مراجعة Net Nanny لعام 2021: تطبيق جيد، فما عيبه؟

[email protected]
www.netnanny.com

ما الذي ننظر إليه؟

متوافق مع:

نظرة عامة على Net Nanny يناير 2021

هل يستحق Net Nanny الشراء حقًا بينما يمكنك العثور على تطبيقات أخرى للرقابة الأبوية بتكلفة أقل؟

بصفتي أبًا، كان عليَّ العثور على أفضل تطبيق للرقابة الأبوية تَسهُل إدارته ومتابعته. استعنت بأطفالي كعينات اختبار، فاشتريت أكثر من 50 تطبيقًا واستخدمتها على هواتفهم وأجهزتهم اللوحية وحاسوب العائلة، ثم صنفتها بناءً على الميزات ونقاط القوة والضعف وخدمة العملاء.

لأجل هذا الاختبار، اشتركت في الباقة التي تغطي 5 أجهزة، وقد وجدتها بسعر رائع على صفحة البرنامج للعروض الخفية، كما أن البرنامج متاح لجميع الأنظمة تقريبًا، لذا تمكنت من تثبيته على كل أجهزة أطفالي.

وجدت عند اختبار Net Nanny أنه يحتوي على أدوات مهمة للرقابة وإدارة الشاشة. بالتأكيد يمكنك العثور على بديل أرخص، لكني أرى أن من المنطقي أن أستثمر في منتج يعمل بالفعل ويفي بما يعد به. ومع ذلك لا تثق بكلامي ثقة عمياء، بل يمكنك أن تجربه بنفسك مجانًا لمدة 14 يومًا.

جرب Net Nanny مجانًا لمدة 14 يومًا!

لاحظ أن خاصية Net Nanny للبحث الآمن لا تدعم اللغة العربية، وهذا ينطبق على جميع تطبيقات الرقابة الأبوية التي اختبرتها تقريبًا، لذا فإن هذه المراجعة لا تتناول إلا الميزات الأخرى التي أعتقد أنها في الواقع أهم: مثل أدوات تقييد الشاشة، والتتبع بالـ GPS، وتقارير الأنشطة، والتي تعمل جيدًا بغض النظر عن لغتك. وعلى أي حال، أوصيك باختبار البرنامج قبل الالتزام بباقة، مستفيدًا من ضمان استرداد المال الذي يسري لمدة 14 يومًا.

كان عليَّ أن أتحقق من الميزات بنفسي وأختبر قدرتها على التحكم في الفترة التي يقضيها أطفالي محدقين في شاشاتهم، وإبقائي على اطلاع دائم بالمحتوى الذي يبحثون عنه ويشاهدونه. ومن الأشياء التي أعجبتني كثيرًا أنه حتى عندما كانت أجهزة الأطفال موقوفة مؤقتًا، ظل الهاتف وجهات الاتصال تعمل (مع احتفاظي بإمكانية حظرها إذا أردت أن يترك أطفالي هواتفهم)، وهذا يهمني كثيرًا لأنني حين اختبرت تطبيق Family Link من Google، لم يكن بإمكانهم الاتصال بي أو بزوجتي إلا إذا تذكروا رقمينا.

يستخدم Net Nanny الذكاء الاصطناعي لقراءة مواقع الويب واكتشاف المحتوى المشكوك فيه، فهو يفحص كل المواقع والروابط والعناوين التي يحاول الأطفال فتحها، كما أن مجموعة ميزاته تؤدي عملًا رائعًا في مراقبة أطفالي وتقييدهم وحمايتهم في أثناء استخدام أجهزتهم.

مع ذلك، أحبطتني خاصية مراقبة يوتيوب كثيرًا لعدة أسباب: أولًا، لأنها لم تتتبع أيًا من عمليات البحث عن الفيديو التي أجراها أطفالي من خلال تطبيق يوتيوب. وفي حين تتبعت بحثهم عندما أجروه من موقع YouTube.com، فقد عرَضَت في تبويب المقاطع التي شوهدت “Seen Videos” أنه لا توجد مشاهدات بعد، رغم أنني متأكد من أنهم شاهدوا مقاطع فيديو. وأخيرًا، في صفحة مستجدات العائلة “Family Feed”، ادعى البرنامج أنه قد حظر مقطع فيديو عن الأسلحة (كانوا يبحثون عن مقطع عن أسلحة لعبة بابجي)، رغم أني قد شاهدت الفيديو معهم، أي أني أعلم أنه لم يُحظر.

