NordVPN مراجعات المزودين وآراء الخبراء

ما الذي ننظر إليه؟

نظرة عامة على NordVPN

لا تشتري NordVPN إذا كنت تريد الدفع باستخدام بايبال، خدمة الشبكة الافتراضية البنمية أزالت هذا الخيار من موقعها الإلكتروني. إذا كانت بايبال هي وسيلة الدفع الوحيدة التي يمكنك استخدامها، تحقق من مراجعاتنا لخدمة الشبكة الافتراضية الخاصة الرائعة الأخرىExpressVPN.

قمت بشراء NordVPN منذ بضع شهور، واستفدت من باقة 3 سنوات ودفعت أقل من 3دولار شهرياً وأردت أن أرى بنفسي إذا كانت ترقى لهذه الشهرة الكبيرة التي تتحلى بها على مختلف المنتديات الإلكترونية.

كان لدي ثلاث فئات رئيسية اردت اختبارها:

  1. تجاوز الحظر الجغرافي

  2. الحماية/إخفاء الهوية

  3. التورنت


بعد اختبار NordVPN على مختلف الأجهزة لعدة أشهر، يمكنني ان أقول بمنتهى الأمانة أنني سعيد للغاية بأدائها بشكل عام.

بإمكان NordVPN تجاوز الحظر الجغرافي


كمغترب أمريكي تعيش بالخارج،من المهم جدا بالنسبة لي العثور على شبكة افتراضية خاصة يمكنها تجاوز الحظر الجغرافي دون أن يتم اكتشافها. قمت بمعظم الاختبارات على كمبيوتر ويندوز، وهاتف أندرويد، وAmazon Fire Stick .

كان بإمكاني البث من معظم خدمات المحتوى المعروفة التي تحظر المشاهدين من خارج الولايات المتحدة. يتضمن ذلك؛ Hulu، YouTube TV، Sling، ESPN، FuboTV ، وكل المواقع الإلكترونية لشبكات التليفزيون المحلية.( ABC، NBC، CBS، وFOX ). الموقع الوحيد الذي لم أتمكن من الوصول إليه هو DAZN (ولكن للأمان، واجهتني مشاكل أيضاً في تخطي حظر الموقع للشبكات الافتراضية الخاصة مع الخدمات الأخرى التي اختبرتها أيضاً).

بالإضافة لذلك، قمت باختبار مكثف على معظم مواقع التليفزيون والبث المعروفة حول العالم وكانت معظم النتائج إيجابية. تمكن من مشاهدة بطولة سوبر بول مباشرة على BBC iPlayer والمسلسلات التليفزيونية على ITV Hub، France2، SBS Australia ، وغيرها الكثير.

ماذا عن نتفلكس


بالرغم من محاولات نتفلكس لحظر نشاط الشبكة الافتراضية الخاصة، لم تواجهني أي مشكلة في الاتصال بالخوادم الموجودة في الولايات المتحدة، وبريطانيا، وكندا، وفرنسا، واليابان (الدول التي تمتلك أكبر المكتبات على نتفلكس) والبث بدون أي مشكلات.

NordVPN Bypasses Netflix geo block

باستخدام NordVPN تمكنت من مشاهدة نتفلكس أمريكا بدون مشكلة


بشكل عام، أنا سعيد بقدرة NordVPN على إخفاء موقعي الفعلي وتجاوز أي حظر جغرافي مزعج.

سرعات عالية = بث بدون تحميل


بالرغم من أن الشبكات الافتراضية الخاصة تبطئ من سرعات الإنترنت، لم أعاني من أي تعطل ملحوظ مع NordVPN .

على خلاف بعض الشبكات الافتراضية الخاصة الأخرى التي اختبرتها، كنت قادراً على الاستمتاع بالبث بدون أي إبطاء خلال التحميل، أو بث بجودة منخفضة، أو عدم تحميل الفيديوهات.

ما مدى تأمين NordVPN


أخذت جولة لبث قنوات التليفزيون حول العالم للتحقق من مدى حماية NordVPN really .

وهذه حقائق توصلت إليها:

  • بروتوكولات حماية. التطبيقات الأصلية لأنظمة ويندوز وأندرويد لديها خيارين لبروتوكول OpenVPN ؛ هما UDP و TCP ، حيث UDP هو البروتوكول الافتراضي. إذا أردت استخدام بروتوكولاتIKEv2 أو IPsec، يمكنك تثبيتهما يدوياً. هذه البروتوكولات مدمجة على تطبيقات ماك وiOS .

  • تمتلك NordVPN سياسة صارمة لعدم الاحتفاظ بالسجلات. و مراجعة مستقلة من PricewaterhouseCoopers، واحدة من "أكبر 4" شركات مراجعة، أكدت أن NordVPN لا تحتفظ بأي سجلات على خوادمها. هذا يعني في حالة طلب الوكالات الحكومية رؤية خوادم NordVPN ، لن يتمكنوا من العثور على أي معلومات مفيدة تقودهم إليك.

