CactusVPN评测 2021:是否值得购买?

我們該檢視什麼?

公开声明:
推荐费

使用我们的链接进行购买时,Wizcase可能会赚取关联佣金。但是,这对我们发布的测评内容或测评的产品或服务没有任何影响。我们的内容可能包含购买关联计划产品的直接链接。

所有权

Wizcase的母公司Kape Technologies PLC拥有CyberGhost、ZenMate、Private Internet Access和Intego,我们网站可能测评这些产品。

我们的测评

Wizcase包含由我们的社区评论员撰写的测评,这些测评都是基于评论员对产品进行的独立、专业的测试和检查。

测评标准

Wizcase上发布的所有测评都符合我们严格的测评标准,以确保每一篇测评文章都是基于测评员对产品或服务开展的独立、诚实和专业的检查。这些标准要求测评员不仅要考虑产品的技术质量和特性,还要考虑其对用户的商业价值,这可能影响产品在网站上的排名。

CactusVPN总览 四月 2021

CactusVPN 是一家位于摩尔多瓦的安全 VPN,但是相较于规模更大的供应商,它的表现差强人意。

它算是物有所值,有一些亮点:智能 DNS 功能使之非常适合解锁全球各地的流媒体服务;下载流程易于操作,用户体验良好;还是少有的支持加密货币付款的 VPN 之一。

然而,它在隐私方面不够可靠,服务器不稳定,网速太慢,造成了种种限制。大家若想亲自体验一下,可以免费试用 30 天。

赶时间?1 分钟摘要在此

CactusVPN 能解锁 Netflix、Hulu、Disney+、BBC iPlayer 和 HBO NOW

VPN 最吸引人的功能之一便是解锁各大流媒体平台上的地域限定内容。CactusVPN 也能破解地域限制,但问题来了:用户必须使用智能 DNS 功能来解锁热门流媒体,而此功能本质上是一种纯流媒体模式,安全性略弱于 CactusVPN 的常规服务器。最大的问题在于,智能 DNS 使用原本的 IP 地址连接服务器,而不更换为新的 IP。而且,智能 DNS 只有 4 个服务器,分别位于美国、欧洲、亚洲和澳大利亚。

Netflix:解锁成功

我进行了 5 轮测试,用 CactusVPN 的不同服务器解锁 Netflix 美国区、英国区和澳大利亚区的影视库。我遇到了一些连接上的小问题,不过清除浏览器 cookie 后,这些问题立即就解决了。之后,我成功突破了地域限制,无论在哪儿都能看《摩登家庭》了。

连接了CactusVPN的Modern Family屏幕快照成功在Netflix上流式传输

有了 CactusVPN,随时都能观看国外 Netflix 的影视节目

Hulu:解锁成功

连接 CactusVPN 位于美国的智能 DNS 服务器后,我在美国境外成功解决了 Hulu 的地域限制。为确保服务器稳定,我进行了几次连接测试,随后零缓冲、零卡顿地观看了《瑞克和莫蒂》。

连接了CactusVPN的Rick和Morty在Hulu上成功流式传输的屏幕截图

用 CactusVPN 解决 Hulu 的地域限制,观看热门影视

Disney +:解锁成功

Disney+ 仅在部分地区提供服务,主要是欧洲、大洋洲的国家和美国。有了欧洲和美国的智能 DNS 服务器,地域限制便不再成问题。我测试了几次,能在 Disney+ 上顺利观看《汉密尔顿》等影视节目。

汉密尔顿在连接CactusVPN的情况下在迪士尼+上成功流式传输的屏幕截图

访问 Disney 经久不衰的各种影视节目

BBC iPlayer:解锁成功

我连着欧洲的智能 DNS 服务器,绕过了英国的地域限制。在反复测试确保服务器稳定后,我非常流畅地观看了 BBC iPlayer 影视库中的节目,比如《格拉汉姆·诺顿秀》。

连接了CactusVPN的BBC iPlayer上成功播放了Graham Norton Show的屏幕截图

CactusVPN 可以访问 BBC iPlayer 的全部影视节目

HBO NOW:解锁成功

HBO NOW 仅在美国提供服务,不过连接美国的智能 DNS 服务器即可解决地域限制。经过几次连接测试后,我成功看上了 HBO NOW 的影视节目,比如《权力的游戏》,没有任何卡顿。

