مراجعة Norton Family 2021: هل يستحق الشراء؟

متوافق مع:

نظرة عامة على Norton Family يونيو 2021

إن Norton بالفعل من رواد الأمان والحماية من خلال برنامجها المخصص لمكافحة الفيروسات، لذا أردت أن أرى إن كان بإمكانها أيضًا أن تنجح في إضافة هذه الميزات إلى تطبيق الرقابة الأبوية الذي تقدمه، فعكفت على أن أرى بنفسي ما إذا كان منتجها قويًا بما يكفي لحماية أطفالي على الإنترنت ومنعهم من اجتياز القيود كما فعلوا مع العديد من تطبيقات الرقابة الأبوية الأخرى التي جربتها.

وجدت عرضًا رائعًا على صفحة مخفية في موقع Norton الرسمي، فتمكنت من الحصول على Norton Family بسعر أفضل من المعروض على مدونات الإنترنت الأخرى. ليس هذا فحسب، بل سعدت أيضًا برؤية أنه يوفر فترة تجريبية مجانية تسري لـ 30 يومًا، فتمكنت من تجربته على أطفالي الخمسة دون مخاطر.

جرب Norton Family مجانًا!

لم أستغرق طويلًا حتى رأيت أن Norton Family يمتلك كل ما أحتاج إليه في أي تطبيق للرقابة الأبوية؛ إذ تمكنت من تخصيص فلاتر الإنترنت والقيود الزمنية المفروضة على كلٍّ من أطفالي، وتتبع أماكنهم لحظة بلحظة، ومشاهدة جميع المستجدات والتنبيهات الأحدث في لوحة تحكم متقنة التصميم.

جربت أكثر من 30 تطبيقًا للرقابة الأبوية على أطفالي الذين تتراوح أعمارهم من 5 أعوام إلى 16، فتمكنوا من العثور على طرق لاختراقها أو التلاعب بالقيود الزمنية المفروضة في معظمها، لذا حملت تطبيق أندرويد على هواتفهم وأجهزتهم اللوحية ومنحتهم أسبوعًا لأرى إن كانوا سيستطيعون التغلب عليه.

رغم أنهم لم يتمكنوا من مراوغة فلاتر الإنترنت أو القيود الزمنية، فقد وجدوا طريقة لمشاهدة مقاطع يوتيوب دون أن أرى سجل البحث أو مقاطع الفيديو التي شاهدوها، لأن Norton Family لا يراقب يوتيوب إلا عند استخدامه من خلال المتصفح، لا من خلال التطبيق. لكن لحسن الحظ وجدت حلًا سهلًا لهذا: فحظرت تطبيق يوتيوب على أجهزة أطفالي، مما أجبرهم على المشاهدة من خلال المتصفح.

يشجع Norton Family على الحوار مع الأطفال؛ فهو ليس برنامج تجسس، ولم يكن قادرًا على تثبيت التطبيق باستخدام وضع التخفي أو على تتبع كل ضغطة زر، كما أنه يتضمن مجموعة من “القواعد المنزلية”، حتى يعرف الأطفال المسموح والممنوع.

قواعد Norton Family House

القواعد المنزلية متاحة ليراها الأطفال

من الميزات التي أحبها ميزة “التعلم عن بعد”، وهي مفيدة للغاية لأن أطفالي يتلقون دراستهم بالكامل من المنزل، وبالتالي يجب أن يكونوا متصلين بالإنترنت معظم اليوم. عندما يستخدم الأطفال ميزة التعلم عن بعد، تتوقف ساعة الحد الزمني، وهذا جيد لأنه يعني أنهم لن يشعروا بأنهم يضيعون الوقت المسموح لهم في العمل المدرسي.

وجدت بعد استخدام Norton Family أنني تمكنت من:

  • حظر المواقع غير اللائقة
  • فلترة نتائج محركات البحث الرئيسية
  • تلقي تنبيهات عندما يحاول أطفالي فتح المواقع المحظورة
  • وضع حدود زمنية لكل جهاز
  • قفل أجهزة أطفالي على الفور

ورغم غياب بعض الميزات الثانوية التي رأيتها في برامج الرقابة الأبوية الأخرى (مثل القيود الزمنية لكل تطبيق)، فإنني عمومًا راضٍ جدًا عن Norton Family.

راقب أطفالك مع Norton Family

المميزات 8.9

برنامج Norton Family مصمَّم لمساعدة الآباء على مراقبة ما يفعله أطفالهم على الإنترنت، ومنعهم من إدمان الشاشات، والحفاظ على سلامتهم، وهو يحتوي على قائمة رائعة من الميزات المخصصة لتحقيق هذا الهدف.