  • بياناتك مشفرة بقوة. عندما تمر بياناتك خلال نفق الشبكة الافتراضية الخاصة، يتم حمايتها بتشفير AES 256-بت، لتصبح أقرب إلى غير قابلة للاختراق .

  • هناك مفتاح إيقاف تلقائي. وسيقوم مفتاح الإيقاف التلقائي بقطع اتصالك بالإنترنت فوراً عند انقطاع الاتصال بالشبكة الافتراضية الخاصة. وهذا يمنع تسرب عنوان IP و DNS ، مما يحافظ على هويتك خفية على الإنترنت. الأمر الوحيد الذي أزعجني مع مفتاح الإيقاف التلقائي أن الإعداد الافتراضي هو "الإيقاف"، ويجب أن تذهب إلى الإعدادات وتشغيله.


NordVPN internet Kill Switch

سيكون عليك تشغيل خاصية مفتاح الإيقاف التلقائي لمنع أي تسربات



هل تخفي NordVPN عنوان IP الخاص بي؟


إخفاء عنوان IP هو أحد الوظائف الأساسية للشبكة الافتراضية الخاصة. قمت بإجراء اختبار تسرب IP و DNS مرات عديدة أثناء اختبار خدمة NordVPN ولم أواجه أي تسرب.

جرب مواقع مختلفة عديدة عند تشغيل الاختبارات، وتجنبت اختبار عنوان IP لخدمة NordVPN لأنني أردت تقريراً محايداً. أظهر كل اختبار قمت به عنوان IP والموقع ومقدم خدمة الانترنت الخاص بخادم الشبكة الافتراضية الخاصة، وتمكنت من الحفاظ على إخفاء هويتي.

NordVPN IP test

اختبار IP أظهر موقع أمريكي – على بعض آلاف الأميال من موقعي الفعلي


 

هل يمكنني استخدام أنشطة التورنت مع خدمة NordVPN


على الرغم من قدرتي على الوصول لنتفلكس، وهولو، وأي موقع بث أريده تقريبا، أحياناً أريد مسلسلات وأفلام عبر التورنت .

تمتلك NordVPN خوادم P2P مخصصة محسنة لتنزيلات التورنت . كان هناك مرات اتصل فيها بخوادم عادية بدلاً من خوادم P2P المخصصة، ولم ألاحظ أي إبطاء.

بشكل عام، قمت بتنزيل أكثر من 150 مسلسل وفيلم وأغنية من مختلف المواقع (YTS، Pirate Bay، ExtraTorrents و EZTV ) و لم أتلقى أي خطابات تحذيرية لانتهاك حقوق النشر، أو تنبيهات من مقدم خدمة الإنترنت، أو اختناقات بالسرعة.

NordVPN Downloading Torrent

لم أواجه أي مشكلة عند تنزيل التورنت باستخدام NordVPN


Torrent Anonymously with NordVPN


 

المميزات

  • شبكة كبيرة من الخوادم حول العالم
  • تطبيقات أصلية لأنظمة ويندوز، وماك، وأندرويد، و iOS، وFire TV، وغيرها
  • سرعات عالية
  • تجاوز جدار الحماية الصيني العظيم
  • تثبيت بسيط
  • الاتصال بـ 6 أجهزة في نفس الوقت
  • ضمان 30 يوم لاسترداد المال
  • دعم عملاء على مدار الساعة (ستتحدث إلى شخص حقيقي، قمت باختبار ذلك)

العيوب

  • لا تقبل الدفع بواسطة بايبال
  • لا تعمل مع نتفلكس الفرنسية
  • خيارات محدودة لبروتوكولات الحماية

مقارنة بالبدائل

9.9  / 10

اكتب تقييما عن NordVPN

قم بتقييم VPN

يثق مستخدمونا في ترتيبنا! شركات VPN لا يمكنها تغيير أو مسح مراجعاتنا

السرعة9.6

بالنسبة لي،كان أكبر مؤشر لسرعة خدمة NordVPN هو البث عالي الجودة وتنزيلات التورنت السريعة التي اختبرتها أثناء اختبار خدمة الشبكة الافتراضية الخاصة.

قمت بالعديد من اختبارات السرعة باستخدام Ookla Speed Test لأرى كيف تؤثر الشبكة الافتراضية الخاصة على سرعتي. قمت بالاختبارات على مختلف أوقات اليوم والليل، لذا أمكنني تحديد إذا كان وقت اليوم يؤثر على السرعة. وتمكنت كذلك من اختبار السرعة أثناء الاتصال بخوادم مختلفة في الولايات المتحدة وكندا وبريطانيا وفرنسا .

قمت بجمع كل البيانات وتوصلت إلى المتوسط الذي تراه في المخطط بالأسفل.