المميزات 9.9

على عكس الخدمات الأخرى (مثل Qustodio)، يقدم Net Nanny تطبيقًا لحساب الوالد وآخر لحساب الطفل، فيستطيع الطفل فتح التطبيق ومعرفة مقدار الوقت الذي استغرقه أمام الشاشة والمدة المتبقية، وهي طريقة ممتازة يتعلم بها ترشيد وقته. كذلك ففي التطبيق خيار لتفعيل الوضع غير المقيد “Enable Unrestricted Mode”، لكن الطفل سيحتاج إلى اسم المستخدم وكلمة المرور الخاصين بالأب لتفعيل هذا الخيار.

يمكن الوصول إلى جميع أدوات الرقابة الأبوية إما عبر تطبيق الهاتف أو من الحاسوب أو جهاز ماك. وبمجرد أن تسجل دخولك إلى لوحة التحكم، ستلقي نظرة عامة سريعة على استخدام طفلك للتطبيقات، وترى واجهة مبوبة تسمح للوالد بالاطلاع على عمليات البحث، وزمن استخدام الشاشة، وعمليات الحظر/التنبيهات، وسجل استخدام يوتيوب، والموقع الجغرافي، كما يمكنك إيقاف هواتف أطفالك مؤقتًا (مما يوقف استخدام جميع التطبيقات باستثناء الهاتف)، أو إيقاف تشغيل الإنترنت من لوحة التحكم.

صافي لوحة القيادة
توفر لوحة التحكم الأبوي نظرة عامة كاملة على زمن استخدام طفلك للشاشة

كل الأدوات التي تحتاج إليها لمراقبة أطفالك

  • مستجدات العائلة Family Feed: وجدت هذه الأداة مفيدة لأنها قدمت لي نظرة عامة على ما يفعله كل أطفالي دون الحاجة إلى التنقل بين ملفاتهم الشخصية كل على حدة.
  • عمليات البحث Searches: من المفترض أن توضح لك هذه الميزة ما يبحث عنه أطفالك على الإنترنت، لكني اكتشفت فيها عيبًا كبيرًا؛ فقد اختبرتها على هاتف ابني العامل بنظام أندرويد ولم تظهر أي من عمليات البحث التي أجراها من خلال تطبيق Google لا في لوحة التحكم ولا في Family Feed، فلم أرَ في تبويب عمليات البحث”Searches” إلا عمليات البحث التي أُجرِيت من خلال متصفح كروم أو المتصفح المثبت مسبقًا، لكن لم يظهر أي من عمليات البحث التي أجريت من خلال تطبيق Google.
  • الموقع Location: لم أُضطر أبدًا إلى التساؤل عن مكان أطفالي، فقد أظهرت لي أداة التتبع باستخدام الـ GPS مكان وجودهم على الخريطة. وفي البرنامج كذلك خيار السياج الجغرافي “Geofence”، لكنه بصراحة يحتاج إلى تحسينات؛ فهو يعتمد على سجل الموقع، وهذا مناسب إذا كنت أريد تنبيهًا بأن أطفالي وصلوا إلى المدرسة أو غادروها، لكنه لا يفيد إذا أردت تلقي تنبيهات عن أماكن لم يذهبوا إليها بعد. العيب الوحيد الذي وجدته في خاصية تتبع الموقع هو أن ابني كان قادرًا على إيقاف تشغيل الـ GPS على هاتفه وتغيير أذونات الموقع في تطبيق Net Nanny، لذا فإن هذه الخاصية تتطلب شيئًا من الثقة بينك وبين أطفالك حتى تكون فعالة.
  • وقت استخدام الشاشة Screentime: أعجبتني قدرتي على رؤية مقدار الوقت الذي يقضيه أطفالي أمام الشاشة يوميًا، وبإمكان هذه الميزة أن تكون أفضل إذا قدمت تفصيلًا لمقدار الوقت الذي أمضوه في استخدام كل تطبيق.إدارة وقت شاشة Net Nanny
  • مراقبة يوتيوب YouTube Monitoring: يُفترض أن تسجل هذه الخاصية جميع عمليات البحث والمشاهدات التي أجريت على تطبيق يوتيوب في لوحة التحكم، لكنها لا تمنع أي مقاطع فيديو أو تقيدها، كما يتم تفعيل وضع تقييد يوتيوب “YouTube Restricted Mode” عند استخدام موقع YouTube.com، مما يحظر مقاطع الفيديو استنادًا إلى أوصافها وعناوينها التعريفية. لكن -كما ذكرت سابقًا- ليس هذا ما حدث معي؛ إذ لم أرَ أيًا من عمليات البحث أو سجل المشاهدة على تطبيق يوتيوب، ولم تظهر لي سوى عمليات البحث التي أجريت على موقع YouTube.com دون أن أرى سجل المشاهدة.
  • عمليات الحظر والتنبيهات Blocks & Alerts: يختلف هذا القسم قليلًا عن مستجدات العائلة “Family Feed”؛ فبدلًا من تقديم نظرة عامة عن العائلة بأكملها، القسم مفصَّل لكل طفل على حدة. في البداية شعرت بالانزعاج عندما أخبرني التطبيق أنه قد حظر العديد من المواقع ومقاطع الفيديو على يوتيوب في حين كنت أعلم أنه لم يفعل ذلك، لذا أجريت بعض البحث ووجدت الإجابة في قسم Net Nanny للأسئلة الشائعة، ويبدو أنه قد منع أدوات التتبع والإعلانات المرتبطة بتلك الصفحات.
الأسئلة الشائعة حول Net Nanny

