OVPN 評價2021:是否值得购买?

OVPN
好!
访问 OVPN 网站

我們該檢視什麼?

公开声明:
我们的测评

Wizcase包含由我们的社区评论员撰写的测评,这些测评都是基于评论员对产品进行的独立、专业的测试和检查。

所有权

Wizcase的母公司Kape Technologies PLC拥有CyberGhost、ZenMate、Private Internet Access和Intego,我们网站可能测评这些产品。

推荐费

使用我们的链接进行购买时,Wizcase可能会赚取关联佣金。但是,这对我们发布的测评内容或测评的产品或服务没有任何影响。我们的内容可能包含购买关联计划产品的直接链接。

测评标准

Wizcase上发布的所有测评都符合我们严格的测评标准,以确保每一篇测评文章都是基于测评员对产品或服务开展的独立、诚实和专业的检查。这些标准要求测评员不仅要考虑产品的技术质量和特性,还要考虑其对用户的商业价值,这可能影响产品在网站上的排名。

OVPN总览 十月 2021

OVPN 的基础设施设计处处都考虑到了安全和隐私,包括无日志政策和基于 RAM 的服务器内存。曾获庭审胜诉的 VPN 供应商屈指可数,OVPN 的这一战绩证明它确实履行了保障用户身份安全的承诺。

经过测试,我发现 OVPN 还是比不上一些竞品。网络连接速度慢给我带来了不少困扰,保护个人浏览习惯的方法也限制重重。而更让人恼火的是,我所在时区的周末和晚间不提供支援,因此我只得发邮件咨询相关问题,有时还要等上几天才能收到回复。鉴于它需要手动设置、连接速度慢且缺少 24/7 全天候支援,我不推荐大家使用它

赶时间?1 分钟摘要在此

OVPN 能解锁 Netflix、Disney+、Hulu 和 Amazon Prime Video,但解锁不了 HBO 和 BBC iPlayer

我试着用 OVPN 访问了各大流媒体,包括 Netflix、Hulu、Disney+、HBO NOW、BBC iPlayer 和英国的电视直播服务 ITV Hub。总的来说,多数流媒体都能成功解锁,但 HBO 和 BBC iPlayer 不行。

Netflix:解锁成功

有些 VPN 供应商无法帮用户解决 Netflix 的代理错误,但是我试用过的 OVPN 的美国服务器都一直可以访问美区 Netflix。OVPN 用户观看 Netflix 期间,无需担心播放出现问题。

总的来说,影视节目都能不间断地播放——我只有在连接人满为患或地理距离遥远的服务器时,才会遇到卡顿或画质低清的情况。在我这里,纽约服务器的速度快于洛杉矶服务器,而后者离我超过 2000 英里(约 3200 公里)。连接英国、德国、西班牙或瑞典的服务器后,则可以访问 Netflix 仅在这些国家提供的专属影视。

OVPN解锁Netflix的屏幕截图

我可以用 OVPN 零卡顿观看 Netflix 的《我本坚强》

HBO NOW 和 BBC iPlayer:解锁失败

我试了 OVPN 在美国的全部 7 个服务器,想找到一个能访问 HBO NOW 的。然而结果是,每次试验都只收到一条模糊的错误信息。当我关掉 VPN 后,我确认 HBO NOW 并未出现错误,而是禁止了 VPN 连接。

OVPN的屏幕截图被HBO阻止

连接 OVPN 期间,HBO 一直显示服务错误

同样,如果你想看自己喜欢的英国电视节目,OVPN 帮不上忙。我既试了推荐的英国服务器,也手动选择了其他服务器,但是 BBC iPlayer 每次都会屏蔽 OVPN 的连接。

OVPN的屏幕截图被BBC iPlayer阻止

尽管连接了伦敦的服务器,但 BBC iPlayer 仍然屏蔽 OVPN

若需要解锁 HBO NOW 和 BBC iPlayer,可以使用 NordVPN 轻松搞定地域限制

速度6.0

虽然 OVPN 的速度快到足以进行数据消耗量大的网络活动,但是它仍然比我平时不连 VPN 的网速慢。我的下载速度通常有 200Mbps,而测试期间,使用 OVPN 第一推荐的服务器时,速度只能达到平时的一半。尽管速度有所下降,但是 OVPN 的下载速度仍然足够观看高清流媒体视频和打游戏