ماذا أفعل إذا أصبحت سرعة الاتصال بطيئة


سأكون كاذباً إذا قلت أن السرعة كانت دائما سريعة . كانت هناك بعض الأوقات الصعبة حيث احتجت لبعض أعمال استكشاف الأعطال لأرى لماذا لا تتحرك الأمور بسرعة أكبر.

وكان أول شيء هو محاولة تغيير الخادم. حتى مع عدة آلاف من الخوادم، قد يكون الخادم الذي اتصلت به يعاني من حمل زائد ويعمل ببطء. هناك خيار لاختيار "الأسرع" لكل موقع.

NordVPN find fastest server
اختيار أسرع خادم طريقة لزيادة سرعتك


هناك نصيحة أخرى مفيدة اكتشفتها، وهي التحقق من بروتوكول الحماية المستخدم. الخيارين المتاحين مع التطبيق الأصلي للخدمة هما UDP و TCP؛ إذا كنت تبحث عن سرعات أفضل، يجب عليك استخدام UDP (وهو بروتوكول الحماية الافتراضي).

والنصيحة الأخيرة أن تتأكد من عدم الاتصال باستخدام خاصية DoubleVPN . وهي خاصية لحماية إضافية وتشفير أقوى للبيانات، ولكنها كذلك ستبطئ من اتصالك بالإنترنت.

لماذا تعتبر السرعة مهمة؟

تحدد السرعة مدى سرعة تحميل المحتوى، لذا إذا كنت تستخدم التورنت أو تشاهد أحد البرامج مباشرة على الإنترنت فأنت تحتاج أن تكون السرعة مشابهة إلى حد ما لسرعة الإنترنت العادية. بما أن VPN يقوم بتشفير البيانات الخاصة بك، عادة ما يستغرق وقتا أطول قليلا لإرسال البيانات ذهابا وإيابا، مما يمكن أن يبطئ اتصالك. ومع ذلك، إذا كان مزود خدمة الإنترنت الخاص بك يبطئ اتصالك عمدا (المعروف أيضا باسم اختناق) قد يزيد VPN من سرعة الإنترنت الخاص بك. اختبار VPN غير مجدي إلى حد ما لأنه تظهر خوادم جديدة تؤثر على السرعة. يمكن أن تختلف سرعتك أيضا وفقا لموقعك، لذلك قد لا يتطابق اختبار السرعة لديك مع اختبارنا. وبالرغم من ذلك فقد اختبرنا السرعة في العديد من المواقع لنقدم لكم متوسط السرعة.

الخوادم9.8

تمتلك NordVPN أكثر من 5,400 خادم في أكثر من 60 دولة.

أعتقد أنها تمتلكخوادم أكثر من أي شبكة افتراضية خاصة أخرى قمت باختبارها. إلى جانب أن هذا يبدو مذهلاً، فإن امتلاك عدد كبير من الخوادم هو ميزة كبيرة للمستخدمين. بوجود العديد من الخوادم للاختيار من بينها، يصبح اختيار خادم متكدس وبطيء أقل احتمالاً .

هناك ميزة أخرى للامتلاك الكثير من الخوادم وهي توافر عدد مذهل من عناوين IP المحتملة . يجعل ذلك الأمر صعباً على المواقع الإلكترونية أن تحظر نشاط الشبكة الافتراضية الخاصة . في حالة حظرهم لواحد أو اثنين من الخوادم، يمكنك الاتصال بخادم مختلف والوصول للموقع المطلوب.

اختيار خادمك


هناك العديد من الطرق للاتصال بخادم NordVPN .

الخيار الأول هو النقر على زر الاتصال السريع من أسفل الخريطة . وهذا يختار البلد والخادم تلقائياً، ويتم تحديد الخادم والموقع بواسطة ما تسميه NordVPN بـ "معادلة معقدة بمعايير مختلفة للخوادم لاقتراح الخادم المناسب لك".

NordVPN's Quick Connect

لأفضل خادم متاح، انقر على الاتصال السريع


إذا كنت تريداختيار موقع معين ، وهو ما ستحتاج إليه إذا كنت تخطط للوصول لمحتوى خاص بدولة معينة، لديك خيارين. الأول هو النقر على أيقونة الموقع على الخريطة؛ وهذا سوف يقوم بتوصيلك تلقائياً بأفضل خادم في هذا الموقع في ذلك الوقت .

الخيار الثاني هو النقر على النقاط الثلاثة المجاورة لاسم البلد. وهذا سيتيح لك اختيار خادم معين، ورؤية حمل الخادم، وتحديده كخادم مفضل ، مما يجعل من السهل عليك العثور عليه مجدداً. قد يكون ذلك مفيد بشكل خاص إذا عثرت على خادم ناجح في تجاوز الحظر الجغرافي القوي والصعب.