连接了CactusVPN的《权力的游戏》屏幕截图成功在HBO上流式传输

用 CactusVPN 可以访问 HBO NOW 的美国独播影视,观看热门剧集

重要須知

Moldova
2011
3
30 保證天數

联络资料

[email protected]
www.CactusVPN.com

速度6.0

CactusVPN 速度如何?(有待进步)

在我试用过的 VPN 中,CactusVPN 速度较慢——玩《我们之中》等热门游戏时,由于 ping 值高、网速慢,我不断地掉线;边读网络文章边看 YouTube 视频时,网络也不稳定,延迟时间从 5 秒到 30 秒不等。

速度测试结果

我在我家平均 30Mbps 的 WiFi 网络中测试了所有服务器,其中美国和荷兰服务器的速度虽有减慢(分别为 17Mbps 和 10Mbps),但仍能满足基本浏览需求

香港和印度服务器的平均速度分别为 7Mbps 和 4Mbps,只够浏览网页。哪怕在 YouTube 这个最不费流量的流媒体上看视频,也会从头到尾都有缓冲。

CactusVPN普通服务器上速度慢的屏幕截图

CactusVPN 速度慢得只够基本的浏览

我测试了 CactusVPN 的智能 DNS 服务器,想看看观看流媒体时的速度如何。结果没有让我失望,看高清版的影视节目没有缓冲。不同于常规服务器,所有地点的智能 DNS 服务器速度都又快又稳定。

连接到CactusVPN的智能DNS服务器时的4个速度测试的屏幕截图

CactusVPN 的智能 DNS 功能让用户零缓冲、零卡顿地观看流媒体

为何大多数的速度测试都无意义以及我们如何正确地测试VPN速度

影响VPN速度的因素有很多种,但同时也使许多的速度测试没有意义。由于VPN会加密你的数据,使得一来一往的数据传输花费更多时间,造成连接速度缓慢。然而,若ISP刻意减慢你的连线速度(又称为节流),VPN或许可以加快您网路的连线速度。 增加新的服务器至互联网也可能会影响速度。根据您所在的位置,测试结果也可能会有所不同,因此您的速度通常可能与我们的速度有所不同。 我们的速度测试为非常可靠的基准,因为我们会在多个位置上测试其速度,为你提供更完整的依据,使其对所有用户更具可相比性。

服务器4.0

Server Network — 30+ Servers Across 20+ Countries

With its limited number of servers, CactusVPN can’t quite keep up with the steady connections that premium VPNs offer. During my tests, I frequently had to spend 5 minutes trying to connect to a working server on multiple occasions. The delays were caused by server strain — since there are few servers available, they have increased latency and slower speeds.

Another issue I came across was that CactusVPN disconnected from the server at random moments. Follow up attempts to reconnect resulted in unavailable servers. I restarted the application multiple times to fix this, but this was only a temporary solution as I could never get a stable long-term connection.

Security — Military-Grade Encryption

When it comes to its security, CactusVPN is keeping up with premium providers. It comes with 7 different VPN protocols: OpenVPN (TCP & UDP), Wireguard, SSTP, SoftEther, IKEv2, L2TP/IPSec, and PPTP. You’ll feel secure surfing the web as it protects your data with industry-standard protection.

While its smart DNS feature doesn’t come protected by default, you can activate DNS leak protection to encrypt your data.

Screenshot showing how to enable DNS leak protection

With smart DNS enabled, you can stream videos without fear of data breaches

One other warning is regarding CactusVPN’s kill switch: it doesn’t come pre-activated. You have to go to the settings configurations and toggle the switch. The setup for this takes a few seconds, making it very simple and easy.

Screenshot showing how to manually activate CactusVPN's kill switch

Enable the kill switch to prevent data from being sent through an unsecured connection

As the flaws have solutions, I’d recommend CactusVPN as a decent VPN for security.

Privacy — No Logs Guaranteed (Kind of)

CactusVPN boasts a no-logs guaranteed policy, putting them on par with big-name VPN providers. At least it would — after reaching out to customer support, I learned that CactusVPN never had an official audit of its no-logs guarantee. Without an official audit, there isn’t a guarantee that CactusVPN is upholding its no-logs policy.

Another flaw I noted is in a specific clause on its privacy policy. CactusVPN reserves the right to hand over your data to any government if requested by a court order.