فلترة المواقع وفقًا للفئة العمرية

تمكنت من تخصيص قيود الإنترنت المفروضة على الملف الشخصي لكل طفل، أو استخدام القيود الموضوعة مسبقًا استنادًا إلى عمر الطفل.

  • مرتفعة جدًا Very High: يُنصح بها للأطفال حتى 8 أعوام
  • مرتفعة High: يُنصح بها للأطفال من 8 إلى 11 عامًا
  • متوسطة Moderate: يُنصح بها للأطفال من 12 إلى 14 عامًا
  • منخفضة Low: يُنصح بها للأطفال من 15 إلى 17 عامًا

يستخدم Norton Family ذكاءً اصطناعيًا بارعًا لتصنيف أي موقع ويب بناءً على ما فيه من نصوص وصور وبيانات وصفية، كما يصنف المواقع في فئات يصل عددها إلى 47: من الأخبار والرياضة والترفيه إلى المواد الإباحية والكحول والمخدرات وكل الفئات الأخرى. تمكنت من تخصيص الفلاتر المفروضة على كل من أطفالي، وضبط القيود على أساس العمر والشخصية. فإذا كانت لديك مواقع ويب محددة تسمح لطفلك بزيارتها، يمكنك إضافتها إلى القائمة البيضاء لتتجاوز جميع الفلاتر.

فئات Norton Family Filter المقيدة

جزء من قائمة الفئات التي يصفيها Norton Family

من ناحية أخرى، إذا كنت ترغب في منع طفلك من فتح أحد المواقع حتى وإن كان نظيفًا، فيمكنك إضافته إلى قائمة المواقع المحجوبة، وستجدها في لوحة التحكم أسفل القسم الذي يعرض جميع الفئات المختلفة.

يمكنك أيضًا اختيار الطريقة التي تريد بها مراقبة كل جهاز من خلال تعيين مستويات الإشراف على النحو التالي:

  • مراقبة Monitor: يوقف جميع القيود المفروضة على جهاز الطفل، لكن يستمر الوالد في تلقي مستجدات وتنبيهات عن مواقع الويب التي يزورها الطفل.
  • تحذير Warn: سيتلقى الطفل تحذيرًا بأنه يحاول فتح موقع قد يكون غير لائق، وله أن يختار تجاهل التحذير ومتابعة فتح الموقع.
  • حظر Block: لن يفتح الموقع، وسيتلقى الطفل رسالة تفيد بأنه محظور.

لا بد أن تعرف أطفالك وتقرر مستوى ثقتك عند تطبيق هذه الإعدادات. وقد اخترتُ مراقبة Monitor ابني البالغ من العمر 16 عامًا، واستخدام إعدادات التحذير Warn للأطفال بين 11 و 14 عامًا، أما الأطفال الأصغر فوضعت لهم خيار الحظر Block.

ومع ذلك، إذا كنت تعاني من زيارة أطفالك الأكبر للمواقع الإباحية أو غيرها من المواقع التي لا تنبغي لهم زيارتها، فسيناسبك أكثر أن تستخدم معهم خيار الحظر Block.

منع إدمان الشاشة

بالنسبة لعائلتي، من المهم للغاية العثور على طريقة للحد من وقت استخدام الشاشات.

هذه إحدى الميزات التي أعتقد أن Norton Family يمكنه تحسينها في الإصدارات المستقبلية، فهي تسمح لي بتعيين جدول استخدام يومي مكون من فترات مدتها 30 دقيقة، وحد يومي شامل مكون من فترات مدتها ساعة واحدة، لكني أود أن تتحلى هذه الأدوات بمزيد من المرونة لأن أيامنا لا تُقسَّم إلى فترات زمنية تامة.

قم بتعيين حدود زمنية مع Norton Family

يسمح هذا الجدول للطفل باستخدام ساعتين من أصل 9.5 ساعات ممكنة

أعجبني وجود خيار للقفل الفوري Instant Lock يمكنني تشغيله من لوحة التحكم ليقفل جميع الأجهزة المرتبطة بحسابي تلقائيًا. ويمكن اجتياز القفل الفوري باستخدام رمز سري مكون من 4 أرقام، وهو أمر مفيد إذا كان لطفلك أجهزة متعددة وتريده أن يترك هاتفه وجهازه اللوحي ويستخدم الحاسوب.

من الميزات الرائعة التي تساعد الأطفال والآباء على التواصل هي طلب الوقت الإضافي: فإذا انتهت المهلة الزمنية أو أراد طفلك استخدام الجهاز بعد أن أوقفه الجدول الزمني، فيمكنه طلب وقت إضافي. يرسل هذا الطلب تنبيهًا إلى لوحة التحكم، وبصفتك الوالد يمكنك أن تقبل الطلب أو ترفضه.

جرب Norton Family مجانًا!