我在纽约市外的家中测试了各服务器的速度,其中距离较近的一个服务器速度最快。这个结果在我预料之中,因为本地服务器的速度一般较快。不过,它的速度仍然大大慢于我试用过的其他 VPN,比如 ExpressVPN。

要想确保获得 OVPN 的最快速度,最佳方法是使用它推荐的服务器。登录后,选择“自动选择最佳服务器”。使用推荐的服务器往往能给我带来 10Mbps 以上的额外速度。

使用 OVPN 最不讨喜的地方在于,眼睁睁看着网速从 200Mbps(不用 VPN 时的正常网速)降到 100Mbps 以下。英国和澳大利亚的服务器速度尤其慢,分别是 26Mbps 和 11Mbps。这样一来,在进行观看流媒体、打视频电话和下载种子等耗费流量的活动时,想要多任务处理就很难了,而且还会使文件下载时间大大增加。

连接到OVPN时的4个速度测试的屏幕截图

OVPN 的速度慢于不用 VPN 时的正常速度

如果你需要 VPN 帮你提速,我推荐你试试 ExpressVPN,可以同时看流媒体、下载种子和视频聊天,而且都不卡顿

为何大多数的速度测试都无意义以及我们如何正确地测试VPN速度

影响VPN速度的因素有很多种,但同时也使许多的速度测试没有意义。由于VPN会加密你的数据,使得一来一往的数据传输花费更多时间,造成连接速度缓慢。然而,若ISP刻意减慢你的连线速度(又称为节流),VPN或许可以加快您网路的连线速度。 增加新的服务器至互联网也可能会影响速度。根据您所在的位置,测试结果也可能会有所不同,因此您的速度通常可能与我们的速度有所不同。 我们的速度测试为非常可靠的基准,因为我们会在多个位置上测试其速度,为你提供更完整的依据,使其对所有用户更具可相比性。

服务器5.5

服务器:数量有限,连接缓慢

OVPN 在超过 15 个国家拥有大约 90 个服务器,为用户提供 2000 多个个人 IP 地址,确保用户上网期间的匿名程度更高。

IP 地址数量这么多意味着用户使用 OVPN 期间,两次获得同一 IP 地址的几率很小。这有助于保障用户身份不被第三方发现。

OVPN 也是少数几个提供 IPv6 地址的供应商之一,IPv6 比 IPv4 更安全,也为用户提供更流畅的体验。IPv6 地址主要用于移动上网,如果你经常用手机或平板上网,这一功能就特别有用。

测试 OVPN 各个服务器时,我发现连接时间相对较慢,超过 10 秒。有些服务器的加载时间甚至超过 30 秒。如果连接时间超过 60 秒,OVPN 会终止连接,然后再重新尝试连接,第二次通常比第一次连接得更快。这些连接时间非常慢,特别是与 NordVPN 相比,后者的连接时间往往低于 5 秒。

服务器地点 连接问题 连接时间(秒)
奥地利 有(连接失败一次) 16.2
澳大利亚 14.3
法国 17.1
日本 42.8
新加坡 14.0
英国 16.0
美国 有(连接失败一次) 12.9

安全性:采取一流安全措施

所有服务器均使用 RAM 内存,软件不记录任何日志……使用 OVPN 的整个过程中,用户信息都是安全的。由于流量经过服务器过滤,OVPN 无法将用户流量记录在长期日志中。OVPN 的这项技术和短期存储方案让它领先于竞争对手。

OVPN 在桌面程序、浏览器扩展程序和移动应用中都提供终止开关。虽然 OVPN 的应用在 Google Play 商店中不太好找,但是下载安装应用后,就能在移动设备上获得与电脑同等级别的安全保障。

OVPN 在全球有 20 多个服务器支持 Wireguard。Wireguard 是一项 VPN 协议,安全程度高于多数 VPN 供应商所采用的 OpenVPN 协议,从 2020 年二月开始扩大规模。

让我有点失望的是,OVPN 的桌面程序中没有广告拦截器。浏览器扩展程序虽提供广告拦截器,却只支持 Chrome、火狐、Vivaldi 和 Opera 这几个浏览器。使用扩展程序时,我发现它只有初级的广告拦截能力,不完全匹配它的总体性能。

OVPN 的多跳(Multihop)功能让我很兴奋。真正关心网络隐私的用户可以使用多跳同时连接多个服务器,让自己难以被追踪。这项功能需要额外购买,除了基本的订阅费外还要另付 $5。

