注地图。

过滤器在哪里——最大的失望之处

Google Family Link 上没有切实可用的网页过滤器,这一功能的缺失同样让我无法理解。作为一家拥有最热门网页浏览器之一的公司,它所做的只有在 Chrome 浏览器上屏蔽色情网站,这让人非常失望。我真的不明白为什么没有可自定义的网页过滤器,毕竟 Qustodio、Bark 和 Norton Family 都提供。

作为替代,它声称家长可以为 Google 搜索打开安全搜索(SafeSearch),为 YouTube 打开限制模式(Restricted Mode)。我以为有总比没有好,但它其实没什么用。我唯一的其他选择是创建一个可访问的网站列表,其他所有网站都将被屏蔽。可惜我并不知道所有网站,更别说 Google Family Link 还不显示我女儿的网站访问记录,这些信息至少能帮我起步。

Google Family Link 非常弱的过滤器的屏幕截图

Google Family Link 过滤器
我更希望家长控制应用帮我做好“辛苦活”,提供自动过滤器,以防我的孩子接触不当内容。我发现 Qustodio 在这方面做得很好,甚至还提供 30 天退款保证,这样大家就可以毫无风险地亲自试用

安装8.0

要安装 Google Family Link,家长和孩子都需要将应用下载到自己的智能手机上。首先,家长要打开应用,将每个孩子都添加到家庭中,而孩子需要一个 Google 账户进行设置。使用 Google Family Link 的邀请会被发送到孩子的邮件账户。

Google Family Link 加入邀请的屏幕截图接着,在孩子的手机上打开邮件,选择加入家庭。然后就可以打开应用,使用家长的凭证登录。必须接受所有的标准权限请求,比如访问 GPS、在应用上方显示通知等。完成这些操作后,Google Family Link 将开始监控设备。

易用度9.0

该夸的地方还是要夸。如果说 Google Family Link 有什么可以说的优点,那就是它非常容易使用。一切都在仪表板上排列得清清楚楚,修改时间安排、锁定设备、查找地理位置都非常容易。

当我女儿想下载新应用或要求增加使用时间时,我的手机上会收到通知,我可以立即同意或拒绝。

我不会给这款应用打满分,因为仪表板只能在移动设备上查看。我更喜欢在电脑上查看并管理我女儿的手机,当我在工作而不该看手机的时候,这样更方便。

支援 4.0

没有真正的支持可言,至少我没有发现。帮助版块的内容是详细的常见问题解答,其中有些文章给出了热门问题的答案。但我找不到像 Qustodio 那样的聊天框或工单系统来提交咨询,可找到的最接近的渠道是反馈表,却不是针对客户支持的。我非常信奉客户支持,所以很难推荐那些无法方便、快捷地解答用户疑问的软件。这一点尤其适用于家长控制应用,为了孩子的安全和保护,我可能需要快速得到答案。

常见问题解答

Google Family Link 是否兼容 iOS?

Google 发布了 iOS 版的 Family Link 应用,可在 App Store 获取,适用于 iOS 11.0 及以上版本。但用户仍然需要一个 Google 账户来激活该应用的账户,并将孩子加入家庭账户。

请注意,孩子随时可以用假生日创建新的 Google 账户,这样他们就可以在没有家长允许的情况下访问所有网页。为了防止这种情况,我建议大家试试付费的家长控制应用,比如 Qustodio。大家甚至可以利用它的 30 天退款保证,在确认订阅前零风险试用

Family 免费版是否真正免费?

Google Family Link 是 100% 免费的,没有任何需要会员资格才能获取的升级功能或付费功能。只要家长和孩子各有一个 Google 账户,就可以使用它的全部功能。然而,务必要注意,免费并不意味着质量好。Qustodio 这样的付费应用会提供更好的监控工具和过滤器,大家可以利用它已被证实有效的 30 天退款保证,毫无风险地试用

Google Family Link 是否会屏蔽不当内容?