Screenshot of CactusVPN's privacy policy that shows they will hand over your data

Your data isn’t 100% safe since CactusVPN might share your information for legal reasons

Torrenting — Limited

Torrenting is possible on limited servers indicated as P2P on the server drop-down menu. These servers are located in Germany, the Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, Latvia, and Romania.

Screenshot showing which servers are capable of torrenting

Connect to one of CactusVPN’s P2P servers to start torrenting

You have torrenting options with servers in Europe, but this isn’t ideal if you live anywhere else in the world. The further you get from a server’s location, the harder it is to maintain a fast and steady connection.

伺服器位址

au
br
ca
ch
de
es
fr
gb
hk
in
it
jp
lv
my
nl
查看所有有支援的地區...

使用者经验 7.0

可同时连接的设备数量:没有限制

其他 VPN 往往限制设备并发数,但 CactusVPN 允许用户在任意数量的设备上同时使用!

设备兼容性:兼容多平台

CactusVPN 在 Windows、Mac、iOS、安卓、Roku、Amazon Fire TV 等平台上都提供应用程序。它兼容的设备很多,因此用户可以灵活使用它的各项功能。

设置和安装的难易程度:简单,便捷

安装和卸载流程都很简单、便捷。

  1. 打开 CactusVPN 网站,前往安装页面。下载兼容当前设备的版本。
    屏幕截图显示了从其网站下载所需版本的CactusVPN的位置
  2. 选完下载的版本后,打开文件开始下载流程,一直点击“下一个”按钮,直到安装完成。
    屏幕截图显示了如何使用其安装向导安装CactusVPN
  3. 购买或选择免费试用后,设置新密码的邮件会发送至电子邮箱。
    屏幕快照显示来自CactusVPN的确认电子邮件,用于为您的帐户创建密码
  4. 在桌面上点击 CactusVPN 的图标,输入用户名和密码。
    屏幕快照显示了CactusVPN客户端上的登录屏幕
  5. 点击下拉菜单,在列表中选择要连接的服务器。选完后,点击“连接”按钮。若成功连接,按钮会变蓝。
    CactusVPN界面的屏幕快照,显示服务器选择下拉菜单
  6. 要想使用智能 DNS 功能,前往 DNS 一栏,点击“启动”。按钮变蓝即成功连接。
    CactusVPN界面屏幕截图,显示了如何启用智能DNS
  7. 试用完 CactusVPN 的功能后,若想卸载,Windows 用户可在搜索栏中输入“程序和功能”,在窗口中下滑找到 CactusVPN,然后点击“卸载”。
    该屏幕快照显示了如何从“应用程序和功能”菜单开始卸载CactusVPN的过程
  8. 点击所有的“同意”和“完成”按钮,直到 CactusVPN 从设备中移除。
    该屏幕快照显示了如何从卸载向导完成卸载CactusVPN

支援8.5

CactusVPN 提供多种支援方式:

  • 24/7 全天候在线客服
  • 邮件支持
  • 常见问题解答表格
  • 问题解决指南

试用期间,我在各个时段都向在线客服问过问题。客服团队秒回,给我的回复很有帮助。

屏幕截图显示了快速而有用的客户支持

客服人员耐心、乐于助人,全天都在帮我解决问题

支持为何重要?

并不是只有在安装VPN时才需要有好的顾客支持,在其他情况下也常会需要。譬如说,当您要连接到某个特定的伺服器后、想改变安全协议的时候、或是想配置您的路由器的时候,顾客支持都能派上用场。我们会检查所有的VPN,以确保所有的VPN都可以使用(即使是在深夜)。我们也会检测所有VPN的速度,以及他们的反应速度。

价格8.0

注意!要想获得退款,须向 CactusVPN 解释其服务不到位的原因;若他们认为原因不合理,则有权拒绝退款请求。

CactusVPN 虽有多种较便宜的套餐,但标准套餐是最佳选择。更便宜的套餐可以省钱,却会按地区限制用户可以访问的服务器数量,还不包括智能 DNS 功能。标准套餐的用户则可以访问全球所有服务器,使用智能 DNS 功能,而且套餐价格还有折扣。

购买 CactusVPN 可以使用主流信用卡、PayPal、比特币和以太币等加密货币、支付宝等。30 天退款保证覆盖所有付款方式和套餐。

和其他 VPN 相比,CactusVPN 定价合理。如果你不放心花钱购买自己不了解的服务,可以免费试用 CactusVPN 3 天——不需要提供信用卡!