NordVPN Choose the best server location for you

يمكنك اختيار أفضل خادم في كل موقع حسب الحمل على الخوادم


يمكن لـ NordVPN اختيار أفضل موقع خادم لك:

  • الولايات المتحدة: 20 مدينة

  • بريطانيا: مدينتين

  • أستراليا: 5 مدن

  • كندا: 3 مدن

  • ألمانيا: مدينتين


NordVPN choose by US city

أضافت Nord خيار اختيار خادم يقع في مدن محددة في مواقع محددة



4 خوادم متخصصة للاختيار من بينها


للحصول على أفضل تجربة للمستخدم، تمتلك NordVPN فئات عديدة مختلفة للخوادم يمكنك الاختيار من بينها، بناء على احتياجاتك.

NordVPN specialty servers

اختر من 4 خوادم متخصصة




  1. P2P - هذه الخوادم مثالية لتنزيل التورنت أو غيرها من نقل ملفات P2P .

  2. Double VPN - هذه الخوادم مثالية للمستخدمين الذين يريدون مستوى إضافي من الحماية. سيكون هناك نفق لأنشطتك لتمر عبر خادمين، مما يعني أنه سيكون هناك أيضاً تشفير مضاعف. ولكن العيب الرئيسي لهذه الخوادم أنها تبطئ سرعتك.

  3. Dedicated IP - لاستخدام خوادم Dedicated IP ، سيكون عليك شرائها مقابل 70دولار إضافية. حالياً، هي متاحة في الولايات المتحدة، وألمانيا، وبريطانيا، وهولندا.

  4. Onion Over VPN - هذه الخوادم ستقدم لك ميزة حماية إضافية عند تصفح الشبكة العميقة باستخدام متصفح TOR.


هل بإمكان NordVPN تجاوز جدار الحماية الصيني العظيم


بالرغم من عدم ذهابي للصين مؤخراً، قمت بالتحقق لاكتشاف إذا كانت NordVPN قادرة حالياً على تجاوز جدار الحماية الصيني العظيم. يتضمن ذلك التحقق من ذلك مع فريق خدمة عملاء NordVPN ، إلى جانب التحقق من منتديات السفر إلى الصين وموقع Reddit .

أفضل طريقة للوصول للإنترنت في الصين هي الاتصال باستخدام خوادم التعتيم Obfuscated Servers . لا أعرف لماذا هي غير مذكورة في القائمة مع الخوادم المتخصصة الأخرى. بدلاً من ذلك، عليك الذهاب إلى شريط الإعداد؛ الخيارات المتقدمة؛ خوادم التعتيم؛ ثم تصفح خلالها.

هام: خوادم التعتيمتعمل فقط مع بروتوكول OpenVPN ، هذا يعني أنك إذا كنت تستخدم جهاز iOS، ستحتاج لتنزيل تطبيق OpenVPN وإنشاء اتصال يدوي.

بالرغم من كونها واحدة من أفضل الخيارات للصين، من المهم الانتباه إلى أنه لا يوجد شيء مثالي دائماً، فقد رصد بعض المستخدمين مشكلات مؤقتة مع الاتصال، حتى مع خوادم التعتيم.
نصيحة احترافية: قم بتنزيل التطبيق قبل السفر. لن تكون قادراً على تنزيله بمجرد وجودك في الصين حيث أنها أزالته من متجر غوغل وسيظل الملف عالقاً خلف جدار الحماية الصيني العظيم.

موقع الخوادم

الولايات المتحدة الامريكانية
الإمارات العربية المتحدة
ألبانيا
الأرجنتين
النمسا
أستراليا
البوسنة والهرسك
بلجيكا
بلغاريا
البرازيل
كندا
سويسرا
تشيلي
كوستا ريكا
قبرص
اكتشف جميع المواقع المدعومة....

تجربة المستخدم10

استغرق الأمر أقل من أربعة دقائق منذ شراء خدمة NordVPN حتى اتصلت بأحد خوادمها. عندما كنت اختبر الشبكة الافتراضية الخاصة، صدر العديد من التحديثات، والتي أظهرت لي تطور الخدمة الدائم لتحسين تطبيقها. من منظور المستخدم، كان هذا مهم جداً بالنسبة لي. إنهم لا يكتفون بما هم عليه، ولكنهم يدخلون تعديلات على التصميم، ويجعلون الاتصال أسهل بمختلف المناطق إلى جانب تحسين تصميم التطبيقات بشكل عام. كلا من تطبيق أندرويد وiOS لديهما نفس تصميم التطبيق المكتبي، وهو أمر جيد. الفارق الأكبر بين التطبيقات الهاتفية والمكتبية هو أن مواقع الخوادم مدرجة على اللوحة اليسرى في التطبيق المكتبي، بينما عليه التمرير للأسفل على الهاتف للعثور عليها. Comparing Mobile and Desktop apps