不幸的是,Google Family Link 没有可自定义的网页过滤器,反而依赖各应用内置的过滤器。例如,YouTube、Google Search 和 Chrome 都有可以开启的基本过滤器,但正如 Google Family Link 在应用中所说的:没有完美的过滤器,不当内容偶尔可能会被看到。

如果你想防止孩子浏览带有性、毒品、酒精、美化暴力等内容的网站,不妨免费试用 Qustodio 30 天,看看真正有效的网页过滤器是什么样的。

能否使用 Google Family Link 禁用特定应用?

能。这是 Google Family Link 的主要优点之一,它会创建一个列表,显示孩子设备上的所有应用。对于每款应用,家长都可以限制使用时间,或者完全禁用。

Google Family Link 能否阻止应用被下载到手机上?

Google Family Link 通过两种方式帮助家长管控孩子下载的应用。第一种依据应用的评级,仅允许安装满足评级要求的应用。第二种是在设备上安装任何应用之前,都要先请求许可。

如果我的孩子满 13 岁,我能否使用 Google Family Link?

能,也不能。但只有在你和孩子之间存在信任的情况下,它才会发挥作用。在 13 岁生日时,孩子会收到 Google 的通知,让他解绑 Google Family Link。家长也会收到通知,称孩子不再受到监督,而且不能为了继续用它而改变设置。

对所有年龄段的孩子来说,使用 Qustodio 这样的应用都是更好的选择。它有家长需要的所有功能,可确保孩子不会遇到麻烦或网络欺凌。最重要的是,未经家长许可,该应用不能被删除。Qustodio 提供30 天退款保证,如果试用后对它的监控功能不满意,可以利用这项保证获得退款。

Google Family Link 能否监控短信内容?

Google Family Link 的监控工具只关注各应用的每日使用时长,没有途径查看收到或发送的短信、WhatsApp 或其他聊天应用的信息。如果你想知道孩子在和谁聊天、聊什么内容,我强烈推荐 Bark。它监控所有热门社交媒体、邮件和短信应用,而且可以免费试用 7 天

价格 9.5

免费应用的价格没什么可抱怨的,但事实证明,一分钱一分货。Google Family Link 的功能非常少,不值得免费订阅。时间限制很容易被绕过,而定位器没有地理围栏功能。因此,尽管这款应用是免费的,但孩子能不受限制地上网,这是要付出的实际成本。我宁愿花钱订阅,以获得好用的功能,比如有效的屏幕时间管理工具、自定义网页过滤器和 24/7 全天候客户支持。

底线

最终结论:避开免费的应用程序!没有网页过滤器,屏幕时间规则薄弱,而且所有限制都容易被绕过

就保障孩子的网络安全而言,我不能推荐 Google Family Link。免费和用户友好程度让它很吸引人,但它远非有效的家长控制工具。如果你家孩子年龄还小(10 岁及以下),并且有手机或平板,那么你可以使用这款免费应用,教孩子计划屏幕使用时间,锁定他们的设备,并确保他们不会在家附近迷路。

请记住,只要孩子懂一点点技术,这款软件就非常没用。孩子只需要创建一个假的 Google 账户,也可以从朋友那里或在网上找到击败系统的方法。对于年龄较大的孩子,Google Family Link 毫无用处,因为满 13 岁的孩子可以直接选择不接受监督。

作为一名大孩子的家长,我知道网上确实存在危险,有些甚至比色情网站还糟糕,是安全搜索功能和 Chrome 能力有限的过滤器无法发现的。因此,它没法让我放心自家的青少年。然而,测试了 20 多款家长控制应用后,我可以自信地宣称,Qustodio 应用给我提供了全方位的家长控制功能。考虑到它非常实惠的价格,我对它的喜爱远远超过其他免费的“假”解决方案。大家不必直接相信我的话,不妨试用一下 Qustodio,没有任何风险,看看它适不适合自己的家庭

用 Google Family Link 监控孩子

分享& 支持

WizCase是一个独立的测评网站。我们由读者支持,因此用户通过我们网站上的链接购买产品时,我们可能会收取佣金。用户无需为在我们网站上购买的商品支付任何额外费用——我们的佣金直接来自产品所有者。

支持WizCase,帮助我们确保提供诚实公正的意见。分享我们的网站以支持我们!

Google Family Link Review 2021: Free App - But What's the Hidden Cost?