CactusVPN 提供以下方案

最终结论

经过详细测试,CactusVPN 既非一流,也非末流。它的主要卖点是流媒体解锁能力和加密功能,但弱点在于私密性和稳定性。它还声称代理工具 obfsproxy 使之在中国可用,但我无法测试和确认这一点。

很多 VPN 都有更多的全球服务器和值得信赖的隐私保护记录,不过大家可以利用 CactusVPN 的 3 天免费试用期,零风险亲自体验。

常见问题解答

CactusVPN 好不好用?

如果你需要功能齐全的 VPN,CactusVPN 并非最佳选择。它无法满足高速、服务器稳定等需求。不过,如果你只希望 VPN 价格合理、能解锁限制地域的网站和流媒体服务、安全性高,那么 CactusVPN 或许适合你。

要想选择更好的,可以看看这些能轻松解决 Netflix 等流媒体的地域限制的 VPN,它们同时也能保持快速、稳定。

如何免费获取 CactusVPN?

注册免费试用有点困难——入口不在主页上,因此有必要在谷歌上搜索免费试用。

屏幕截图显示了如何在Google上找到CactusVPN免费试用版
屏幕截图显示了如何注册CactusVPN免费试用版

3 天免费试用期间,应用程序中的所有功能均可使用,没有任何限制,因此用户可以全面感知这款 VPN。要注册 3 天免费试用,只需填写工作邮箱。

如果你打算购买 CactusVPN,要记住你得证明其服务不到位,才能拿到退款。尽管供应商通常会询问用户为何要取消订阅,并提出帮忙解决问题,但是很少会像 CactusVPN 这样,可能拒绝用户的退款请求。

如果你不想面对这种麻烦,我建议你试用这些免费 VPN,它们的取消政策更简便。

使用 CactusVPN 能否保障网络安全?

能,CactusVPN 的军用级加密技术可以保障用户数据安全。就流媒体观看和网页浏览而言,要多安全有多安全。但是,CactusVPN 可能会应法律要求,分享用户数据

确保安全、匿名地上网是使用 VPN 的主要原因之一,而 CactusVPN 既无法保证实行无日志政策,也不承诺用户数据 100% 私密。虽然匿名性和私密性得不到保证,但是它所提供的网络连接足够安全,可以保护用户免受黑客和其他第三方的攻击。

如果你担心个人信息在网上泄露,可以试试这些安全的 VPN,它们已被证明确实能保护设备和敏感信息。

亲自试用 CactusVPN!

比較選項

9.8 / 10
拜访
9.5 / 10
拜访
9.4 / 10
拜访
CactusVPN
6.7  / 10

分享& 支持

WizCase是一个独立的评论网站。我们由读者支持,因此用户通过我们网站上的链接购买产品时,我们可能会收取佣金。用户无需为在我们网站上购买的商品支付任何额外费用——我们的佣金直接来自产品所有者。

支持WizCase,帮助我们确保提供诚实公正的意见。分享我们的网站以支持我们!

CactusVPN Review 2021: Before You Buy, Is It Worth It?

What do we look at?

CactusVPN Overview February 2021

CactusVPN is a secure VPN based in Moldova, but it doesn’t quite measure up when compared to larger providers.

For the price you pay, CactusVPN has some useful features — it’s a good choice for unblocking global streaming services with its smart DNS feature. With an easy to follow download process, it provides a straightforward user experience. It’s also one of the few VPNs that allows you to pay for your subscription with cryptocurrencies.

However, its lack of credibility on privacy, unstable servers, and slow internet speeds are too limiting. If you want to test it yourself, you can try it for free for 30 days.

Don’t Have Time? Here’s a 1-Minute Summary

CactusVPN Can Unblock Netflix, Hulu, Disney+, BBC iPlayer, and HBO NOW

One of the most appealing features of any VPN is its ability to unblock region-locked content on major streaming platforms. CactusVPN is also capable of bypassing location restrictions, but there’s a catch — you have to use its smart DNS feature to unblock popular streaming services. This is essentially a streaming-only mode, but has slightly weaker security features than CactusVPN’s regular servers. The biggest concern is that the smart DNS uses your IP address to connect to its servers rather than changing to a new IP location. Also, smart DNS only has 4 servers: America, Europe, Asia, and Australia.