التطبيقات الهاتفية والمكتبية لديهما واجهة مستخدم متشابهة جداً


التطبيق الذي استخدمته وشعرت أنه يحتاج لتحسين هو تطبيقFire TV . عندما بدأت باختبار خدمة NordVPN، لم يكن لديها تطبيق أصلي لـ Fire TV، وكان عليّ كسر حماية الضمان لجهاز Fire Stick لتثبيت الدمة. ومن بعدها، أصدروا التطبيق وبالرغم من عمله وتوفير الوصول لخدمات نتفلكس أمريكا، هولو، ESPN، HBO، وغيرها، فإن التطبيق يمكنه الاستفادة من بعض التحسينات. إذا كنت تريد اختيار خادم بدلاً من الخادم الافتراضي ستحتاج لمعرفة رقم الخادم، لا يمكنك البحث في القائمة أو حسب المنطقة مثلما الحال مع التطبيقات المكتبية او الهاتفية. بالإضافة لذلك، لا يوفر الاتصال التلقائي لنفس الخادم في كل مرة تقوم فيها بتسجيل الدخول، مما يعني أنه سيكون عليك إما تذكر رقم الخادم أو تأمل في أن تكون محظوظ وتعثر على خادم جيد في المرة التالية.

CyberSec - تحميك من البرمجيات الخبيثة


واحدة من الخصائص الرائعة التي تحصل عليها مع NordVPN ، خاصية CyberSec، أداة حماية الإعلانات الإلكترونية المدمجة. على الرغم من أن الشبكة الافتراضية الخاصة ستقوم بتشفير بياناتك وتغيير عنوان IP الخاص بك، ستقوم CyberSec بحظر المواقع الخبيثة، والإعلانات، والبرمجيات الخبيثة، والنوافذ المنبثقة، وهجمات DDoS من الهجوم على نظامك . يمكنك تشغيلها أو إيقاف تشغيلها من قسم الإعدادات.

الدعم10

خلال وقت اختباري لهذا المنتج، كانت لدي الكثير من الأسئلة لفريق دعم العملاء. أحببت خاصية الدردشة المباشرة واستخدمتها كلما واجهتني مشكلة.

سألت مجموعة من الأسئلة، من الأسئلة التقنية إلى أي خادم أفضل لبث قناة ديزني وكان طاقم الدعم دائما سريع الاستجابة ويقدم رد وافي بمعرفة عميقة.

NordVPN Customer Service Chat

مثال للمحادثة بالدردشة المباشرة على مدار الساعة


إذا لم تكن تحب الدردشة المباشرة، يمكنك كذلك فتح تذكرة دعم أو التحقق من القاعدة المعرفية العميقة. في المرة التي أرسلت فيها تذكرة دعم، تلقيت الرد لاحقاً في نفس اليوم.

لماذا يعتبر الدعم مهمًا؟

في حين يعتقد الغالبية أن الدعم الجيد هو ضروري فقط عند تثبيت VPN، وناك العديد من الحالات الأخرى التي قد تحتاج إلى دعم العملاء. إن الاتصال بخادم معين، وتغيير بروتوكول الأمان، وتهيئة الشبكة الافتراضية الخاصة على جهاز التوجيه الخاص بك، كلها حالات يمكن أن يكون الدعم فيها مفيدًا. نحن نتحقق من جميع مزودي VPN لمعرفة ما إذا كان الدعم متاح في جميع الأوقات (حتى في وقت متأخر من الليل)، ومدى سرعة الاستجابة، وإذا كانوا يقومون بالإجابة على استفساراتنا.

الأسعار 10

بكل الخصائص المتوفرة في NordVPN، من الصعب تصديق قدرتهم على المحافظة على السعر منخفض بهذا الشكل. يمكنك الاشتراك لمدة ثلاث سنوات بأقل من 3.00 دولار شهرياً (تدفع كلها مقدماً). وهذه قيمة ممتازة مقابل السعر.


ومثل معظم الشبكات الافتراضية الخاصة، ينخفض سعر الاشتراك بشكل واضح عند التسجل لباقة أطول.


إذا لم تكن راضياً خلال أول 30 يوم من استخدام خدمة NordVPN، يمكنك إعادتها واسترداد أموالك. أردت أن أرى مدى سهولة إلغاء الخدمة واسترداد المال، لذا اشتريت اشتراك ثاني باسم جديد وطلبت الاسترداد بعد 10 أيام.


اكتشفت سريعاً إنها ليست سياسة استرداد "بدون طرح أسئلة" ، وحاول طاقم الدعم مساعدتي على حل مشاكلي. وفي النهاية، اخترت المشكلة التي لا يمكنهم حلها، تجاوز الحظر الجغرافي لـ DAZN، و ردوا مبلغ السنوات الثلاث بالكامل خلال أسبوع .



تبين أنهم لا يمكنك الإلغاء بدون سبب


بالإضافة إلى ضمان استرداد المال، تسمح NordVPN للمستخدمين بإصدار تجريبي مجاني 7 أيام، ولا تتطلب منك استخدام بطاقة ائتمان للتسجيل.


تقبل الخدمة وسائل دفع عديدة، من بينها بتكوين إذا كنت تريد أن تظل بهوية خفية.