私密性:采取额外安全措施保障匿名

OVPN 的主要卖点是注重安全,采取多种途径保护用户隐私。除了无日志政策外,OVPN 也不要求用户使用电子邮件注册,甚至允许用户匿名支付。它支持比特币和现金付款,确保用户可以匿名支付

该公司甚至曾在瑞典法庭上为客户的隐私而战。OVPN 获得胜诉,有权拒绝提交 IPV-4 服务器的用户日志,保护了用户隐私。它在网站的安全页面上自豪地表示,它为此购买了保险,以便始终保障用户私密、安全地上网。为验证这一点,我分别连接了 OVPN 的几个服务器,然后访问 DNSLeakTest.com 进行测试。我很高兴地发现,每次测试结果都说明没有任何泄露,我的身份是安全的。

OVPN通过DNS泄漏测试的屏幕截图

连接 OVPN 服务器时,我的真实位置被隐藏了

这样的隐私承诺尤为重要,因为 OVPN 公司位于瑞典,而瑞典是九眼和十四眼联盟的成员国。这意味着严格说来,OVPN 需要与其他联盟国共享情报信息,不过由于 OVPN 并不存储这些信息,因而也无法共享。

在安卓设备上设置移动应用时,我发现 OpenVPN 提到它会在当前设备上保存日志,并可能与支援人员分享。用户可以查看这些日志,因为它可能包含个人身份信息。访问途径很简单,也可以轻松搜索并随时删除个人信息。

OVPN 希望让所有用户了解他们自己账户的情况。因此,它每个月都会发布透明度报告,提供服务中断情况、运营数据等信息,这些内容人人可见。它的信息始终这般透明,所以用户可以放心,OVPN 在尽其所能地保障用户安全。

种子下载:帮助用户最大化下载速度

OVPN 所有服务器似乎都支持 P2P 共享和种子下载,甚至还在它的博客上发了一篇文章,指导用户最大限度地提高种子下载速度。

根据 OVPN 的建议,要想使种子下载或 P2P 共享获得最大速度,用户可以在自己的网络上打开通常因安全原因而关闭的端口,这样有助于提速。打开这些端口的时候,为了确保网络连接安全,用户也应同时开启端口转发。

OVPN上的端口转发选项的屏幕截图

OVPN 网站上的“账户设置”中,可以设置端口转发

在 OVPN 的网络中,用户最多可以打开七个端口。支援中心明确表示,这些端口只能在 48152 和 65535 之间。

OVPN 在中国是否管用?——中国用户可以使用新加坡服务器

OVPN 的客服声称,OVPN 在中国管用,但有用户反映部分服务器被政府封锁。OVPN 团队建议道,前往中国旅行或住在中国的用户最好使用新加坡服务器。

OVPN 团队也建议用户在前往中国前就下载好软件、应用程序或者 OpenVPN GUI 客户端。OpenVPN 客户端允许用户手动配置,连接服务遇到问题时可以当场修改。

与OVPN实时聊天的屏幕快照,显示服务器是否在中国工作

就绕过中国政府审查一事,OVPN 的支援团队提供了有益的见解

鉴于中国用户可以使用的服务器有限,而且实际使用中需要依靠另一客户端,OVPN 并非常年旅行者的最佳选择。这些在中国最好用的 VPN 中,可以找到更靠谱的选择。

伺服器位址

at
au
ca
ch
de
dk
fi
fr
gb
jp
nl
no
ro
se
sg
查看所有有支援的地區...

使用者经验 7.0

可同时连接的设备数量:最多 4 台

一个 OVPN 账户最多可以同时连接 4 台设备,对于和亲朋好友共享账号的用户来说,这个数量不太够用。我连接了我的 Windows 系统的 Surface Pro 6、安卓手机、Chrome 浏览器后,还可以再加一台设备。即便同时连接了多台设备,其服务也没有出现限制。不过,Surfshark 不限制同时连接的设备数量,还可以免费试用 30 天,显然是更好的选择。此外,Surfshark 提供中文的原生应用程序。

设备兼容性:提供主流电脑和设备的应用程序

OVPN 支持多种设备,包括台式电脑、移动设备、路由器和 Chrome 及火狐浏览器的扩展程序。但是,它对电视和游戏机等智能设备的保护力度有限。我经常使用 Xbox 和 Chromecast 进行流媒体传输,然而 OVPN 并不支持这些设备。

起初,我试图在手机上获取 OVPN 应用程序时,却被导向至 OpenVPN 客户端的下载,并通过该系统上传了配置文件。不过,我最终通过直接进入官网找到了 OVPN 应用程序。在 Google Play 商店中搜索 OVPN 的话,它在结果列表中排在第 21 位。