راقب أطفالك مع Net Nanny!

كيفية ضبط الفلاتر والحدود باستخدام Net Nanny

يسمح لك Net Nanny بوضع فلاتر على تطبيقات ومواقع ويب محددة وإنشاء فلاتر مخصصة، بالإضافة إلى فرض قيود على زمن استخدام الشاشة يوميًا. ولتبدأ، انقر على أيقونة التفضيلات “Preferences” في لوحة تحكم الأب لبدء تخصيص الرقابة والقيود على أجهزة أطفالك.

إعدادات Net Nanny
افتح تفضيلات Net Nanny وضَع القيود
  • تخصيص وقت استخدام الشاشة يوميًا: من الأشياء التي أعجبتني كثيرًا في خاصية تحديد الوقت اليومي هو أنها قابلة للتخصيص بالكامل. فتطبيقات الرقابة الأبوية الأخرى التي اختبرتها (مثل Qustodio) تجبرك على ضبط حد يزيد بمقدار 15 دقيقة أو حتى ساعة في كل مرة. أما مع Net Nanny، فإذا أردت وضع حد أقصى بمقدار 2:21، يمكنني ببساطة إدخال هذه المدة في بند زمن استخدام الشاشة المسموح به يوميًا “Available Daily Screen Time”.
  • تقييد الوقت Restricted Times: بالإضافة إلى الحد اليومي، يتيح لك Net Nanny إنشاء جدول يومي أو أسبوعي لأوقات استخدام الجهاز، ويعمل التقويم بزيادات زمنية قدرها 15 دقيقة، مما سمح لي بتقييد الاستخدام خلال ساعات الدوام المدرسي، ومواعيد الواجبات المنزلية، وعند موعد النوم.
جدول وقت شاشة Net Nanny
يمكنك وضع قيود على التقويم لمنع الإنترنت “No Internet” أو إيقاف الجهاز مؤقتًا “Pause Device”
  • إنشاء فلتر للمحتوى Create Content Filter: بالإضافة إلى فلاتر الويب الافتراضية، لديك خيار إنشاء فلاتر تعتمد على الكلمات المفتاحية:
مرشح Net Nanny المخصص
  • حظر مواقع ويب معينة أو السماح بها Block or Allow Specific Websites: يسمح لك Net Nanny بتحديد روابط محددة لحظرها أو السماح بها إذا وجدت أن الفلتر قد منعها بالخطأ.
إعدادات موقع Net Nanny
  • حظر تطبيقات معينة أو السماح بها Block or Allow Specific Apps: جمع Net Nanny قائمة بأكثر من 80 تطبيقًا شائعًا، بالإضافة إلى التطبيقات المثبتة بالفعل على الهاتف أو التابلت، ولديك القدرة على حظرها.
Net Nanny إدارة التطبيقات

احمِ أطفالك مع Net Nanny!

التثبيت9.8

قبل تحميل التطبيق من متجر App Store أو Google Play، عليك الاشتراك في Net Nanny وإنشاء حسابك. وأنصحك بأن يكون اشتراكك من خلال صفحة العروض الخفية حيث يمكنك العثور على أرخص عرض يقدمه البرنامج حاليًا.

تثبيت تطبيق الأب

حمِّل تطبيق Net Nanny Parent من متجر Google Play أو App Store وسجل الدخول باستخدام البيانات التي استخدمتها لإنشاء الحساب. سترشدك نافذة ترحيبية إلى بعض النصائح وتوضح لك مكان كل شيء في لوحة التحكم.

تثبيت تطبيق Net Nanny Child للطفل

يتعين اتخاذ بعض الخطوات الإضافية عند تثبيت تطبيق الطفل، لأنك ستحتاج إلى إجراء بعض التغييرات في إعدادات الهاتف للسماح لـ Net Nanny بالعمل في الخلفية، واستخدام الموقع، وفلترة التطبيقات، وفرض خاصية إدارة الوقت.