بطاقات الائتمان - فيزا، ماستركارد، أميكس، وديسكوفر

 العملات المشفرة - بتكوين، داش، ايثيريوم، زد كاش، لايتكوين، ريبل، ومونيرو

 أخرى - WeChat، AliPay، UnionPay، WebMoney، Yandex، Giropay، SOFORT، iDeal

عروض المزودين والخطط التالية

المشاركة والدعم

ادعم WizCase: ساعدنا لضمان الحصول على نصائح آمنة وحيادية وشارك موقعنا لدعمنا.

NordVPN Reviews and Expert Opinion

What do we look at?

NordVPN Overview

Don’t buy NordVPN if you need to pay with PayPal; the Panama based VPN provider has removed that as an option from their site. If PayPal is the only payment method you can work with, check out our review of another top-rated VPN - ExpressVPN.

I purchased NordVPN a few months ago, I took advantage of their 3-year plan and paid less than $3.00 a month I wanted to see for myself if it really lives up to the hype it receives on various online forums.

I had three main categories that I wanted to test out:

  1. Bypassing Geo Blocks

  2. Security/anonymity

  3. Torrenting


After testing NordVPN on a variety of devices for several months, I can honestly say that, for the most part, I am extremely happy with its overall performance.

Can NordVPN Bypass Geo Blocks


As an American expat living abroad, finding a VPN that could bypass geo blocks without detection was very important to me. I did most of my testing on a Windows computer, Android phone, and Amazon Fire Stick.

I was able to stream from most of the major online content providers that restrict viewers from outside the US. This includes; Hulu, YouTube TV, Sling, ESPN, FuboTV, and all the local network TV websites. (ABC, NBC, CBS, and FOX). The one site I was not able to access was DAZN (although to be honest I only found a few VPNs that work with DAZN.)

Additionally, I also did extensive testing on major TV and streaming sites around the world and had mostly positive results. I was able to watch the BBC iPlayer, ITV Hub, France2, SBS Australia, and much more.

Can NordVPN unblock Netflix?


Despite Netflix’s attempt to block VPN traffic, I had no trouble connecting with servers in the US, UK, Canada, France, and Japan (the countries with the largest Netflix libraries) and streaming without any issues.

NordVPN Bypasses Netflix geo block

With NordVPN I was able to watch US Netflix without a problem


Overall, I am very happy with NordVPN’s ability to spoof my location and bypass the annoying geo blocks.

Fast Speeds = Bufferless Streaming


While VPNs will typically slow down your internet connection, I didn’t suffer from any noticeable slowdowns with NordVPN.

Unlike some of the other VPNs I’ve tested, I was able to enjoy streaming without having to sit through buffering, low-quality streams, or videos that didn’t load.

How Secure is NordVPN


I took a break from streaming TV from around the world to check out how secure NordVPN really is.

Here are the facts:

  • Security protocols: The native Windows and Android apps have two OpenVPN options, UDP and TCP, with UDP being the default protocol. If you want to use IKEv2 or IPsec, you can manually install them. Those protocols are built-in on the Mac and iOS apps.

  • NordVPN has a strict no-log policy. An independent audit by PricewaterhouseCoopers, one of the “Big 4” auditing firms, confirmed that NordVPN does not maintain any logs on their servers. This means is that if a government agency demands to see the NordVPN servers, they won’t be able to find any useful information that can lead them to you.

  • Your data is highly encrypted. When your data goes through the VPN tunnel, it’s protected by AES 256-bit encryption, which is as close to un-hackable as we have.

  • There is an Automatic Kill Switch. A kill switch will instantly block your internet connection should the VPN disconnect. This prevents IP and DNS leaks, which keep you anonymous online. The one thing about the Kill Switch that bothers me about the Kill Switch is the default setting is “off,” and you must go to Settings and turn it on.


NordVPN internet Kill Switch

You’ll have to turn on the Kill Switch to prevent any leaks



Will NordVPN Hide My IP Address?


Hiding your IP address is one of the primary functions of a VPN. I ran IP and DNS leak tests multiple times while testing NordVPN and never came across any leaks.

I tried several different sites when running the tests, and avoided NordVPN’s IP test because I wanted an unbiased report. Every test I ran showed me an IP address, location, and ISP of the VPN server, and I was able to remain anonymous.

NordVPN IP test

The IP test shows a US location – a few thousand miles from my actual location


 

Can I Torrent with NordVPN


While I had access to Netflix, Hulu, and just about any streaming site I wanted, there were still times that I wanted to torrent shows and movies.

NordVPN has dedicated P2P servers that are optimized for downloading torrents. There were times that I just connected with regular servers instead of a particular P2P server, and I didn’t notice any slowdowns.

All in all, I downloaded over 150 TV shows, movies, and songs from a variety of sites (YTS, the Pirate Bay, ExtraTorrents and EZTV were my go-to sites) and I never received any warning letters for copyright violations, warnings from my ISP, or speed throttling.