Compatible with:

Google Family Link Overview October 2021

Before I even tested Google Family Link, I had heard mixed reviews from friends. While some said it was the best app they ever installed, others had serious questions and problems with it. I couldn’t rely on what everyone was saying, so I signed up for a free account and installed it on my 12-year-old daughter’s phone.

After using it for a week, I could immediately see the difference between a free parental control app and one with premium features. It confirmed my suspicion that there are things you do want to pay for, and protecting my kids from the web and screen time addiction is one of those things.

Google Family Link has some basic controls, like setting time limits for apps, but it was surprisingly weak with web filters.

With premium parental control apps you can get much more protection for your child. They have all essential tools that family link doesn’t have, like a comprehensive web filter, multiple screen time tools, and some additional excellent monitoring tools.

Warning: Once a child turns 13, Google will give them the option to remove Google Link from their account. If you try and force them to install it on their phones, they can always create a new Google account, and not connect it with your Family account without your knowledge or permission.

Kids can also create a Google account with a fake birthday so it doesn’t have to connect to a parent account. This will give them unrestricted access to the web, without any supervision.

Features5.5

I wasn’t that impressed with the list of features that come with Google Family Link. It seems to me that the parental control tools were designed for families with kids between the ages of 5-10, based on the limited filtering and scheduling tools. Google’s policy is that all kids under the age of 13 must be under a Google Family account in order to create a Gmail account. As a parent, you can then enable Supervision and download the Google Family Link app on their phones. However, Once a child turns 13, they will be given the option to leave the family and manage their own account.

The Dashboard – Can Only Be Viewed On a Smartphone

One of the first features I look at is the parent dashboard. This is where I can see all the data, make changes to the app permissions, lock the phone, and more. Personally, I like having a dashboard that I can access on any device, such as a PC, so I can check in on my daughter’s online activities without needing my phone. Both Bark and Qustodio do very well at this and organize the data in a very impressive and convenient way for PC users.

Unfortunately, unlike the most parental control apps I’ve tested, the Google Family Link dashboard can only be viewed on a smartphone. I find this to be much less comfortable than viewing the data on my PC.

Other than accessibility, I don’t have any issues with the dashboard. It shows me the total time my daughter is on her phone per day, week, month. It breaks down the time by apps, although it doesn’t show me what she’s doing on each app. It has a simple, easy-to-use design, and within a few minutes, I was able to go through it and see how to find the data I needed and set different restrictions.

Google Family Link Dashboard

See how your kids are using their phones

Basic (and not very helpful) Screen Time Tools

Google Family Link has two screen time scheduling options. I can create a daily time allowance, for example, 2 hours of phone time on a school day, and I can set a bedtime. After using the phone for two hours, or after she should be in bed, the phone is supposed to lock. When the phone is locked, there are still some features that are available such as phone calls, which I’m okay with in case she needs to make a phone call.

I found these tools to be lacking. I can limit her phone usage to two hours a day, but there is no option to create a daily schedule — all I can do is set a bedtime for the end of the day.

Family Link screen time limits Setting screen time limits with Google Family Link

If the lack of customization isn’t enough, my daughter said her friends at school showed her a few tricks that help bypass the time restrictions. She told me the trick is to have her friend’s SMS or WhatsApp her links, for YouTube or TikTok and that will bypass the blocks and restrictions. If all else fails, she can always create a new Google account, using a fake birthday, and use that account when her main account is blocked. For proven protection with no such leaks, I recommend using Qustodio, a parental app that not only has all the tools I need, but my kids couldn’t bypass the restrictions.

Breakdown of Daily App Use- Google Should Offer Much More Than That

This is perhaps the most useful feature on the Google Family Link app. Instead of just telling me that my daughter spent hours on her phone (before I set the two-hour limit), it showed me a complete breakdown of how long she used each app. I can look back over the previous few days and even a month to see the average time spent on each app.

It also gives me the option to choose how I want the app to treat each app. I can set a daily time limit, block it completely, or keep it unblocked.