حمِّل تطبيق Net Nanny Child من متجر App Store أو Google Play وأنشئ حسابًا لكل طفل. سيرشدك التطبيق إلى كل التغييرات التي سيحتاج إلى إجرائها في الإعدادات ليعمل كما ينبغي.

Net Nanny لنظام Android

سيتعين عليك منح Net Nanny إذن المسؤول على جهاز طفلك، مما يسمح له بمراقبة الهاتف أو التابلت بدقة. انقر على هيا بنا “Let’s Do It“، ثم في الشاشة التالية انقر على تفعيل “Activate“. تبعًا لجهازك، قد تتلقى تحذيرات من نظام التشغيل بشأن منح أذونات المسؤول للتطبيق، لكن هذه الأذونات ضرورية للسماح لـ Net Nanny بالعمل.

حقوق مسؤول Net Nanny

بمجرد إعداد جميع الإعدادات ومنح Net Nanny الإذن باستخدام خاصية الـ GPS والصور وجهات الاتصال وغيرها من خصائص الهاتف، سيكتمل التثبيت ويبدأ Net Nanny على الفور في مراقبة الأجهزة.

راقب أطفالك على الإنترنت مع Net Nanny!

سهولة الإستخدام 9.8

إن Net Nanny برنامج سهل الإدارة؛ إذ بمجرد اكتمال تثبيت تطبيق الطفل يستطيع الوالد الاطلاع على لوحة التحكم من الحاسوب أو الهاتف. وجميع المعلومات التي تحتاج إليها موضحة في لوحة التحكم، لا سيما مستجدات العائلة والموقع والوقت المستخدم/المتبقي على الجهاز.

لإعداد جدول يومي أو أسبوعي لمواعيد استخدام الهاتف، انقر على رمز التقويم في لوحة التحكم.

صافي جدول إنشاء مربية

سيُفتح التقويم، ويمكنك النقر على زر إضافة فترة زمنية “Add Interval” أسفل الشاشة، مما يسمح لك باختيار إما إيقاف الهاتف تمامًا، أو الاكتفاء بإيقاف الإنترنت مؤقتًا.

أنشئ جدولاً مع Net Nanny
إعداد التقويم من الهاتف

عندما بلوغ الحد الزمني، أو إذا حاول الطفل استخدام تطبيق محظور، سيتلقى رسالة تفيد بإيقاف الإنترنت: “Oh No. The Internet is Blocked”.

Net Nanny bloque الإنترنت

يمكن للأطفال فتح تطبيق الطفل على هواتفهم ومعرفة مقدار الوقت الذي استخدموه بالفعل ومقدار الوقت المتبقي، وأرى أن هذه أداة مفيدة لتعليمهم ترشيد الوقت.

Net Nanny يدير وقت الشاشة
المعلومات المعروضة في تطبيق Net Nanny Kids

في التطبيق أيضًا خيار لتفعيل الوضع غير المقيد “Enable Unrestricted Mode” -وإن كنت لا أعرف فائدته- ويمكن تشغيله باستخدام اسم المستخدم وكلمة المرور، لذا ستحتاج إلى استخدام كلمة مرور لا يعرفها طفلك ولا يستطيع تخمينها، حتى يؤدي هذا التطبيق غرضه. (نصيحة: لا تستخدم عيد ميلادك أو تاريخ الذكرى السنوية أو كلمة مرور نتفليكس)

وضع Net Nanny غير المحدود

اختر مدة تفعيل الوضع غير المقيد

جرب Net Nanny دون مخاطر لمدة 14 يومًا

الدعم 9.7

يقدم Net Nanny ثلاث طرق للحصول على إجابات لأي أسئلة قد تراودك.

  1. البريد الإلكتروني
  2. المحادثات المباشرة
  3. القسم الموسع للأسئلة الشائعة

وعلى الرغم من بعض العيوب التي تشوب كلًا من هذه الخيارات (كالمحادثات المباشرة التي لا تعمل إلا من الاثنين إلى الجمعة من الساعة 10 إلى 7 بالتوقيت الشرقي)، يُفترض أن تتمكن من العثور على إجابات لأسئلتك بسرعة معقولة. انتظرت موعد عمل فريق خدمة العملاء وتحدثت معهم عبر المحادثات المباشرة، وسعدت عندما تأكدت أنهم بشر حقيقيون وليسوا برامج آلية تقدم إجابات مكتوبة مسبقًا.

