Kaspersky Safe Kids 评测 2021:便宜,但是值得买吗?

兼容:

Kaspersky Safe Kids总览 十月 2021

当我看到卡巴斯基(一家反病毒公司)也推出了家长控制应用时,我感到很惊讶。我首先想到的是,该应用肯定是该公司产品套件的附加产品,但可能并没有获得所需的关注,因此未能成为顶级应用。

我的孩子在空闲时主要在玩手机和平板电脑。我需要一种方法来限制他们的屏幕时间并监视他们在网上做什么,因此我决定亲测 50 多款家长控制应用,并找出最好的一款。我根据总体功能、性价比和易用性对它们进行了排名。我希望你可以直接利用我的调查结果,然后根据你家孩子的具体情况找到适合你家庭的最佳应用。

我注意到的第一件事是这款应用叫做 Safe Kids(意为“安全的儿童”),根本就没有提到卡巴斯基的鼎鼎大名。也许他们是想将该应用与其他程序区分开来,那么这就是很明智的举措。Safe Kids 的年度订阅是我所见过的最便宜的年度套餐之一,而我通过这个隐藏的优惠页面获得了大幅折扣。我还注意到,该应用提供 7 天的免费试用期,并且不需要提供信用卡信息。

免费试用卡巴斯基 Safe Kids!

请注意,卡巴斯基 Safe Kids不支持以中文进行安全搜索。我亲测的家长控制应用几乎都是这样。因此,本文仅考察其他功能,也就是我认为更为重要的功能,例如时间管理工具、应用监视和实时位置更新,无论你使用哪种语言,这些功能都可以正常运转。无论如何,我建议你通过 7 天免费试用尝试一下,然后再决定是否购买套餐。

在测试期间,我在 Android 手机上创建了一个家长账户,并在女儿的 Android 平板电脑上创建了儿童账户。家长操作面板不像我测试过的其他应用(例如Qustodio)那样干净整洁、易于浏览,但还算好用。

Safe Kids 的部分功能比较突出

  • 即使手机处于锁定状态,我也可以对特定应用授予运行权限。这对我来说很重要,因为我使用的其他应用,例如 Google 的 Family Link,会让我的孩子在手机锁定时没法给我打电话,或没法读取我发送给他们的 WhatsApp 消息。
安全儿童应用程序控制
  • 我可以为每个应用设置时间限制。这样,我可以确保我的女儿不会花太多时间玩 Roblox 等游戏或观看 YouTube 视频。另一方面,我可以对数学应用允许更多的时间,鼓励她加强学习。
安全的孩子限制数据的使用
  • 不但如此,我的女儿尝试访问被阻止的应用时,可以请求我授予使用该应用的许可,我很喜欢这个功能。因为这样一来,我们就可以开诚布公地讨论她为什么需要该应用。另外,如果有什么应用在我不了解原因的情况下被 Safe Kids 阻止,我还可以用这个功能取消阻止,例如 Google Go 应用(尽管出于某些原因,即使该应用的搜索受到 Safe Search 的保护,该应用的年龄分级仍为 18 岁以上)。

安全的孩子要求许可

尚存改进空间

  • 我发现计划功能很难用。比如我想创建这样一个计划:允许手机正常使用几个小时,然后在晚餐时阻止,但是在睡前时间又允许使用,但实际上却不能这么做。我每天只能锁定一个时段。
  • 我想查看每个应用每天的详细使用情况,虽然我可以限制每天的 YouTube 视频观看量,但我不知道女儿在该应用上花费了多少时间。
  • 没有 SOS 或“呼救”按钮。值得庆幸的是,我的女儿并没有需要这些功能的情况,但是作为家长,如果有这些功能,我会更放心。

我很期待看到卡巴斯基解决这些问题。同时,如果你正在寻找不限设备数量且价格便宜的年度计划,Safe Kids 是一个绝佳的选择。

免费试用 Safe Kids 7 天!

功能8.5

卡巴斯基的 Safe Kids 拥有我认为高级父母监控应用理当具备的所有标准功能。但是,它缺少一些让人眼前一亮的额外功能,例如 SOS 按钮。

使用时间管理工具避免屏幕成瘾

就像如今的大多数孩子一样,我的孩子可以成天盯着手机。这就是为什么在测试家长控制应用时,我首先要看的就是设置屏幕时间限制的功能。

虽然 Safe Kids 确实可以设置每日限制和时间表,但实际表现与我见过的最出色的应用相去甚远。操作面板上没有直达“时间管理”屏幕的按钮,我要点击 4 次才能进入“时间管理”屏幕:设备使用旁边的齿轮图标 > 设备名称 > 使用时间 > 每日限制或时间表。

安全儿童的屏幕限制

每日限制功能很简单。你可以对每天设置不同的限制,也可以为工作日和周末设置整体时间限制。

与其他高级家长监控应用(例如Qustodio)不同,我无法设置一个时间表来在全天多次锁定和解锁各种应用,而是只能选择限制一段时间,例如当我女儿在校学时锁定,其余时间则不锁定。

我不仅不能同时使用每日限制和时间表,而且如果我从“每日限制”切换到“时间表”,或者反过来,那么之前的设置将被删除。这真令人讨厌,因为我既创建了每日时间限制,也创建了每日时间表,而这些时间都白白浪费了。