下载应用程序后,可以轻松连接至附近的服务器。用 OVPN 用户名和密码登录后,点击它的标志就可以连接了。

设置和安装的难易程度:简单,对用户友好

安装 OVPN 很容易:选择完付款方式后,OVPN 的网站会引导用户前往“应用程序”页面,里面有各个设备版本的应用程序,直接点击兼容自己操作系统的应用程序即可下载。

OVPN应用程序选项的屏幕截图

在应用程序页面,可以下载各个版本的 OVPN 客户端

OVPN设置向导的屏幕截图

下载 OVPN 客户端后,运行安装向导来安装程序

安装完应用程序后,登录和连接都很简单,几分钟内即可完成。

OVPN在移动设备上的登录过程的屏幕截图

OVPN 应用程序简单易用

卸载程序也很简单,Windows 用户在“程序和功能”界面中卸载即可。记得也要卸载 Windows 系统中的 OpenVPN TAP 客户端,因为它通常包含在 OVPN 的安装文件中。在安卓系统上卸载甚至更简单:直接把 OpenVPN 客户端拖到屏幕顶端的垃圾桶中即可。

支援2.0

联系 OVPN 的支援团队有点难,因为他们只在瑞典工作时间(当地时间 8-16 点)上班。OVPN 提供三种支援方式:

  • 实时聊天(东二区 8-16 点)
  • 电子邮件
  • 在线支援套件

在工作时间内,实时客服人员一般会告知获得答复需要等待的大致时间。对咨询问题的答复会通过两种途径发送,即 OVPN 聊天框(在 OVPN 网页上)和电子邮件。

无法即时得到支援有时会让我有点沮丧。如果我在周五遇到了问题,那意味着我必须等到周一才能从实时客服那里得到回复。就算在他们的工作时间内,通常也要等很久才能获得帮助。

对OVPN的有限实时聊天支持的屏幕截图

OVPN 支援的等待时间有时长达数小时甚至数日

要想选用更好的产品,我推荐 NordVPN,它提供 24/7 全天候实时客服,帮助用户尽快解决技术问题。锦上添花的是,他们的客服还支持中文。

支持为何重要?

并不是只有在安装VPN时才需要有好的顾客支持,在其他情况下也常会需要。譬如说,当您要连接到某个特定的伺服器后、想改变安全协议的时候、或是想配置您的路由器的时候,顾客支持都能派上用场。我们会检查所有的VPN,以确保所有的VPN都可以使用(即使是在深夜)。我们也会检测所有VPN的速度,以及他们的反应速度。

价格6.5

OVPN 的价格与市场上其他供应商差不多,但是比很多竞品稍贵一些。若想找一款功能相似、价格更低的 VPN,有些公司服务质量相近,还提供 30 天免费试用。

OVPN定价选项的屏幕截图

OVPN 的会员费用和其他 VPN 相似

尽管一些 VPN 评测网站声称 OVPN 没有退款保证,但我知道事实并非如此。它所有价位的套餐都提供 10 天退款保证,因此大家可以放心试用。

我在 10 天试用期的第 8 天取消了订阅,客服团队没有给我压力劝我继续使用。客服人员询问了关于如何改进服务的反馈,并提供了可能有助于解决问题的技巧。当我继续表明要取消订阅时,他们没有试图劝我留下,立即受理了退款。聊天结束后,我基本上立即收到了带有聊天记录和退款确认的跟进邮件。

通过OVPN实时聊天成功退款请求的屏幕截图

OVPN 客服人员很快帮我处理了退款申请

退款过程中我最喜欢的一点在于,个人隐私和安全仍然继续得到保障。为确认用户身份,客服会要求提供一个一次性使用的代码,登录账户后可以在个人资料页找到该代码。由于注册 OVPN 账户不需要提供电子邮件,付款也可以不用信用卡,这种方法可以有效确保用户和客服的所有对话都是安全的

OVPN一次性代码的屏幕快照,用于在取消订阅过程中验证身份

联系 OVPN 客服需要提供一个一次性使用的代码,因此用户数据很安全

我推荐大家亲自使用 OVPN,看看它适不适合自己。取消订阅这么简单,因此就算用户体验不佳,停止使用它也不会面对任何压力。

OVPN 提供以下方案

最终结论

OVPN 的实用性在多方面都让人失望,包括连接、网速和各大流媒体的解锁能力。不过,它的最大亮点在于,严格信守对用户安全和隐私的承诺。从无日志政策和 1 年套餐支持现金付款可以看出,OVPN 尽其所能地保障用户身份匿名

常见问题解答

OVPN 划不划算?