عميل خدمة Net Nanny

الأسئلة المتكررة

😇 هل Net Nanny آمن؟

لا ترتبط بتطبيقات Net Nanny أو نسخته للحاسوب بأي فيروسات أو برمجيات خبيثة معروفة. وطالما حمَّلته من موقع رسمي، فهو آمن على الحاسوب أو الجهاز المحمول. ليس هذا فحسب، بل وإذا زرت الصفحة السرية في موقع Net Nanny، فستحصل على خصومات رائعة.

🤩 هل يمكنني فرض قيود على استخدام أطفالي لتطبيقات معينة باستخدام Net Nanny؟

نعم، وهذه من أفضل الميزات التي يقدمها Net Nanny، لكن على الرغم من قدرتك على حظر تطبيقات معينة، فلا يمكنك وضع حد زمني لتطبيق بعينه.

😎 هل يمكن لطفلي أن يتجاوز فلتر Net Nanny بطريقة ما؟

على الرغم من أن الأطفال واسعي الحيلة ويتوصلون دائمًا إلى خدع جديدة، فإننا لم نتمكن من اجتياز فلتر الويب في أثناء الاختبار. وإليك بعض النصائح للمساعدة في ضمان ألا يتمكن أطفالك من تخطي فلتر الويب:

  • احرص دائمًا على استخدام أحدث إصدار من التطبيق. يصدر Net Nanny تحديثات منتظمة إلى حد ما لإصلاح نقاط الضعف.
  • حافظ على سرية كلمة مرورك عن الأطفال، وإلا فسيتمكنون من تسجيل الدخول واجتياز القيود.

🤓 ما أنظمة التشغيل التي يعمل عليها Net Nanny؟

يعمل Net Nanny على معظم الأنظمة المعروفة:

  • ويندوز 10 – 64-بت
  • ماك 10,13 والإصدارات الأحدث
  • أندرويد 5.1 والإصدارات الأحدث
  • iOS 11 والإصدارات الأحدث
  • Amazon Kindle Fire HD 8 وFire HD 9 (الجيل الثامن)، بنظام تشغيل FireOS 6.3.0.1 أو 6.4.1.2

😁 هل يجمع Net Nanny أوقات استخدام الأجهزة المختلفة؟

نعم، يمتلك Net Nanny فلاتر وقيودًا زمنية ممتازة. وما دامت جميع الأجهزة مرتبطة بالملف الشخصي للمستخدم، فسيجمع Net Nanny الوقت الذي يقضيه صاحب هذا الملف في استخدام جميع الأجهزة، ويغلقها عند بلوغ الحد الزمني.

الأسعار 9.6

لـ Net Nanny ثلاثة خيارات تسعير:

  1. مراقبة أجهزة الحاسوب وماك فقط
  2. ما يصل إلى 5 أجهزة
  3. ما يصل إلى 20 جهازًا

الخيار الأول مثالي إذا لم يكن لطفلك جهاز محمول وكنت لا تريد إلا مراقبة وقته على الحاسوب أو جهاز ماك. أما الخياران الثاني والثالث فمتطابقان تقريبًا، والفرق الوحيد هو السعر وعدد الأجهزة التي يمكنك مراقبتها. أنصحك بالاطلاع على صفحة البرنامج للعروض الخفية، إذ قد توفر لك كثيرًا من المال. والباقات الثلاث مزودة بجميع الميزات المذكورة في السطور السابقة.

جرب Net Nanny مجانًا لمدة 14 يومًا!

عروض المزودين والخطط التالية

السطر الآخير

Net Nanny تطبيق رقابة أبوية سهل الاستخدام للغاية ويعمل على معظم الأنظمة المعروفة، ومنها أجهزة Amazon Kindle اللوحية. لن تضطر أبدًا إلى التساؤل عما يفعله أطفالك أو مقدار الوقت الذي يقضونه على الأجهزة المختلفة، فلوحة التحكم الأبوي سهلة القراءة وتضع بين يديك جميع البيانات التي تحتاج إليها.

يقدم البرنامج حاليًا عرضًا سخيًا كما يمكنك دائمًا أن تجربه دون مخاطرة من خلال ضمان استرداد المال الذي يسري لمدة 14 يومًا. وعندما طلبت استرداد مالي، أعادوه إليَّ بسهولة، لذا فإن نصيحتي الأفضل لك هي أن تجربه بنفسك لتعرف إن كان يناسب احتياجاتك.

جرب Net Nanny دون مخاطرة اليوم!

المشاركة والدعم

إن WizCase موقع مراجعات محايد يقوم على دعم قرائه، مما يعني أننا قد نربح نسبة من المال إذا قررت الشراء من خلال الروابط التي نضعها على موقعنا، لكنك لن تدفع أي مبلغ إضافي على أي شيء تشتريه من على موقعنا، بل تأتي نسبتنا مباشرة من الجهة المالكة للمنتج.