مراقبة التطبيقات التي يستخدمها أطفالك

عندما تثبِّت Norton Family على جهاز طفلك، يتعين عليك السماح للتطبيق بالوصول إلى بيانات استخدام التطبيقات، مما يسمح لـ Norton Family بإنشاء قائمة بالتطبيقات المثبتة على الهاتف، ويصبح بإمكانك -بصفتك الوالد- أن تختار ما إذا كنت تريد حظر تطبيق معين.

حظر التطبيقات باستخدام Norton Family

احظر فتح التطبيقات على جهاز طفلك

يمكنك أيضًا مراقبة التطبيقات التي يحملها أطفالك ومقدار الوقت الذي يقضونه في استخدام كلٍّ منها، ويستطيع Norton Family أن يتتبع الاستخدام على أساس يومي أو أسبوعي أو كل أسبوعين أو شهر.

مراقبة وفلترة محركات البحث الرئيسية

يعجبني في Norton Family أنه يطبق مرشح البحث الآمن تلقائيًا على Google وBing وYahoo وAsk ويوتيوب، كما يتتبع جميع مصطلحات البحث ويجمعها في تقارير، مما يساعدني على فهم ما يبحث عنه أطفالي ويحذرني مما إذا كانوا يبحثون عن أشياء تنتمي إلى فئات محظورة.

استثناءات للتعلم عن بعد

يعجبني في Norton Family أن به ميزة وقت المدرسة School Time، والتي لا تخصم من زمن الاستخدام اليومي المسموح به للأطفال حين يستخدمون حواسيبهم وهواتفهم في الدراسة أو أداء الواجبات المنزلية، وفوق ذلك يمكنك تحديد المواقع التي يمكنهم فتحها بناءً على الفئات والقائمة البيضاء للمواقع، مما يمنعهم من التشتت ويساعدهم على مواصلة التركيز على الدراسة.

ميزة Remote School مع Norton Family

تتبع الموقع: في أماكن محددة فقط

عندما بدأت استخدام Norton Family، فوجئت أنه على الرغم من إعلانه عن خاصية تتبع الموقع، لم أتمكن من العثور عليها في لوحة التحكم، فأجريت بعض البحث في صفحات الدعم حتى رأيت أن تتبع الموقع ليس متاحًا لمستخدمي ويندوز وأندرويد إلا في:

  • الولايات المتحدة
  • كندا
  • المملكة المتحدة
  • أستراليا
  • نيوزيلندا
  • اليابان

أما مستخدمو آيفون وآيباد فيمكنهم استخدام خاصية تتبع الموقع في:

  • الولايات المتحدة
  • المملكة المتحدة
  • اليابان
  • أستراليا
  • نيوزيلندا
  • جنوب إفريقيا
  • إندونيسيا
  • هونج كونج

الإشراف على مقاطع يوتيوب وHulu

تستطيع خاصية الإشراف على مقاطع الفيديو أن تراقب يوتيوب وHulu. ولتحقيق أقصى استفادة من هذه الميزة، ستحتاج إلى أن تحظر هذه التطبيقات وتطلب من الأطفال استخدام المتصفح بدلًا منها.

يعجبني في هذه الخاصية أنها تعرض صورة مصغرة للفيديو ورابطًا مباشرًا، مما يتيح لي الاطلاع سريعًا على مقاطع الفيديو التي شاهدها الأطفال. ويمكنك الاطلاع على مصطلحات بحث يوتيوب التي استُخدمت في قسم الإشراف على البحث من لوحة التحكم.الإشراف على الفيديو مع Norton Family

أدوات مفيدة للآباء

بصفتي والدًا لخمسة أطفال، تصعب عليَّ متابعتهم جميعًا، لكن لحسن الحظ يسهِّل Norton Family متابعة ما يفعلونه على الإنترنت.

تمكنت من إنشاء ملفات شخصية لكل من أطفالي على حدة، ولكل ملف شخصي لوحة تحكم منفصلة، كما أن لوحة التحكم مقسمة إلى أقسام مختلفة تسهِّل إلقاء نظرة سريعة على ما يفعله الأطفال وما إذا كان ينبغي عليَّ أن أطلع عليه أو أقلق بشأنه. وفي أسفل كل قسم رابط يفتح صفحة بها معلومات إضافية، لتطلع على جميع الأنشطة وتعدل القواعد المنزلية للفئة المحددة.

لوحة معلومات عائلة Norton

اشتركتُ في خيار تلقي رسالة بريد إلكتروني في كل مرة يفعل فيها أحد الأطفال شيئًا يستلزم إطلاق تنبيه على التطبيق. أما إذا كنت لا تريد رسائل بريد إلكتروني، فيمكنك ببساطة أن توقفها وتطلع على التنبيهات من خلال لوحة التحكم.