普通用户最关心的是网速和热门流媒体的解锁能力,对他们而言,OVPN 并不合适,因为高级 VPN 能够提供更好的功能。超强匿名性是 OVPN 的一大卖点,但是大多数用户不需要这一项。

使用 VPN 本应不需要用户花费太大力气,但是 OVPN 做不到这一点。由于连接断开,我只得关掉软件,以便完成 Google Drive 的下载和电子邮件的发送。

总的来说,我更推荐大家免费试用 NordVPN 的功能 30 天。它可以让用户不间断地浏览,解锁所有受欢迎的流媒体,而且价格和 OVPN 相同,还提供 30 天退款保证。

OVPN 能否免费使用?

能,OVPN 提供 10 天退款保证,订阅任何套餐都可以在前 10 天免费试用。试用后,若不再需要 OVPN 的服务,或者对其服务不满,可以通过电子邮件或实时聊天联系客服团队取消订阅。

取消订阅的唯一麻烦在于,需要确保及时联系上客服团队。如前文所述,OVPN 的支援时间有限,所以一定要提前做好相应的计划。

OVPN 是否真正安全?

OVPN 以其安全措施为骄傲。大家可以放心,连接 OVPN 上网期间,个人

OVPN Review 2021: Before You Buy, Is It Worth It?

What do we look at?

Disclosures:
Our Reviews

WizCase includes reviews written by our experts. They evaluate the products/services in accordance with their professional standards.

Ownership

Kape Technologies PLC, the parent company of Wizcase, owns CyberGhost, ZenMate, Private Internet Access, and Intego, which may be reviewed on this website.

Referral fees

Wizcase may earn an affiliate commission when a purchase is made using our links. However, this has no influence on the content of the reviews we publish or on the products/services reviewed. Our content may include direct links to buy products that are part of affiliate programs.

Reviews standards

All reviews published on Wizcase meet our strict reviewing standards, in order to ensure that each review is based on the reviewer's independent, honest, and professional examination of the product/service. Such standards require the reviewer to consider the technical qualities and characteristics of the product alongside its commercial value for users, which may affect the product's ranking on the website.

OVPN Overview October 2021

As one of few VPN providers with a court victory as proof of its commitment to keep your identity safe, OVPN designed its entire infrastructure with security and privacy, including a no-log policy and RAM-based memory in its servers.

After testing, I found that OVPN just isn’t as good as some of its competitors. I struggled to work around slow internet connections and had limitations on how I could protect my browsing habits. What was even more troublesome was that it’s impossible to get support on the weekends or at night during my time zone, so I had to send emails with my questions and sometimes wait for a few days for a response. I don’t recommend it due to its manual setup, slow connections, and the lack of 24/7 support.

Don’t Have Time? Here’s a 1-Minute Summary

OVPN Unblocks Netflix, Disney+, Hulu, and Amazon Prime Video, But Can’t Access HBO or BBC iPlayer

I tried connecting OVPN to all of the major streaming services, including Netflix, Hulu, Disney+, HBO NOW, BBC iPlayer, and the UK’s live TV service, ITV Hub. Overall, most services were unblocked except HBO and BBC iPlayer.

Netflix: Unblocked

While some VPN providers won’t allow you to bypass the Netflix proxy error, every OVPN US-based server I tried was consistently able to access Netflix’s US platforms. You don’t have to worry about streaming issues while watching Netflix with OVPN.

Overall, shows and movies played smoothly — I only experienced lagging or jittery video when I was using a server that was overcrowded or far away from my physical location. I had better speeds with the servers in New York than Los Angeles that was over 2,000 miles away. You can also access location-specific Netflix content for the UK, Germany, Spain, and Sweden by switching to each of these country servers.

Screenshot of OVPN unblocking Netflix

I was able to watch Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt on Netflix without lag using OVPN

HBO NOW and BBC iPlayer: Blocked

I tested all 7 of OVPN’s available servers in the US to try and get a working connection for HBO NOW. However, every test resulted in a vague error message. After I turned off the VPN to test the US server, I confirmed that HBO NOW wasn’t having an outage, but was rather blocking access to the VPN.