Netflix: Unblocked

I ran 5 rounds of tests from CactusVPN servers with Netflix libraries in the US, the UK, and Australia. There were some slight connection issues which resolved once I cleared the cookies from my browser. Then I was able to bypass the geoblock to watch shows like Modern Family from anywhere.

Screenshot of Modern Family successfully streaming on Netflix with CactusVPN connected

You can watch shows from foreign Netflix libraries anytime with CactusVPN

Hulu: Unblocked

By connecting to CactusVPN’s smart DNS server located in the US, I could bypass Hulu’s geoblock from abroad. After a few connection tests to ensure server stability, I was able to watch Rick and Morty without any buffering or delays.

Screenshot of Rick and Morty successfully streaming on Hulu with CactusVPN connected

Slip past Hulu’s region-lock to watch hit shows with CactusVPN

Disney +: Unblocked

Disney+ is only available in limited regions, mostly in Europe, Oceania, and the US. By connecting to smart DNS servers in Europe and America, the region-block was no longer an issue. I tested this several times and was able to watch Disney movies like Hamilton without problems.

Screenshot of Hamilton successfully streaming on Disney+ with CactusVPN connected

Get access to Disney’s collection of timeless films

BBC iPlayer: Unblocked

I bypassed the UK location block by connecting to the smart DNS server in Europe. After repeatedly testing to ensure the server was stable, I seamlessly watched shows from the BBC iPlayer’s library like The Graham Norton Show.

Screenshot of The Graham Norton Show successfully streaming on BBC iPlayer with CactusVPN connected

CactusVPN can access BBC iPlayer’s entire library

HBO NOW: Unblocked

HBO NOW is only available in the US, but I could get past that region-lock by connecting to the smart DNS server in the Americas. After a few connection tests, I was able to watch HBO NOW shows such as Game of Thrones without any interruptions.

Screenshot of Game of Thrones successfully streaming on HBO NOW with CactusVPN connected

You can get full access to HBO NOW’s US-only collection and watch popular series with CactusVPN

Important to know

Moldova
2011
No
3
30 days guaranteed

Contact Details

[email protected]
www.CactusVPN.com

Speed6.0

Does CactusVPN Have Good Speeds? (Could be Better)

CactusVPN is one of the slower VPNs I’ve tested — when playing popular games like Among Us, I kept getting disconnected due to high ping and low speeds. Reading online articles while watching YouTube wasn’t seamless either, with delays varying from 5 seconds to 30 seconds.

Speed Test Results

I tested all servers on my home WiFi network that averages 30Mbps. While speeds were lower in the US and the Netherlands (17Mbps for the US and 10Mbps for the Netherlands), they were still good enough for basic browsing.

Servers in Hong Kong and India also had speeds that weren’t capable of much outside of web browsing, with an average of 7Mbps and 4Mbps, respectively. Even YouTube videos — the least intense streaming platform — buffered throughout the video.

Screenshot of slow speeds on CactusVPN's normal servers

CactusVPN’s slow speeds is only fast enough for basic browsing

When I tested CactusVPN’s smart DNS servers to see how good the speeds were while streaming, I wasn’t disappointed since I could watch shows in HD without buffering. Unlike its standard servers, the smart DNS servers had high and stable speeds across all locations.

Screenshot of 4 speed tests while connected to CactusVPN's smart DNS servers

CactusVPN’s smart DNS feature helps you get buffer-free streaming with no delays

Why Most Speed Tests are Pointless & How We Correctly Test VPN Speeds

Speed determines how fast content uploads, so if you're torrenting or streaming, you want the speed to be somewhat identical to your regular internet speed. Since a VPN encrypts your data, it usually takes a bit longer to send your data back and forth, which can slow down your connection. However, if your ISP deliberately slows down your connection (also known as throttling) a VPN might increase your internet speed. Testing a VPN is somewhat pointless because new servers pop up and affect speed. Your speed can also differ according to your location, so your speed test might not match ours. Having said that, we tested the speed in numerous locations to provide you with the average.

Servers4.0

Server Network — 30+ Servers Across 20+ Countries

With its limited number of servers, CactusVPN can’t quite keep up with the steady connections that premium VPNs offer. During my tests, I frequently had to spend 5 minutes trying to connect to a working server on multiple occasions. The delays were caused by server strain — since there are few servers available, they have increased latency and slower speeds.

Another issue I came across was that CactusVPN disconnected from the server at random moments. Follow up attempts to reconnect resulted in unavailable servers. I restarted the application multiple times to fix this, but this was only a temporary solution as I could never get a stable long-term connection.