NordVPN Downloading Torrent

I had no trouble downloading torrents with NordVPN


Torrent Anonymously with NordVPN


 

Pros

  • Large network of servers worldwide
  • Native apps for Windows, Mac, Android, iOS, Fire TV, and more
  • Fast Speeds
  • Bypasses the Great Wall of China
  • Simple installation
  • Connect 6 devices simultaneously
  • 30-day money back guarantee
  • 24/7 customer support (You will get a real person, we tested it out)

Cons

  • Doesn’t accept PayPal
  • Doesn’t work with French Netflix
  • Limited security protocol options

Compare with Alternatives

9.9  / 10

Write a Review on NordVPN

Please rate VPN.

Our users' trust is our #1 priority! VPN companies cannot pay to change or delete reviews.

Speed9.6

For me, the biggest indicator of NordVPN’s speed came from the high-quality streaming and fast torrent downloads I experienced while testing the VPN.

I did run multiple speed tests using Ookla Speed Test to see how the VPN was affecting my speed. The tests were performed at various points throughout a day and night, so I could determine if the time of day affected my speed. I also ran the tests while connected to different servers in the US, Canada, UK, France.

I compiled all the data and came up with the averages that you see in the chart below.

What to Do If the Connection Speed is Slow


I’d be lying if I told you that the speed was always fast. There were some frustrating times where I had to do some troubleshooting to see why things weren’t moving at a faster pace.

The first thing to do is to try changing the server. Even with several thousand servers, the server you connect with may simply be overloaded and running slow. There is the option to choose the “Fastest” for each location.

NordVPN find fastest server
Picking the Fastest server is a way to increase your speed

Another helpful tip I discovered is to check which security protocol you are using. The two options that come with the native app are UDP and TCP; if you are looking for faster speeds, then you should be using UDP (this is the default security protocol).

The final tip is to make sure that you aren’t connected using the DoubleVPN feature. This is an added security feature that gives your data encryption but will also slow down your internet connection.

Why Most Speed Tests are Pointless & How We Correctly Test VPN Speeds

Speed determines how fast content uploads, so if you're torrenting or streaming, you want the speed to be somewhat identical to your regular internet speed. Since a VPN encrypts your data, it usually takes a bit longer to send your data back and forth, which can slow down your connection. However, if your ISP deliberately slows down your connection (also known as throttling) a VPN might increase your internet speed. Testing a VPN is somewhat pointless because new servers pop up and affect speed. Your speed can also differ according to your location, so your speed test might not match ours. Having said that, we tested the speed in numerous locations to provide you with the average.

Servers9.8

NordVPN has over 5,400 servers in more than 60 countries.

I believe it’s the most servers of any VPN that I’ve tested. Aside from sounding impressive, having a large number of servers is a huge benefit for users. With so many to choose from, there is less of a chance of landing on an overburdened server.

Another benefit of having some many servers is the incredible number of potential IP addresses. This can make it difficult for websites to ban VPN traffic. In the event that they do block one or two of the servers, you can connect with a different one and access the site.

Choosing Your Server


There are several ways to connect with a NordVPN server.

The first option is to click on the Quick Connect button on the bottom of the map. This will automatically select a country and server to connect with, the server and location are determined by what NordVPN calls a “complex formula with various server parameters to the server recommended for you.”

NordVPN's Quick Connect

For the best available server, just click Quick Connect


 If you want to pick a particular location, which you would need to do if you plan to access content in a specific country, you have two options. The first is to click on the location icon on the map; this will automatically connect you with the best server in that location at that time.


The second option is to click on the three dots next to the country name. This will allow you to choose a specific server, see the server load, and mark it as a favorite server, making it easier to find again. It can be especially useful if you have a server that is successful in bypassing a difficult geo-block.

NordVPN Choose the best server location for you

You can choose the best server in each location by server load


There are five countries that NordVPN allows you to choose a server based on a specific location. They are:

  • US: 20 cities

  • UK: 2 cities

  • Australia: 5 cities

  • Canada: 3 cities

  • Germany: 2 cities


NordVPN choose by US city

Nord had added the option to choose a server located in select cities in certain locations



4 Specialty Servers to Choose From


To create the best user experience, NordVPN has several different server categories that you can choose from, depending on your needs.

NordVPN specialty servers

Choose from 4 specialty servers




  1. P2P – These servers are ideal for downloading torrents or any other P2P file transfers.

  2. Double VPN – These servers are ideal for users who want an extra level of protection. They will tunnel your traffic through two servers, which means it will also be encrypted twice. The major downside to these servers is it can slow down your speed.

  3. Dedicated IP – To use the Dedicated IP servers, you will have to purchase them for an additional $70. Currently, these are available in the US, Germany, UK, and Netherlands.