يستطيع Norton Family أيضًا إعداد تقرير شهري أو أسبوعي مفصل وإرساله إلى بريدك الإلكتروني، وهذا مفيد إذا كنت تريد مقارنة أدائهم على مدى بضعة أشهر، كأن ترى إن كان استخدامهم لأجهزتهم يزيد أو ينقص، وتطلع على التطبيقات التي ما زالوا يستخدمونها، وتعرف ما إذا كان عليك الانتباه إلى أي توجهات يميلون إليها لفترة طويلة في سجل البحث أو مشاهدة الفيديو.

احمِ أطفالك مع Norton Family

التثبيت9.0

قبل أن تتمكن من تحميل تطبيق Norton، سيتعين عليك إنشاء حسابك. وقد وجدت عرضًا رائعًا على صفحة مخفية في موقع Norton الرسمي بأسعار أقل بكثير من أسعار البرنامج المعتادة.

بمجرد إنشاء الحساب، يمكنك إضافة ملف شخصي لكلٍّ من أطفالك. وينبغي أن يكون الجهاز الذي تريد مراقبته معك حتى تتمكن من تحميل التطبيق وتثبيته. سيمنحك Norton Family رمز استجابة سريعة (QR)، ورابطًا إلى متجر Google Play أو App Store، ويمكنك استخدام ما تراه أسهل منهما.

عند تحميل التطبيق على جهاز الطفل، سيسألك إن كان هذا جهاز الطفل أم جهاز الوالد. حدد أنه جهاز الطفل Child Device، ومن ثم سيتعين عليك السماح له بالوصول إلى التطبيقات وجهات الاتصال والصور والعرض فوق التطبيقات الأخرى، وكلها صلاحيات معتادة جدًا عند تحميل التطبيقات. سيتعين عليك أيضًا منحه حقوق مسؤول الجهاز Device Admin لتمنع الطفل من حذف التطبيق دون إذن.

يمكنك كذلك تحميل التطبيق وتثبيته على هاتفك أو تسجيل الدخول إلى بوابة Norton Family على الإنترنت للاطلاع على لوحة التحكم، أو وضع القواعد، أو إجراء أي تغييرات على حسابات أطفالك.

احصل على Norton Family مجانًا لمدة 30 يومًا!

سهولة الإستخدام 9.1

ستدير كل شيء من خلال لوحة تحكم الأب ذات التصميم المتقن الذي يمنحك نظرة سريعة على كل ما يحدث. عندما تنقر على رابط “عرض تفاصيل النشاط View Activity Details”، سيعطيك تفاصيل إضافية عن تلك الفئة. وفي أعلى الصفحة علامتا تبويب: القواعد المنزلية والأنشطة.

يمنحك تبويب الأنشطة جميع المعلومات عن الفئة المختارة: كالتطبيقات المستخدمة، ومدة استخدامها، والمدة التي قضاها الطفل متصلًا بالإنترنت، والمواقع التي يزورها، ومقاطع الفيديو التي يشاهدها، ومصطلحات البحث، وغيرها.

يمكنك تخصيص الإعدادات لكل طفل، فما عليك سوى تحديد الطفل من أعلى لوحة التحكم للاطلاع على تقاريره.

قم بإعداد ملفات تعريف مختلفة لـ Norton Family لكل طفل

يمكنك فرض القيود من قسم القواعد المنزلية: اختر مستويات المراقبة، وحدود وقت استخدام الشاشة، والفئات المسموح بها أو الممنوعة، وستُطبَّق هذه التغييرات تلقائيًا على جهاز الطفل، إذ ستخضع القواعد المنزلية للتحديث وسيراها الطفل مُدرجة في تطبيقه، فلن يُفاجأ بما هو مسموح له أو محظور عليه.

وضع قواعد Norton Family House

لكل فئة صفحتها المخصصة لوضع القواعد المنزلية

الدعم 9.2

للحصول على الدعم بشأن أي أسئلة أو مشكلات قد تواجهك مع Norton Family عدة طرق. فإذا كنت تريد أن تحاول حل مشكلاتك بنفسك، لديك أدلة مساعدة مفصلة، وأسئلة وأجوبة، ودروس تعليمية. مشكلتي الوحيدة مع أولئك هي أن جميع أدوات Norton الأمنية للإنترنت مجمعة معًا، وقد يصعب العثور على إجابات للأسئلة المتعلقة بتطبيق الرقابة الأبوية.

إذا كنت لا ترغب في قضاء وقتك في تصفح قسم الدعم على موقع البرنامج، فيمكنك إما فتح تذكرة أو التحدث نصيًا مع أحد فنيي خدمة العملاء المتاحين على مدار الساعة طوال أيام الأسبوع.