Screenshot of OVPN getting blocked by HBO

HBO kept getting a service error while connected to OVPN

Similarly, if you’re trying to catch up on your favorite British TV show, OVPN isn’t the provider for you. When I used both the recommended UK server and manually selected a server, BBC iPlayer blocked my connection each time I tested OVPN’s service.

Screenshot of OVPN getting blocked by BBC iPlayer

Despite using a London-Based Server, BBC iPlayer still blocks OVPN

If you need to unblock HBO NOW and BBC iPlayer, you can easily bypass georestrictions with NordVPN.

Speed6.0

Although OVPN was fast enough for data-intensive online activities, it was slower than my normal speeds without a VPN. While I usually have 200Mbps download speed, I was able to use only half of that speed when using OVPN’s most recommended server during my tests. Despite that decline, OVPN provides download speeds fast enough to support HD streaming and gaming.

When I ran all of my speed tests from my home outside of New York City, I had the fastest speeds when working with a closer server. I expected this as local servers will have faster connection rates, but the decline of connectivity was more drastic than with other VPNs I’ve tested like ExpressVPN.

The best way to ensure the fastest speeds with OVPN is to use its recommended server. When logging into the service, select its “Choose the Best Server automatically.” Using the recommended server often gave me a boost of an additional 10Mbps or more.

The hardest part about using OVPN was seeing my connection speeds drop from 200Mbps (which I get normally without a VPN) to less than 100Mbps. I had particularly slow speeds with servers in the UK and Australia, which reduced my speeds to 26Mbps and 11Mbps, respectively. This impacted my ability to multitask on data-intensive activities like streaming, video calls, and torrenting, and severely increased download times for files.

Screenshot of 4 speed tests while connected to OVPN

OVPN’s speeds were slower than my normal speeds without a VPN

If you need a VPN that can improve your speeds, I recommend that you try ExpressVPN to stream, torrent, and video chat at the same time without any lags.

Why Most Speed Tests are Pointless & How We Correctly Test VPN Speeds

Speed determines how fast content uploads, so if you're torrenting or streaming, you want the speed to be somewhat identical to your regular internet speed. Since a VPN encrypts your data, it usually takes a bit longer to send your data back and forth, which can slow down your connection. However, if your ISP deliberately slows down your connection (also known as throttling) a VPN might increase your internet speed. Testing a VPN is somewhat pointless because new servers pop up and affect speed. Your speed can also differ according to your location, so your speed test might not match ours. Having said that, we tested the speed in numerous locations to provide you with the average.

Servers5.5

Server Network — Limited Server Availability With Slow Connection

OVPN has about 90 servers in over 15 countries. This gives its users access to over 2,000 individual IP addresses, ensuring that you have added anonymity when you browse the internet.

With so many IP addresses, this means you’re unlikely to get the same IP address twice when using OVPN. This helps ensure that your identity is kept private from third-parties.

OVPN is also one of the few providers offering IPv6 addresses, which are more secure than IPv4, and provide a faster user experience. IPv6 addresses are used primarily in mobile browsing, which is particularly useful if you extensively use the internet on your phone or tablet.

While testing different servers across OVPN, I experienced relatively slow connection times of over 10 seconds, but some extending past 30 seconds in loading time. If a connection takes over 60 seconds, OVPN will terminate the connection and help you reconnect, which usually goes faster after the first time. These connection times are very slow, especially compared to NordVPN, which boasts connection times often under 5 seconds.

Server Location Connection Problems Connection Time (seconds)
Austria Yes (failed connection once) 16.2
Australia No 14.3
France No 17.1
Japan No 42.8
Singapore No 14.0
UK No 16.0
USA Yes (failed connection once) 12.9

Security — Implements State-of-the-Art Security Measures

From using RAM memory in all its servers to log-free software, your information is secure through all phases of the service. As traffic is filtered through its servers, there’s no way to record user traffic into long-term logs. Utilizing this technology puts OVPN ahead of the curve as a short-term storage solution.

The service features a kill switch on both its desktop, browser, and apps. While it was a little difficult to find the OVPN app in the Google Play store, I was able to enjoy the same security that I enjoy on my computer on my mobile device after I downloaded and installed the app.

OVPN also offers Wireguard in over 20 of their servers around the world. Wireguard is a VPN protocol that is more secure than the OpenVPN protocol that most providers build their service around. It started expanding its network in February 2020,

I was a little disappointed that OVPN doesn’t have an ad blocker in their desktop application. It does have an ad blocker in its browser extensions, but only offers coverage for Chrome, Firefox, Vivaldi and Opera browsers. When using the extension, I found that its true ad-blocking ability was a little touch-and-go, and not entirely consistent with its performance.