ادعم WizCase لتساعدنا على تقديم نصائح أمينة ومحايدة. شارك موقعنا مع أصدقائك لتدعمنا!

Net Nanny Reviews and Expert Opinion May 2020

Compatible on:

Net Nanny Overview May 2020

Is Net Nanny really worth buying when you can find other parental control apps that cost less money?

With five kids ranging in age from 5 to 16, I had to find the best parental control app that was easy to manage and monitor. Using my kids as test subjects, I bought and used over 50 apps on their phones, tablets, and the family computer. Then I ranked them based on the features, strengths and weaknesses, and customer support. My goal here is to help you pick the best app for your family without having to spend all the time and money doing the research.

For this test, I got the plan that included 5 devices and found a great price in their hidden deals page. It’s available on just about every platform; Windows, Mac, Android, iOS, Amazon Kindle. and ChromeBook – so I was able to install it on all my kids’ devices.

What I found throughout my testing of Net Nanny is that if you view your children’s online safety in terms of money, then sure, you can find a cheaper alternative. However, if their online security is a priority for you, then it makes sense to invest in a product that actually works and does what it promises.

Monitor Your Kids Online with Net Nanny!

I had to check out the features first hand and test its ability to control the amount of time my kids were staring at their screens and keep me updated to the content they were searching for and viewing. One thing I really liked is that even when the kids’ devices were paused, the phone and contacts still worked (I was able to block them if I wanted my kids off the phone). This was important to me because when testing Google’s Family Link, they could only call me or my wife if they remembered our numbers.

Net Nanny uses Artificial Intelligence to read websites and detect questionable content. It checks out every website, link, and URL that the kids try to access. The collection of features did a great job of monitoring, limiting, and protecting my kids while on their devices.

However, I was very disappointed with the YouTube Monitoring feature for several reasons. For starters, it didn’t track any of the video searches that my kids did through the YouTube app. It did track their searches when they went to YouTube.com, but under the Seen Videos tab, it said No Views Yet, and I know for a fact that they were watching videos. Lastly, in the Family Feed timeline it claimed that a video was blocked for Weapons (they were searching for a video about weapons in PUBG), however, I watched the video with them — so I know it wasn’t blocked.

Features9.9

Unlike other services, such as Qustodio, Net Nanny has apps for both parent and child accounts. The child can open the app and see how much screen time they’ve used and how much remains, which is an excellent way for them to learn how to budget their time. There is the option Enable Unrestricted Mode, but they will need the parent username and password to turn this on.

All of the parental controls can be accessed either via the mobile app or from a PC or Mac. When you first log in on to your dashboard, you’ll get a quick overview of your kid’s app usage and a tabbed interface that allows the parent to check Searches, Screen Time, Blocks/Alerts, YouTube History, and Location. You can also pause their phones (which means that all apps, except for the phone are blocked) or turn off the internet from the dashboard.

NetNanny Dashboard

The Parent Dashboard gives a complete overview of your child’s screen time usage

All the Tools You Need to Monitor Your Kids

  • Family Feed: I found this to be a handy tool since it gave me an overview of what all my kids are doing, without having to go to each of their profiles individually.
  • Searches: This feature is supposed to show you what your kids are searching for online. However, I discovered a major flaw with it. I tested this on my son’s Android phone, and none of the searches done through the Google app showed up on my dashboard or Family Feed. I was only able to see searches done in Chrome or the pre-installed browser in the Searches tab, but none of the searches done through the Google app showed up.
  • Location: I never had to wonder where my kids are, the GPS tracking shows me on a map where they are. There is a geofence option, although to be perfectly honest, it can use improvement. It works based on location history. This is great if I want an alert that my kids either got to school or are leaving, but it doesn’t help if I want to set up alerts for places they haven’t been to yet. The one flaw I found with the location tracking is my son was able to turn off the GPS on his phone and change the Location permissions in the Net Nanny app. Therefore, it does require a level of trust between you and your kids for this to be effective.
  • Screentime: I like that I can see how much screen time my kids have used each day. This feature would be even better if it gave a breakdown of how much time was spent on each app.
  • YouTube Monitoring: The way this feature is supposed to work is that any searches and views on the YouTube app will be recorded in the Dashboard, but it won’t block or restrict any videos. When using YouTube.com the YouTube Restricted Mode, which blocks videos based on meta titles and descriptions, is enforced. As I mentioned earlier, this wasn’t the experience I had. I didn’t see any of the searches or viewing history from the YouTube app and I was only able to see searches made from YouTube.com, without a viewing history.
  • Blocks & Alerts: This section is a bit different than the Family Feed because instead of getting an overview of the entire family, it’s separate for each child. At first, I was annoyed when I saw that it said several websites and YouTube videos were blocked when I knew for a fact they weren’t. I did a little digging and found the answer in the Net Nanny FAQ section. It seems that it blocked trackers and ads that were associated with the page.