انتابني الفضول لأعرف إن كانت أسئلة المحادثات المباشرة يجيبها أشخاص حقيقيون أو مجرد برامج محادثات آلية، وعندما بدأت حديثي مع ممثل الخدمة ظننته آليًا لأن الإجابات بدت رسمية للغاية كأنها مكتوبة مسبقًا، لكن عندما واصلت مناقشة المشكلات التي كنت أواجهها، اتضح أنني أتحدث مع شخص حي.

أخبرت ممثل خدمة العملاء أنني أواجه مشكلة في قفل هاتف طفلي، فحاول إرشادي عبر خطوات استكشاف الأخطاء وإصلاحها، وعندما لم ينجح ذلك، طلب الإذن للتحكم في حاسوبي وهاتف طفلي عن بُعد ليتمكن من إلقاء نظرة أفضل وإيجاد حل لسؤالي.

دعم عملاء Norton Family الاتصال عن بعد

استخدم موظف خدمة العملاء التحكم عن بُعد للمساعدة في الإجابة على سؤالي

أعجبني كثيرًا هذا المستوى من الاهتمام، وهو شيء لم أعهده مع أي من تطبيقات الرقابة الأبوية الأخرى التي اختبرتها.

راقب أطفالك مع Norton Family

الأسئلة المتكررة

😇 هل Norton Family آمن؟

إن Norton شركة معروفة ومحترمة في مجال أمان الإنترنت، لذا لا مفاجأة في أن تطبيق Family خالٍ من الفيروسات والبرمجيات الخبيثة ما دمت تحمِّل التطبيق من الموقع الرسمي لا من موقع خارجي.

🤑 هل لـ Norton Family نسخة مجانية؟

كانت لـ Norton Family نسخة محدودة، لكنها للأسف لم تعد متاحة، ومع ذلك يمكنك الحصول على نسخة تجريبية مجانية لمدة 30 يومًا دون إدخال أي معلومات دفع، وسيمنحك هذا وقتًا كافيًا لاختبار التطبيق ومعرفة إن كان مناسبًا لعائلتك.

� ما الأدوات المتاحة في Norton Family لتقييد وقت استخدام الشاشة؟

أدوات تقييد وقت استخدام الشاشة في Norton Family مكونة من جزئين: أولًا، يمكنك تحديد الأوقات النهارية والليلية التي يمكن استخدام الأجهزة فيها، وبعد ذلك يمكنك تعيين حد زمني لكل مستخدم.

😐 هل يمكن لأطفالي تجاوز قيود Norton Family؟

الأطفال أذكياء جدًا ويمكنهم عادةً إيجاد طرق للتغلب على أي شيء، ومع ذلك أبهرتني فعالية القيود والحدود الزمنية.

إليك بعض النصائح لتمنع أطفالك من تجاوز أي قيود:

  • إذا كان مع طفلك هاتف أندرويد يعمل بالإصدار 6.0 أو ما يليه، فيمكنه أن يضيف ملفات شخصية أخرى إلى الحساب، ثم يسجل الدخول ببساطة إلى الحسابات الأخرى غير الخاضعة للمراقبة. ويمكنك منع ذلك عن طريق حظر الملف الشخصي للمالك، وإنشاء ملف شخصي للطفل وتثبيت Norton Family على هذا الحساب.
  • احرص دائمًا على تحديث التطبيق إلى أحدث إصدار. فبالإضافة إلى التحديثات الأمنية، تعمل الإصدارات الجديدة على إصلاح أي نقاط ضعف أو ثغرات يمكن للأطفال استغلالها لإساءة استخدام التطبيق.

الأسعار 8.8

خيارات الاشتراك في Norton Family ليست كثيرة، بل هي باقة واحدة تتضمن عددًا غير محدود من الأجهزة والملفات الشخصية للأطفال، وكل ذلك بسعر شهري معقول جدًا وفي المتناول.

وجدت صفحة مخفية على موقع Norton تعرض سعرًا أقل مما رأيته في مكان آخر. وإن كنت غير مستعد بعد للالتزام بدفع اشتراك، فيمكنك تجربته مجانًا لمدة 30 يومًا دون الحاجة إلى استخدام بطاقة ائتمان.

جرب Norton family مجانًا لمدة 30 يومًا!

عروض المزودين والخطط التالية

السطر الآخير

أبهرني Norton Family بامتلاكه جميع الميزات التي أحتاج إليها تقريبًا مقابل تكلفة أقل من بعض تطبيقات الرقابة الأبوية المتميزة الأخرى التي اختبرتها. ورغم علمي بأنه لا يوجد تطبيق رقابة أبوية مثالي، فإن Norton Family قريب جدًا من المثالية. وقد كان أطفالي ممتنين للقواعد المنزلية وميزات التعلم عن بعد، وهي خصائص مهمة.