One feature I’m excited about is OVPN’s Multihop service. If you’re really concerned about your internet privacy, Multihop connects you to multiple servers at the same time, making you harder to trace. This feature does have an additional cost, and is a $5 add on to your regular subscription.

Privacy — Goes the Extra Mile to Keep You Anonymous

OVPN’s major selling point is its focus on security and has several ways that it works to maintain the privacy of its users. In addition to a no-logs policy, OVPN doesn’t require an email to sign up and you can even anonymize your payments. It accepts Bitcoin and cash to ensure its clients can pay anonymously.

The company has even fought for the privacy of its customers in Swedish court. OVPN won the right to refuse turning over user logs for its IPV-4 server to protect client data. It proudly states on its security page that it took out an insurance policy to maintain its ability to keep internet browsing private and safe for its users. I tested this by connecting to several OVPN servers and connecting to DNSLeakTest.com. Each time I ran this test, I was happy to see that there were no leaks and my identity was secure.

Screenshot of OVPN passing a DNS leak test

My real location was hidden with OVPN’s servers

This privacy commitment is particularly important because OVPN is based in Sweden, a member of the 9 and 14 Eyes intelligence alliance. While this agreement means that OVPN technically needs to share intelligence information with other countries in the alliance, they are unable to share that information because they don’t store it.

While setting up the mobile app on my Android device, I noticed that OpenVPN mentions that it keeps logs on your local device that may be shared with support staff. It’s up to the user to review this log as it may contain personally identifying information. These logs are easy to access and scan for personal information and you can delete them at any time.

OVPN wants to keep all of its users in the know when it comes to whats going on with their accounts. As a result, it publishes monthly transparency reports that have information like service interruptions and operation statistics for everyone to see. By keeping information like this transparent, you can have peace of mind that OVPN is doing what it can to keep its customers safe.

Torrenting — Provides Support to Help Maximize Speeds

OVPN seems to support P2P sharing and torrenting on any of its servers. It even has an article on its blog to help you maximize your speeds for torrenting.

To get the best speeds for torrenting or P2P sharing, OVPN suggests opening ports on its network that are normally closed for security reasons to help increase your connection speed. To ensure your connection stays secure while opening ports, you should also turn on port forwarding.

Screenshot of port forwarding option on OVPN

Port forwarding is set up on OVPN’s website under Account Settings

You can open up to seven ports on OVPN’s network. The support help center stipulates that these ports can only be between 48152 and 65535.

Does OVPN Work in China? — Supports Users in China Through Servers in Singapore

OVPN’s Customer Support claims that OVPN works in China, but customers have reported problems with some of the servers being blocked by the government. The team suggests the server in Singapore as the best choice for customers who are traveling or live in China.

The OVPN team also suggested downloading software, downloading the app, and the OpenVPN GUI client before going to China. The OpenVPN client allows for manual configurations that can be modified on the spot if you’re having trouble connecting to its service.

Screenshot of live chat with OVPN about whether servers work in China

OVPN’s support team provided useful insight on getting around government censorship in China

With limited servers available to customers in China and reliance on another client for practical use, OVPN isn’t the best choice for frequent travelers. You can find more reliable options with these best VPNs for China.

Server Locations

Australia
Austria
Canada
Denmark
Finland
France
Germany
Japan
Netherlands
Norway
Romania
Singapore
Sweden
Switzerland
United Kingdom
See all supported locations...

User Experience7.0

Simultaneous Device Connections — Connect up to 4 Devices at Once

You can have up to 4 devices at a time with one OVPN login, which can be limiting if you’re sharing your subscription with your friends or family. I connected my Windows Surface Pro 6, Android phone, my Chrome browser, and I still could’ve added one more. I didn’t see any drops in service even with multiple devices connected. As a better alternative, you can get unlimited device connections with Surfshark and try it for free for 30 days.

Device Compatibility — Apps for the Most Popular Computers and Devices

OVPN supports several devices, including desktop computers, mobile devices, routers, and browser extensions for Chrome and Firefox. However, it offers limited protections for smart devices such as TVs and gaming consoles. While I frequently use Xbox and Chromecast to stream, OVPN doesn’t support these devices.

When I tried to get the OVPN app on my phone at first, I was directed to download the OpenVPN client and upload a profile through that system. However, I was able to eventually find the OVPN app by going directly to its site. If you search OVPN in the Google Play Store, it’s the 21st entry to come up in the list.