Family Link app limits

Manage all the installed apps on the child’s device

My biggest complaint is that Google Family Link doesn’t give me any additional information about the app usage other than its time. In particular, with Google-owned apps like YouTube and Google Search, it should be able to show me search history or what videos she is watching. This type of data is available on non-Google parental control apps, like Bark, so why can’t Google give it to me as well?

Another example of the lack of data that Google Family Link makes available for parents is the SMS and chat monitoring. These features don’t exist, which I find especially troubling since Google Family Link is geared for younger children. I want to make sure that my kids aren’t getting cyberbullied or getting chat requests from predators or creeps. Qustodio and Bark both do a great job in monitoring chat apps and SMS. You can even test it yourself – Qustodio has a 30-day money-back guarantee, so you can try it and test its features at no risk.

Know Where Your Kids are 24/7 – But No Geofence Option

If your only concern is knowing where your kids are at all times, then the free Google Family Link is a good solution for you. It accesses the phone’s GPS and displays the child’s icon or avatar on a Google Map. It’s helpful when you want to check-in and make sure that they made it to school or their friend’s house, or in case you can’t find them. Of course, if they turned off their phone or didn’t take it with them, this feature won’t help, but I can’t blame that on the Google Family Link.

While it doesn’t have a Geofence option, I was able to set pins in several locations where the kids should be, such as home, school, best friends house, and park – which makes it easier for me to see where my daughter is without really focusing on the map.

Where are the Filters – The Biggest Disappointment

This is another missing feature that I can’t understand. There is no real web filter on the Google Family Link. For a company that owns one of the most popular web browsers, the fact that all it does is try to block sexually explicit sites on Chrome is extremely disappointing. I just don’t understand how there is no customizable web filter, like Qustodio, Bark, and Norton Family all offer.

Instead, it says that you can turn on SafeSearch for Google searches and Restricted Mode for YouTube. I guess this is better than nothing, but it’s not very helpful. The only other option is for me to create a list of acceptable websites, and everything else will be blocked. Unfortunately, I don’t know every website, especially since Google Family Link doesn’t show me a list of the websites that my daughter visits, which at least would be helpful in getting started.

Family Link filters

The Google Family Link filters
I would rather use a parental control app that does the “hard work” for me and has automatic filters in place to prevent my children from inappropriate content. I found the Qustodio does a great job at this and even has a 30 money-back guarantee so you can test it for yourself at no risk. 

Installation8.0

To install Google Family Link, both the parent and child will need to download the app to their smartphone. First, the parent will need to open the app and add each child to the family. The child will need a Google account for the set-up. An invitation to use Google Family Link will be sent to the child’s email account.

Google Family Link installationNow, open the child’s phone and open the email and choose to join the family. Now you can open the app and log in using the parent’s credentials. You will have to accept all the standard permissions, such as access to GPS, display over apps, etc., and when you’re done, Google Family Link will start monitoring the device.

Ease of Use9.0

I have to give credit where it’s due, and if there is something nice I can say about the Google Family Link is that it’s very easy to use. Everything is clearly laid out in the dashboard, and making changes to the time schedule, locking the device, finding the geolocation couldn’t be easier.

When my daughter wants to download a new app or request additional time, I receive a notification on my phone, and I can approve it or deny it instantly.

The only reason I’m not giving the app a perfect score is that the dashboard is only available on mobile devices, and I prefer the option to check-in and manage my daughter’s phone from my computer, which is more convenient when I’m at work and shouldn’t be looking at my phone.

Support 4.0

There is no real support to speak of, or at least not that I could find. The Help section is a detailed FAQ with articles that give answers to popular questions. I couldn’t find a chat box or ticket system like Qustodio has, to submit any questions. The closest I found was a Feedback form, which isn’t really geared for customer support. I’m a big believer in customer support and have a hard time recommending a software that doesn’t have a convenient and quick way for me to get answers to my questions. This is especially true for a parental control app, where I might need to get answers quickly, for the safety and protection of my child.

FAQ

Does Google Family Link work with iOS?

Google released a Family Link app for iOs, available in the App Store, that works on iOS 11.0 and higher. You will still need a Google account to activate the account and add your child to your Family.

Please note that your kids can always create a new google account with a fake birthday so they will get full access to the web without your permission. To prevent this situation, I suggest you try a premium parental control app like Qustodio. You can even test it risk-free before you commit with its 30 days money-back guarantee.