استعنت بالفترة التجريبية التي تسري لمدة 30 يومًا، وأقترح عليك ذلك أيضًا. وعندما تكون مستعدًا للاشتراك في هذا البرنامج سهل الاستخدام لمراقبة أطفالك، احرص أولًا على زيارة صفحة العروض الخفية هذه لتحصل على أفضل سعر متاح.

المشاركة والدعم

إن WizCase موقع مراجعات محايد يقوم على دعم قرائه، مما يعني أننا قد نربح نسبة من المال إذا قررت الشراء من خلال الروابط التي نضعها على موقعنا، لكنك لن تدفع أي مبلغ إضافي على أي شيء تشتريه من على موقعنا، بل تأتي نسبتنا مباشرة من الجهة المالكة للمنتج.

ادعم WizCase لتساعدنا على تقديم نصائح أمينة ومحايدة. شارك موقعنا مع أصدقائك لتدعمنا!

Norton Family Review: Good App, but What's the Catch?

Compatible with:

Norton Family Overview January 2021

Norton is already a leader in the security and protection fields with its antivirus software, so I wanted to check if they could successfully add these features to their parental control app as well. I had to see for myself if its product is strong enough to protect my kids online and to prevent them from bypassing the restrictions as they did with many other parental control apps that I’ve tested.

I found a great deal on a hidden page on the Norton official website and was able to get Norton Family for a better price than what other blogs published online. Not only that, but I was also happy to see that it comes with a 30-day free trial, so I could test it on my five kids risk-free.

Try Norton Family for Free!

It didn’t take long for me to see that Norton Family has everything I need in a parental control app. I was able to customize the web filters and time restrictions for each of my kids, track their location in real-time, and see all the latest updates and alerts in a well-designed dashboard.

I’ve tested more than 30 parental control apps on my kids, who range in age from 5 – 16, and they can find hacks or ways around the time restrictions on most of them. I downloaded the Android app for their phones and tablet and gave them a week to see if they could beat it.

While they couldn’t get around web filters or time restrictions, they did find a way to watch YouTube videos without me seeing the search history or videos viewed. Norton Family only monitors YouTube through a browser and not through the app. Thankfully, there was an easy fix for this, I blocked the YouTube app on my kids’ devices, forcing them to watch through the browser.

Norton Family promotes opening a dialogue with the kids. This isn’t spyware, and wasn’t able to install the app using stealth mode or track every keystroke. It also includes a set of House Rules, so the kids know what is and what isn’t allowed.

Norton Family House Rules

The House Rules are available for the kids to see

One feature that I like is “Remote Learning.” This is extremely helpful since my kids are doing all their schooling from home, and therefore have to be online for most of the day. When the kids are using Remote Learning, the time limit clock stops, which is nice, because it means they won’t feel like they are losing out because they’re doing school work.

What I found after using Norton Family is that I was able to:

  • Block inappropriate websites
  • Filter search results from major search engines
  • Receive alerts when my kids try and access restricted sites
  • Set time limits for each device
  • Instantly lock my kids’ devices

While there are some minor features missing that I’ve seen in other parental control programs, such as app based time restrictions, overall, I am very happy with Norton Family.

Monitor Your Kids with Norton Family

Features9.9

Norton Family is built to help parents monitor what their kids are doing online, prevent screen time addiction, and keep them safe. It has an impressive list of features that are geared towards achieving that goal.

Age Appropriate Web Filters

I was able to personalize the web restrictions for each child profile or use the preset restrictions, which are based on the child’s age.

  • Very High: Recommended for ages 8 and younger
  • High: Recommended for ages 8-11
  • Moderate: Recommended for ages 12-14
  • Low: Recommended for ages 15-17

Norton Family uses smart AI to categorize every website, based on the text, metadata, and images found on the website. There are a total of 47 categories, from news, sports, or entertainment, to porn, alcohol, or drugs, and everything in between. I was able to customize the filters for each of my kids, adjusting the limitations based on their age and personality. If you have specific websites that you allow your child to visit, you can add it to a whitelist, and it will bypass all filters.

Norton Family Filter Restricted categories

A partial list of the categories that Norton Family filters

On the other hand, if you want to prevent your child from going on a website, even though it’s clean, you can add it to the list of blocked websites. This is located on the dashboard under the section that displays all the different categories.

You can also choose how you want to monitor each device by setting the supervision levels as follows:

  • Monitor: This turns off all restrictions on the child’s device, although the parent will still receive updates and alerts on what websites the child is going to.
  • Warn: The kid will receive a warning that they are attempting to access a website that may be inappropriate. They have the option of ignoring the warning and proceeding to the website.
  • Block: The website won’t open, and the child will receive a message that it’s been blocked.