After downloading the app, connecting to a nearby server was easy. All I had to do was sign in with my OVPN credentials and tap the logo to get connected.

Ease of Set-Up & Installation — Straightforward and Familiar for Consumers

Installing OVPN was easy. Once you finish selecting your payment method, OVPN’s website directs you to its “Apps” page with every application it offers. Simply click the application that works best for your operating system and download it from there.

Screenshot of OVPN's app options

You can download any version of the OVPN client from its Apps page

Screenshot of OVPN's set up wizard

After downloading the OVPN client, run the Setup Wizard to install the program

Once you download the app, it’s easy to login and get connected in minutes.

Screenshot of OVPN's log in process on mobile

Using the OVPN app was straightforward and simple

Uninstalling was easy using the Windows Uninstall process in Programs and Features. Remember to uninstall the OpenVPN TAP client for Windows as well, as this is often included in your installation of OVPN. It’s even easier on Android: simply take the OpenVPN client and drag it to the top of the screen into the Uninstall trash can.

Support2.0

Reaching OVPN’s support team can be a little tricky, as it’s only available during its 8am-4pm Swedish working hours. You can get support in 3 ways:

  • Live chat between 8am and 4pm GMT+2
  • Email
  • Online support suite

During business hours, the live chat client generally provides an estimate of when you should expect a response from an agent. Answers to your questions are sent both in the OVPN chat (which is on the OVPN webpage) and by email.

I found the inability to get on-demand support a little stressful at times. If I had an error on Friday, that meant I had to wait until Monday to get a response from live support. Even during support hours, it was often a long wait to get assistance.

Screenshot of limited live chat support for OVPN

Sometimes wait times for OVPN support took hours or days

For a better alternative, I recommend NordVPN’s 24/7 live chat support to help with your technical issues as soon as they happen.

How We Test Customer Support and Why Should You Care

We personally test the customer support team of every VPN we review. This means asking technical question through the live chat feature (where applicable) and measuring the response time for email questions. Whether you need to connect to a specific server, change your security protocol, or configure a VPN on your router, finding a VPN with quality customer support should be important to you.

Pricing6.5

OVPN’s pricing is comparable to other providers in the marketplace, although it’s slightly more expensive than many of its competitors. For those looking for a VPN with similar functionality at a lower cost, there are several companies offering comparable services for free for 30 days.

Screenshot of OVPN's pricing options

OVPN’s membership rates are competitive with other VPNs

While some VPN review blogs claim OVPN doesn’t have a money-back guarantee, I know this isn’t true. It offers a 10-day money-back guarantee on all of its pricing plans, so you can try the service worry-free.

I cancelled my OVPN subscription on the 8th day of my 10-day trial period and had no pressure from the support team to keep it. The agent asked for feedback about what could be done to improve the service and offered troubleshooting tips that might help. When I proceeded to cancel my subscription, they offered no pushback and issued a refund immediately. I received a follow-up email with my chat transcript and confirmation of my refund almost immediately after the chat.

Screenshot of a successful refund request through OVPN's live chat

OVPN’s customer service agent was helpful in completing my refund request

My favorite part of the cancellation process is the continued commitment to personal privacy and security. To verify your identity, the OVPN support team asks for a single-use code which you can get by logging into your account and going to your profile page. Since OVPN doesn’t require an email to create an account or credit cards to pay, this is a great way to ensure all interactions with customer support are secure.

Screenshot of OVPN's one-time code to verify identity during the subscription cancellation process

Your data is secure by requiring a one-time code to work with OVPN support

I recommend trying OVPN to see if it works for you. With this easy cancellation process, there’s no pressure to keep it if you aren’t satisfied with your experience.

OVPN offers the following plans

Final Verdict

OVPN suffers in its usability features, such as connection, internet speeds, and access to the majority of popular streaming sites. However, its best feature is its serious commitment to your security and privacy. From its no-log policies and the ability to pay for a 1-year subscription in cash, OVPN goes out of its way to keep your identity anonymous.

Common FAQs

? Is OVPN worth getting?

For the regular user who’s primarily concerned with fast internet speeds and access to the most popular streaming sites, OVPN falls short compared to the better features you can get from a premium VPN. Most users won’t need the airtight anonymity provided by OVPN, although it’s a great selling point for this company.

Working with a VPN should work well without much user effort, but this experience falls sh