Security — Military-Grade Encryption

When it comes to its security, CactusVPN is keeping up with premium providers. It comes with 7 different VPN protocols: OpenVPN (TCP & UDP), Wireguard, SSTP, SoftEther, IKEv2, L2TP/IPSec, and PPTP. You’ll feel secure surfing the web as it protects your data with industry-standard protection.

While its smart DNS feature doesn’t come protected by default, you can activate DNS leak protection to encrypt your data.

Screenshot showing how to enable DNS leak protection

With smart DNS enabled, you can stream videos without fear of data breaches

One other warning is regarding CactusVPN’s kill switch: it doesn’t come pre-activated. You have to go to the settings configurations and toggle the switch. The setup for this takes a few seconds, making it very simple and easy.

Screenshot showing how to manually activate CactusVPN's kill switch

Enable the kill switch to prevent data from being sent through an unsecured connection

As the flaws have solutions, I’d recommend CactusVPN as a decent VPN for security.

Privacy — No Logs Guaranteed (Kind of)

CactusVPN boasts a no-logs guaranteed policy, putting them on par with big-name VPN providers. At least it would — after reaching out to customer support, I learned that CactusVPN never had an official audit of its no-logs guarantee. Without an official audit, there isn’t a guarantee that CactusVPN is upholding its no-logs policy.

Another flaw I noted is in a specific clause on its privacy policy. CactusVPN reserves the right to hand over your data to any government if requested by a court order.

Screenshot of CactusVPN's privacy policy that shows they will hand over your data

Your data isn’t 100% safe since CactusVPN might share your information for legal reasons

Torrenting — Limited

Torrenting is possible on limited servers indicated as P2P on the server drop-down menu. These servers are located in Germany, the Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, Latvia, and Romania.

Screenshot showing which servers are capable of torrenting

Connect to one of CactusVPN’s P2P servers to start torrenting

You have torrenting options with servers in Europe, but this isn’t ideal if you live anywhere else in the world. The further you get from a server’s location, the harder it is to maintain a fast and steady connection.

Server Locations

Australia
Brazil
Canada
France
Germany
Hong Kong
India
Italy
Japan
Latvia
Malaysia
Netherlands
Poland
Portugal
Romania
See all supported locations...

User Experience7.0

Simultaneous Device Connections — Unlimited

While other VPNs are limited in their device connections, CactusVPN allows you to use its services on any number of devices simultaneously!

Device Compatibility — Works on Multiple Platforms

CactusVPN has apps for Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, Roku, Amazon Fire TV, and more. With a wide array of device compatibility, CactusVPN offers you flexibility in using its features.

Ease of Set-Up & Installation — Easy and User Friendly

Both the installation and uninstallation processes are straightforward and user friendly.

  1. Make your way to the CactusVPN webpage and go to its installation page. Download the version that’s compatible with your device.
    Screenshot showing where to download the version of CactusVPN you want from its website
  2. Once you’ve chosen your download version, start the download process by opening the file and press the next button until installation is complete.
    Screenshot showing how to install CactusVPN using its installation wizard
  3. After your purchase or free trial, an email is sent to your inbox to create a new password.
    Screenshot showing confirmation email from CactusVPN to create a password for your account
  4. Click on the CactusVPN desktop icon and enter in your username and password.
    Screenshot showing login screen on the CactusVPN client
  5. Click on the drop-down menu to connect to any of the servers CactusVPN has listed. Once you’ve selected a server, press the “Connect” button. It will turn blue when it’s connected.
    Screenshot of CactusVPN interface showing server selection drop-down menu
  6. If you wish to use the smart DNS, navigate to the DNS tab, and click enable. Once the button turns blue, you’re connected.
    Screenshot of CactusVPN interface showing how to enable the smart DNS
  7. If you wish to uninstall after testing CactusVPN’s features, go to your search bar (for Windows users) and type in “Apps & features.” Your final step is navigating down to CactusVPN and clicking uninstall.
    Screenshot showing how to start the process of uninstalling CactusVPN from the Apps & features menu
  8. Click all of the “agree” and “finish” buttons until CactusVPN is no longer on your device.
    Screenshot showing how to finish uninstalling CactusVPN from the uninstallation wizard

Support8.5

CactusVPN is ready to help you in a variety of ways:

  • 24/7 live chat with a customer support representative
  • Email support
  • FAQ forms
  • Troubleshoot guides

I’ve been using the customer support live chat at all hours of the day to ask questions while testing the service. The support team was able to help me within seconds and provide useful responses.