You have to know your kids and decide your trust level when applying these settings. I chose to Monitor my 16-year-old and use the Warn settings for the 11 and 14-year-olds. For the younger kids, I turned on the Block option.

However, if you’re having trouble with your older kids going to porn or other sites they shouldn’t be seeing, you’ll be happier with the Block option for them.

Prevent Screen Time Addiction

For my family, finding a way to limit screen time is extremely important.

This is one of the features that I think Norton Family can improve in future versions. It allows me to set a daily usage schedule in blocks of 30 minutes and an overall daily limit in one-hour blocks. However, I would like to see a little more flexibility with these tools since our days are never broken up into perfect blocks of time.

set time limits with Norton Family

This schedule allows the child to use the 2 hours out of a possible 9.5 hours

I do like that there is an Instant Lock option that I can turn on from my dashboard. It will automatically lock all devices in my account. There is a 4-digit PIN code that bypasses the instant lock, which is useful if your kid has multiple devices, and while you want them off their phones and tablets, they can be using the computer.

One of the nice features that helps kids and parents communicate is the additional time request. If the time limit expires or your kid wants to use the device when the schedule has it turned off, they can request extra time. This request creates an alert on the dashboard, and as the parent, you can either accept or reject the request.

Prevent Screen Time Addiction with Norton Family

Monitor Which Apps Your Kids are Using

When you set up Norton Family on your child’s device, you have to give permission for the app to access App Usage data. This allows Norton Family to compile a list of apps on the phone, and as the parent, you can choose whether you want to block a specific app.

block apps with Norton Family

Block apps from opening on your child’s device

You can also monitor which apps your kids download and how much time they spend using each app. Norton Family can track usage based on today, a week, two weeks, or a month.

Monitors and Filters the Major Search Engines

I like that Norton Family automatically applies the safe search filter for Google, Bing, Yahoo, Ask, and YouTube. It will also track and report all the search terms. This gives me excellent insight into what my kids are searching for and will warn me if they’re searching for things in forbidden categories.

Exceptions for Remote Learning

I really like that Norton Family has a School Time feature. While the kids are using their computers and phones for school or homework, it won’t count against their daily time limits. But, and here’s the great part, you can limit what sites they can go to based on categories and a whitelist of websites. This prevents them from getting distracted and helps them remain focused on schooling.

Remote School feature with Norton Family

Location Tracking – Only in Select locations

When I started using Norton Family I was surprised that even though it advertised location tracking, I couldn’t find it on my dashboard. It took a little digging through the support pages until I saw that for Windows and Android users location tracking is only available in:

  • US
  • Canada
  • UK
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Japan

iPhone and iPad users can use tracking location in:

  • US
  • UK
  • Japan
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • South Africa
  • Indonesia
  • Hong Kong

Video Supervision for YouTube and Hulu

The video supervision feature can monitor YouTube and Hulu. To get the most out of this feature you will need to block these apps and tell the kids to use the browser instead.

I do like that it shows a thumbnail screenshot of the video and a direct link, which allows me to check out the videos that were watched quickly. You can see the YouTube search terms that were used in the Search Supervision section of your dashboard.

Video Supervision with Norton Family

Helpful Tools for Parents

As the parent of five kids, tracking them all can be a challenge. Thankfully, Norton Family makes it easy to stay on top of what they are doing online.

I was able to create individual child profiles for each of my kids, and each profile gets a separate dashboard. The dashboard is divided into different sections, making it easy to take a quick glance of what the kids are doing and whether I should know about it or be concerned. On the bottom of each section is a link that opens a page with additional information. Here you can see all the activities and adjust the House Rules for the specific category.

Norton Family dashboard

I opted in to get an email each time one of the kids does something that triggers an alert on the app. If you don’t want the emails, you can just turn them off and check the alerts through the dashboard.

Norton Family can also prepare and send a detailed monthly or weekly report to your email. This is helpful if you want to compare how they’re doing over a few months, such as if they are on their devices more or less. What apps they are still using, and seeing if you can pick up on any long-term trends in their search history or video watching.

Protect your Kids with Norton Family!

Installation9.7

Before you can download the Norton App, you should create your account. I found a great deal on a hidden page on the Norton website, which has significantly lower prices than their standard offer.

Once you create the account, you can add a child profile for each of your children. You will need to have the device you want to monitor with you, so you can download and install the app. Norton Family will give you a QR code, and a link to its Google Play or App Store, and you can use whichever is easier for you.

When you download the app on the child’s device, it will ask if this is the child’s or parent’s device. Select Child Device, and then you will have to give it permission to access the apps, contacts, photos, and display over other apps, all of which are pretty standard when downloading apps. You will also have to give it Device Admin rights, which prevents the child from deleting the app without permission.