NetNanny FAQ - Alerts and Blocks

How to Set Filters and Limits with Net Nanny

Net Nanny allows you to set filters for specific apps, websites, and to create custom filters, plus setting limitations for daily screen time. To get started click on the Preferences icon in the Parent Dashboard to start personalizing the monitoring and limitations on your kid’s devices.

Open NetNanny Preferences

Open the Net Nanny preferences and set limitations
  • Daily Screen Time Allocation: One of the things I really like about setting the daily time is that it’s fully customizable. Other parental control apps I’ve tested, such as Qustodio, require you to set the limit in time increments of 15 minutes or even an hour. With Net Nanny, if I want to set the limit at 2:21, I can just enter that into Available Daily Screen Time.

Set Time Restrictions with NetNanny

  • Restricted Times: In addition to a daily limit, Net Nanny allows you to create a daily or weekly schedule for when the device can be used. The calendar works in time increments of 15 minutes. This allows me to restrict access during school hours, homework time, and after bedtime.

Setting restricted Times NetNanny

You can set calendar restrictions of “No Internet” or “Pause Device”
  • Net Nanny Content Filters: There are 15 different categories that Net Nanny can filter: Porn, Mature Content, Adult Novelty, Anime, Nudity, Abortion, Strip Clubs, Provocative, Death Gore, Tobacco, Drugs, Weapons, Gambling, and Suicide. You can set each category as either “Allow,” “Alert,” or “Block.

NetNanny content filter

  • Create Content Filter: In addition to the default web filters, you have the option to create your own keyword-based filters:

  • Block or Allow Specific Websites: Net Nanny allows you to select specific URLs to either block or whitelist if you’re finding a site is being incorrectly flagged by the filters.

Block specific URLs with NetNanny

  • Block or Allow Specific Apps: Net Nanny compiled a list of over 80 popular apps, plus the apps currently installed on the phone or tablet, and you have the power to block them.

NetNanny can block specific Apps

  • Mask Profanity on Websites: If this feature is activated, Net Nanny will place #### over common curse words.

NetNanny can censor profanity

All profanity is covered with ###
  • Force SafeSearch: This will use Google’s Safe Search feature to filter all out inappropriate results from searches.I was surprised to see that even though it says “Force SafeSearch” there were still steps I had to take to actually turn it on.Net Nanny can only apply Safe Search on the browser. It can’t filter searches done through the Google app. You can manually turn on Safe Search through the Google app.
    • Click on the More on the bottom of the screen
    • Click on Settings
    • Click on General
    • Make sure SafeSearch is toggled on.

If you’re using Google Chrome the SafeSearch feature should be turned on by default. However, there is a setting in Chrome that should be adjusted in order to get Net Nanny to filter properly.

    • Open Chrome and type in the following address: chrome://flags.
    • Scroll down through the list until you see Experimental QUIC protocol.
    • Click the dropdown and change it to Disabled.
    • Click on the Relaunch Now button.
    • Clear the cookies and cache in the browser.

Protect your kids with Net Nanny!

Installation9.8

Before you download the app from the App Store or Google Play, you should get a Net Nanny subscription and set up your account.

Installing the Parent App

Download the Net Nanny Parent app from Google Play or the App Store and sign in with your credentials used to create the account. A welcome window will walk you through some tips and show you where everything is located on the dashboard.

Installing Net Nanny Child App

There are a few additional steps to take when installing the child app, because you will need to make some changes to the phone settings to allow Net Nanny to run in the background, access the location, filter apps, and enforce the time management feature.

Download the Net Nanny Child App from the App Store or Google Play and create an account for each child. The app will walk you through each of the changes it will need to make in the settings in order to properly work.

NetNanny App Usage

You will have to give Net Nanny admin permission on your child’s device. This will allow it to monitor the phone or tablet accurately. Click Let’s Do It and then on the next screen click Activate. Depending on your device, you may receive warnings from the OS about granting the app Admin permissions. The permissions are needed to allow Net Nanny to work.

NetNanny needs Device Admin Permission

Once all the settings are adjusted and you’ve given Net Nanny permission to access the phone’s GPS, pictures, contacts and more, the installation will be complete and Net Nanny will instantly start monitoring the devices.

Monitor Your Kids Online with Net Nanny!