Is Google Family Link really free?

Google Family Link is 100% free. There are no feature upgrades or premium features that you can access with a membership. All you need is a Google account for you and your child, and you can use all its features. However, it’s important to note that just because it’s free doesn’t mean it’s good. You’ll get much better monitoring tools and filters with a premium app like Qustodio, which you can try at no risk with their proven 30-day money back guarantee.

Does Google Family Link block inappropriate content?

Unfortunately, Google Family Link doesn’t have a customizable web filter. Instead, it relies on the filters that are built-in to each app. For example, YouTube, Google Search, and Chrome all have a basic filter that you can turn on, but as Google Family Link states on the app – nothing is perfect and inappropriate content can sometimes be seen.

If you want to prevent your children from viewing websites that have sex, drugs, alcohol, glorified violence, and more, try Qustodio free for 30 days and see what a real web filter is like.

Can I use Google Family Link to block specific apps?

Yes. This is one of the main benefits of Google Family Link, It will create a list of every app on the child’s device, and you can choose to set a time limit or completely block each one.

Does Google Family Link block apps from being downloaded to the phone?

There are two ways that Google Family Link can help you control which apps your kids download. The first option is to only allow app installations based on the app ratings. The second choice is to require permission before any app is installed on the device.

Can I use Google Family Link if my child is over 13?

The answer is yes and no, but it will only work if there is trust between you and your child. On their 13th birthday, the child will receive a notification from Google that they can disconnect Google Family Link. As a parent, you will get a notification that your child is no longer under supervision, and you can’t change the setting to keep the app running.

Using an app like Qustodio is a much better option for kids of all ages. It has all the features that you need to make sure your child isn’t getting in trouble or being cyberbullied. Best of all, the app can’t be removed without parental permission. Qustodio has a 30-day money-back guarantee that you can take advantage of if you’re not satisfied with the monitoring features.

Can Google Family Link monitor text messages?

The Google Family Link monitoring tools only focus on how long each app is being used per day. There is no option to view incoming or outgoing SMS, WhatsApp, or other chat app messages. If you want to see who your kids are chatting with, and what they’re saying, I strongly recommend Bark. It monitors all the top social media, email, and SMS apps, and you can try it free for 7 days.

Pricing 9.5

It’s hard to really complain about the price of a free app, but the truth is that you get what you pay for. The few features that Google Family Link has aren’t worth the free subscription. The time restrictions are easily bypassed and the geo-locator doesn’t include a geofence option. So while the app is free, you have the real-life cost of allowing your kids unfiltered access to the web. I’d rather pay for a subscription and get great features like screen time management tools that work, custom web filters, and 24/7 customer support.

Google Family Link offers the following plans

Bottom Line

I can’t recommend Google family link in terms of keeping my kids safe online. It’s tempting to use it since it’s free and user-friendly, but it’s far from being an effective parental control tool. If you have small kids (10 and younger) that have a phone or tablet, you can use the free app to teach them about budgeting their screen time, locking their device, and making sure they aren’t wandering the neighborhood getting lost.

Just keep in mind that if they are even the least bit tech savvy, the software is pretty useless. All your child needs to do is create a fake Google account or find out ways to beat the system through their friends or online. With older kids, Google Family Link has no value since a 13-year-old child can just opt out of the supervision.

As a parent of older kids, I know that there are real dangers online, even worse than sexually explicit websites, that SafeSearch and limited Chrome filters won’t catch. Therefore, it didn’t give me peace of mind with my teens. Instead, after testing more than 20 parental control apps, I can confidently say that Qustodio was the app that gave me a full range of parental control features. For such an affordable price, I much prefer it over other free “fake” solutions. You don’t have to take my word for it: try Qustodio at no risk and see if it’s good for your family.

Monitor your Kids with Google Family Link

Share & Support

WizCase is an independent review site. We are reader-supported so we may receive a commission when you buy through links on our site. You do not pay extra for anything you buy on our site — our commission comes directly from the product owner.

Support WizCase to help us guarantee honest and unbiased advice. Share our site to support us!