Screenshot showing customer support being quick and helpful

Customer support was patient and helpful as they assisted me with questions I had throughout the day

How We Test Customer Support and Why Should You Care

We personally test the customer support team of every VPN we review. This means asking technical question through the live chat feature (where applicable) and measuring the response time for email questions. Whether you need to connect to a specific server, change your security protocol, or configure a VPN on your router, finding a VPN with quality customer support should be important to you.

Pricing8.0

Warning! If you want a refund, CactusVPN requires an explanation about how its services don’t work and have the right to refuse your request if they think your reason is invalid.

CactusVPN has various price plans for cheaper options, but the standard plan is the best choice. While cheaper plans save you money, they limit the number of servers you can access by region and don’t include the smart DNS feature. CactusVPN’s standard plan grants access to all servers around the world and comes equipped with the smart DNS feature, and it’s even sold at a discounted rate.

You can purchase CactusVPN with major credit cards, PayPal, cryptocurrencies like Bitcoin and Etherium, Alipay, and more. The 30-day money-back guarantee covers all payment options and plans.

Compared to other VPN providers, CactusVPN is reasonably priced. If you’re worried about risking your money on a service you’re not sure about, you can try CactusVPN for free for 3 days — no credit card required!

CactusVPN offers the following plans

Final Verdict

After extensive tests, CactusVPN is neither the best nor the worst VPN. The streaming capabilities and encryption are prime selling points, but it has weaknesses in privacy and reliability. It also claims to work in China through the obfsproxy method, though I wasn’t able to test and confirm this.

While there are plenty of VPNs with more global servers and trusted privacy practices, you can test CactusVPN’s 3-day free trial to try it yourself risk-free.

Common FAQs

🤔 Is CactusVPN any good?

If you’re looking for an all-around quality VPN, CactusVPN isn’t the best choice. It misses the mark in many areas like high speeds and stable servers. However, if you’re only interested in a reasonably priced VPN that can unblock geo-restricted websites and streaming services with high-quality security, CactusVPN might be good enough for you.

For a better alternative, you can check out these VPNs that can easily bypass geoblocks on Netflix and other streaming services, while still maintaining fast and reliable speeds.

🤑 How can I get CactusVPN for free?

Signing up for free is a bit tricky — it isn’t on its landing page, so a Google search for the free trial would be necessary.

Screenshot showing how to find the CactusVPN free trial on Google
Screenshot showing how to sign up for the CactusVPN free trial

The 3-day free-trial comes with all the full application features — nothing is restricted so that you can get a feel for this VPN. All you need is a working email to sign up for free for 3 days.

If you decide to purchase CactusVPN, just remember that you need to prove how its service doesn’t work to get your money back. While it’s common for providers to ask why you wish to cancel their services and help troubleshoot problems, not many would potentially refuse your request for a refund like CactusVPN will.

If you’d rather not deal with this inconvenience, I suggest that you try a free VPN that has an easier cancellation policy.

🤓 Am I going to be safe online while using CactusVPN?

Yes, CactusVPN will keep your data secure with its military-grade encryption. As far as streaming and web browsing go, you’ll be as safe as you can get. However, CactusVPN may hand over your data for legal requests.

One of the main reasons to get a VPN is to ensure secure and anonymous internet activity. CactusVPN can neither guarantee its no-logs policy nor say your data will 100% remain private. While you won’t be guaranteed anonymity and privacy, it will provide a safe enough internet connection to protect you from hackers and other third-parties.

If you’re worried about your personal details getting leaked online, you can try these secure VPNs that actually are proven to protect your devices and sensitive information.

Try CactusVPN for yourself today!

Compare with Alternatives

9.9 / 10
Visit
9.8 / 10
Visit
9.6 / 10
Visit
CactusVPN
6.7  / 10

Write a Review on CactusVPN

Please rate VPN.

Our users' trust is our #1 priority! Companies cannot pay to change or delete reviews.

Share & Support

WizCase is an independent review site. We are reader-supported so we may receive a commission when you buy through links on our site. You do not pay extra for anything you buy on our site — our commission comes directly from the product owner.

Support WizCase to help us guarantee honest and unbiased advice. Share our site to support us!