You can also download and install the app on your phone or log in to the Norton Family portal online, to see the dashboard, set the rules, or make any changes to your kid’s accounts.

Get Norton Family for Free for 30 days!

Ease of Use9.7

Norton Family is a very user-friendly program. It immediately starts syncing the child data with the parent dashboard as soon as you set up the account. The only thing you need to do is log in on your child’s device using the same username and password that you created the parent account.

You will manage everything through the Parent Dashboard. It had a well-designed layout, which gives you a quick overview of everything going on. When you click on the View Activity Details link it will give additional details about that category. On the top of the page are two tabs; House Rules and Activities.

Activities will give you all the information about the specific category. For example, which apps are being used, and for how long, how much time has the child been online, what websites they’re going to, videos they’re watching, search terms, etc.

You can customize the setting for each child, just select the child on the top of the dashboard to see their reports.

Set up Different Norton Family profiles for each child

The House Rules section is where you can set the limitations. Choose the monitoring levels, screen time limits, which categories are allowed or restricted, and then these changes will automatically be applied to the child’s device. The House Rules will be updated, and the child can see them listed in their app, so there are no surprises as to what they can and can not do.

Setting Norton Family House Rules

Each category has its own page for setting the House Rules

Support 9.9

There are several ways to get support for any questions or issues you might have with Norton Family. If you want to try and solve your issues on your own, there are detailed help guides, FAQs, and tutorials. My only problem with these is that all of the Norton online security tools are grouped together and it can be difficult to find answers to questions about the parental control app.

If you don’t want to spend time browsing through the website’s support section, you can either open a ticket or chat with a customer support technician 24/7.

I was curious if there are real people answering chat questions, or just chat-bots. As I started my conversation with the agent, I thought it was a bot, as the answers seemed very formal and prewritten. However, as I continued to discuss the issues I was having it became clear I was talking with a live person.

I told the customer support agent that I was having trouble locking my child’s phone. He tried to walk me through the troubleshooting steps, and when that didn’t work, he asked for permission to access my computer and my child’s phone remotely so he could take a better look and find a solution to my question.

Norton Family customer support remote connection

The customer support staff use remote access to help answer my question

I was very impressed by this level of care, and it’s something I haven’t experienced with any of the other parental control apps that I’ve tested.

Monitor Your Kids Online with Norton Family

FAQ

😇Is Norton Family safe?

Norton is a well-known and respected online security company, so it should come as no surprise that there are no viruses or malware associated with the Family app. This is true as long as you download the app from the official website and not through a third-party website.

🤑Is there a free version of Norton Family?

While Norton Family used to have a limited version, sadly, this is no longer available. However, you can get a 30-day free trial without entering any payment information. This will give you enough time to test the app and see if it’s a good fit for your family.

🤩What are the screen time prevention tools on Norton Family?

There are two parts to the screen time tools on Norton Family. First, you can select what times during the day and night the devices can be used, and then you can set a time limit for each user.

😐Can my kids bypass the Norton Family restrictions?

Kids are very smart, and can usually find ways around anything. That being said, I was impressed with the strength of the restrictions and time limits.

A few tips that can prevent your kids from bypassing any restrictions.

  • If your child has an android phone with 6.0 OS or higher, they can add additional user profiles to the account. Then, they can simply log in to the other non-monitored accounts. You can prevent this by blocking the owner profile, and creating a user profile for the kids, and installing Norton Family on that account.
  • Always make sure that the app is updated to the most recent version. In addition to security updates, the new releases will fix any weaknesses or bugs that kids can use to exploit the app.

Pricing 9.6

There are not a lot of options when it comes to a subscription for Norton Family. There is a single package, that includes unlimited child profiles and devices, all for a very reasonable and affordable price per month.

I found a hidden page on the Norton website that has a lower price than what I saw advertised elsewhere. If you’re not ready to commit to a paid subscription, you can try it for free for 30 days without having to use a credit card.

Try Norton family for free for 30 days

Norton Family offers the following plans

Bottom Line

I came away very impressed with Norton Family. It has just about all the features I need and it costs less than some of the other premium parental control apps I’ve tested. While I know that no parental control app is perfect, Norton Family is pretty close. My kids were appreciative of the House Rules and Remote Learning features, which is important.

I took advantage of the free 30-day trial, and I suggest you do the same. When you’re ready to commit to an easy-to-use program to monitor your kids, make sure first to visit this hidden deals page to get the best price available.

Share & Support

WizCase is an independent review site. We are reader-supported so we may receive a commission when you buy through links on our site. You do not pay extra for anything you buy on our site — our commission comes directly from the product owner.

Support WizCase to help us guarantee honest and unbiased advice. Share our site to support us!