  4. Onion Over VPN – These servers will give you an added measure of protection when surfing the Dark Web with TOR.


Can NordVPN Bypass the Great Firewall of China


While I haven’t personally gone to China recently, I did investigate quite a bit to find out whether NordVPN is currently able to bypass the Great Firewall of China. This included checking in with the NordVPN customer support team, but also checking out China travel forums and speaking with NordVPN users in China.

The best way to access the internet from China is to connect using the Obfuscated Servers. I don’t know why these aren’t listed with the other specialty servers. Instead, you have to go to the Setting Tab > Advanced Option > Obfuscated Server > then toggle on.

Important: Obfuscated servers only work with OpenVPN, this means that if you’re using an iOS device, you will need to download the OpenVPN app and create a manual connection.

While this is one of the best options for China, it’s important to note that nothing is perfect over there, and people have reported having temporary issues connecting, even with the obfuscated servers.

Pro Tip: Download the app before traveling. You won’t be able to download it once you’re in China since they’ve removed it from google play and the file will be stuck behind the Great Firewall of China.

Server Locations

United States
United Arab Emirates
Albania
Argentina
Austria
Australia
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Belgium
Bulgaria
Brazil
Canada
Switzerland
Chile
Costa Rica
Cyprus
See all supported locations...

User Experience10

It took less than four minutes from when I purchased NordVPN until I connected to one of the servers.

While I was testing the VPN, several updates were released, which showed me that the development is always working on improving their app. From a user’s perspective, this was very important to me. They aren’t just happy with how things are, but making changes to the design, making it easier to connect with different regions and improving the overall design of the apps.

Both the Android and iOS apps have a very similar design to their respective desktop apps which is good to seeThe big difference between mobile and desktop apps the server locations are listed on the left-hand panel on the desktop app, and you have the swipe up on the mobile to find them. 

Comparing Mobile and Desktop apps

The mobile and desktop apps have a very similar UI


The one app that I’ve used that I feel still needs improving is the Fire TV app.

When I first started testing NordVPN, they didn’t have a native app for Fire TV, and I had to jailbreak my Fire Stick to install it. Since then, they’ve released an app, and while it works and gives me access to US Netflix, Hulu, ESPN, HBO, and more the app can use some improvement.

If you want to choose a server other than the default you have to know the server number, you can’t search a list or by region like you can on the Desktop and Mobile apps.

Additionally, it won’t automatically connect to that same server each time you log in, which means that you’ll have to either remember the server number or hope to get lucky and find a good one the next time.

CyberSec – Protecting You From Malware


One very nice feature that you get with NordVPN is CyberSec, a built-in ad online security tool. While the VPN will encrypt your data and change your IP address, CyberSec will block suspicious websites, ads, pop-ups, malware, and DDoS attacks from attacking your system.

You can turn it on or off in the settings section.

Support10

Throughout my time testing this product, I had plenty of questions for the customer support team. I like the live chat feature and used it whenever I had an issue.

I asked a range of questions, from technical questions to which is the best server to stream the Disney channel and the support staff was always quick with an answer and very knowledgeable.

NordVPN Customer Service Chat

An example of a conversation of the 24/7 Live Chat


If live chat isn’t your thing, you can also open a ticket or check out their extensive knowledgebase. The one time I submitted a ticket, I received an answer later that same day.

How We Test Customer Support and Why Should You Care

We personally test the customer support team of every VPN we review. This means asking technical question through the live chat feature (where applicable) and measuring the response time for email questions. Whether you need to connect to a specific server, change your security protocol, or configure a VPN on your router, finding a VPN with quality customer support should be important to you.

Pricing10

With all the features packed into NordVPN, it’s hard to believe that they can keep the price so low. You can get a three-year subscription for less than $3.00 a month (all paid up front). This is an excellent price for the value.

As with most VPNs, the price for a subscription drops significantly when you sign up for a long-term plan.

If you aren’t satisfied within the first 30-days of using NordVPN, you can return it and get your money back. I wanted to see just how easy it is to cancel and get refunded, so I purchased a second subscription under a new name and asked for a refund after 10 days.

I quickly found out that this isn’t a “no questions” asked return policy, and the support staff tried to help solve my problems. In the end, I chose a problem that they couldn’t fix, bypassing a geo block on DAZN, and they refunded the full three-year payment within a week.


It turns out you can’t just cancel for no reason


In addition to the money back guarantee, NordVPN allows users to get a free-7 day trial, and they don’t require you to use a credit card.


 

There are several accepted payment methods, including Bitcoin if you want to remain anonymous.

  • Credit Card — VISA, MasterCard, AMEX, and Discover

  • CryptoCurrency - Bitcoin, Dash, Ethereum, Zcash, Litecoin, Ripple, and Monero

  • Other — WeChat, AliPay, UnionPay, WebMoney, Yandex, Giropay, SOFORT, iDeal

NordVPN offers the following plans

Share & Support

Support WizCase: Help us guarantee honest and unbiased advice and share our site to support us.