Ease of Use9.8

Net Nanny is a straightforward program to manage. Once the Child App installation is complete, the parent can check in on the dashboard through the computer or their phone. All the information you need is clearly laid out on the dashboard, including the Family Feed, Location, and Time Used/Remaining on the device.

To set up a daily or weekly schedule for when the phone can be used, click on the calendar icon on the dashboard.

How to use NetNanny to set Schedule

A calendar will open, and you can click on the Add Interval button at the bottom of the screen. This will allow you to choose whether the phone will be blocked entirely, or just the internet will be paused.

NetNanny Time management schedule on a phone

Setting up the calendar on a mobile device

When the time limit is reached, or if a child is attempting to use a blocked app, they will get a message saying, “Oh No. The Internet is Blocked.”

NetNanny Blocked Internet

The kids can open the Child App on their phones and see how much time they have already used and what is remaining. I find this to be a useful tool for teaching them how to budget their time.

Information shown on the Net Nanny Kids app

There is also a button to Enable Unrestricted Mode, although I have no idea why, which can be turned on with the username and password. Therefore, for this app to work, you will need to use a password that your child doesn’t know or won’t guess. (Hint: Don’t use your birthday, anniversary, or Netflix password)

NetNanny Unrestricted Access

Choose how long you want Unrestricted Mode to be active

Protect your kids with Net Nanny

Support 9.7

Net Nanny has three ways of getting answers to any questions that you might have.

  1. Email
  2. Live Chat
  3. Extensive FAQ section

While each of these options has some limitations, for example, the Live Chat is only available Monday – Friday from 10 – 7 EST, you should be able to find answers to your questions fairly quickly. I waited until the customer support staff was working and spoke with them through chat. I was happy to see that they were using real people and not bots that just give pre-written answers.

NetNanny Customer Service

FAQ

Q. Is Net Nanny Safe?

A. There are no known viruses or malware attached to the Net Nanny line of apps or desktop. It is safe to download to your computer or mobile device.

Q. Can I limit specific apps for my kids with Net Nanny?

A. Yes, it’s one of the best features Net Nanny offers. However, while you can block certain apps — you can’t put a time limit for a specific app.

Q. Is there a way for my kid to bypass the Net Nanny web filter?

A. While kids are resourceful and always finding new hacks, we were unable to bypass the web filter during our testing. Here are some tips to help make sure that your kids can’t avoid the web filter.

  • Always make sure you’re using the latest version of the app. Net Nanny releases updates fairly regularly to patch and weaknesses.
  • Keep your password a secret from the kids. Otherwise, they will be able to log in and bypass restrictions.

Q. What Operating Systems support Net Nanny?

A. Net Nanny works with most major platforms:

  • Windows 10 – 64bit
  • macOS 10.13 and above
  • Android 5.1 and above
  • iOS 11 and above
  • Amazon Kindle Fire HD 8 and 9 (8th Generation) running FireOS 6.3.0.1 or 6.4.1.2

Q. Will Net Nanny combine usage times between multiple devices?

A. Yes, as long as each of the devices is associated with a user profile, Net Nanny will combine the time spent on all devices and lock when the time limit is reached.

Pricing 9.6

There are three pricing options for Net Nanny.

  1. Only monitors PC and Mac
  2. Up to 5 devices
  3. Up to 20 devices

The first option is ideal if your child doesn’t have a mobile device, and you just want to monitor their time on a PC or Mac. The second and third options are nearly identical, the only difference being the number of devices you can monitor and the price. I recommend you to check their hidden deals page, as it can save you a lot of money. All three plans come with all the features listed above.

Get a Great Deal Today!

Net Nanny offers the following plans

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Excellent web filter technology
  • User friendly
  • Parent Dashboard can be accessed from anywhere
  • There is a filter can mask profanity

Cons

  • YouTube Monitoring feature doesn’t work very well
  • No screenshot feature on a child device

Bottom Line

Net Nanny is a very easy to use parental control app that works across most major platforms, including Amazon Kindle tablets. You’ll never have to wonder what your kids are up or how much time they are spending on various devices. The Parent Dashboard is presented in an easy to read manner, giving you all the data you need at your fingertips.

They now have a generous offer and you can always try it risk-free with their 14 days money-back guarantee. When I asked for my money back, I got it easily. So my best advice for you is: try it yourself and see if it fits your needs.

Try Net Nanny Risk Free Today!

Share & Support

WizCase is an independent review site. We are reader-supported so we may receive a commission when you buy through links on our site. You do not pay extra for anything you buy on our site — our commission comes directly from the product owner.

Support WizCase to help us guarantee honest and unbiased advice. Share our site to support us!