对于时间管理功能,我还有一点不满,那就是孩子的应用上不会显示他们使用设备已有多少时间或设备将于何时关闭。屏幕会突然关闭,然后显示“该停下了”,我女儿因此疯狂尖叫,说这样太不公平,她的事情还没做完。我同意了她的想法,稍微给她延长了时间。

安全儿童锁装置
我女儿达到每日限制后收到的消息

对于达到时限时手机发生的变化,有三种选择;

  • 阻止设备
  • 在我女儿的平板电脑上显示警告
  • 不作出任何反应

“时间管理”控件值得肯定的一点是,我可以选择手机锁定时仍然可用的应用。我很重视这一点,因为我曾经遇到过这样的情况:在手机被锁定时,我的孩子没法给我的妻子或我打电话,也没法读取我们的短信。

具有 14 个类别的智能网页过滤器

默认网页过滤器考虑得很全面,让我很满意。它将互联网分为 14 个类别,每个类别都分配了“允许”、“警告”或“禁止”的访问设置。我可以为女儿调整过滤器,例如允许使用 VPN 和 Anonymizer,以便她可以观看美国 Netflix——默认情况下是禁止的。

安全的孩子自定义Web过滤器

当我的女儿访问触发“警告”选项的网站时,该网站最初会被阻止,应用会阻止页面加载,并显示一条消息,表示不建议访问该网站。但实际上,应用并不会禁止访问该页面,因此她可以单击页面底部显示“仍然访问”的链接。我认为这样可以建立信任——我给女儿下放一些控制权,让她运用自己的判断。

安全的儿童警告替代品

但过滤器确实阻止了一些非英语的网站,即使这些网站只是教育网站——我亲测的所有家长控制应用几乎都发生了这种情况。好在 Safe Kids 包含一个排除选项,我只需要添加 URL,就不用担心页面再次被阻止了。

监控孩子玩的游戏和应用

我尽量关注孩子使用了哪些应用,不过老实说,这并不容易。市面上有很多我不知道的应用,而且我没时间逐个阅读用户评论,也没时间每个都试着玩一玩。所以,当我看到 Safe Kids 可以为我监视这些应用,并根据 App Store、Google Play、ESRB 和 PEGI 上的年龄分级来限制这些应用时,我感到非常高兴。

Safe Kids 将所有应用划分为 15 个类别,你可以分别将权限设置为允许或禁止。

安全儿童过滤器类别
网页过滤器类别的部分列表

该功能还可以设置排除项。当我的女儿请求 Google Go Assistance 应用的访问权限时,我有些吃惊,后来我发现,这个应用被阻止,是因为它的年龄限制为 18 岁以上。我向她授予了使用该应用的许可,因此该应用被添加到排除列表中。

要设置单个应用的限制,我必须点击 7 个页面。

  1. 点击应用和游戏旁边的齿轮图标
  2. 滚动到页面底部,在“排除项”下点击“应用”
  3. 点击页面顶部的“+”图标
  4. 点击“选择应用”
  5. 点击我要监视的一到多个应用
  6. 选择“受时间限制”
  7. 然后为每个应用设置每日限制
安全儿童界面不直观

用卡巴斯基 Safe Kids 设置限制

时刻知道孩子的去向

我觉得我是一个很能放手的家长(虽然我在孩子的手机上安装了数十个家长控制应用),但是我想知道我的孩子在哪里。所以位置跟踪功能对我非常重要。在这方面,Safe Kids 表现出色。显示孩子 GPS 位置的地图就放在操作面板的正中央。

实时实时跟踪安全儿童

Safe Kids 有一个地理围栏选项。这意味着我可以添加地址或位置,为该位置设置一个区域半径,再设置日期和时间,然后就可以为我的女儿设置“允许区域”了。当我的女儿想和朋友一起去看电影,而我想知道她什么时候回家时,这个功能就很有用。当她离开电影院时,应用会向我发送提醒,让我知道她正在回家的路上,使我安心。

地理围栏安全儿童
为允许的地点设置半径

Safe Kids 监视 Facebook 和 VK

Safe Kids 网站声称,该应用将监视孩子的社交媒体活动。我使用这个应用大约一个星期的时候,仍然没有找到可以在哪里查看我女儿的 Facebook 或 YouTube 历史记录。最后,我向客户支持人员发送了电子邮件,询问社交媒体监视功能位于何处。

原来,社交监视只能通过浏览器操作面板 My.Kaspersky 进行,并且只能监视 Facebook 和 VK。要激活 Facebook 监视,我必须允许卡巴斯基向我的女儿发送电子邮件,要求她登录 Facebook 并向他们授予监视活动的权限。

关注安全儿童社交网络
我女儿收到的电子邮件,要求她将 Safe Kids 连接到她的 Facebook

但是,即使按照说明进行操作并授予卡巴斯基查看 Facebook 账户的权限,该功能仍然无法正常工作。操作面板显示我们没有点击电子邮件,但我看到 Facebook 发出的通知表示我们已经登陆到卡巴斯基 Safe Kids。

Facebook注入安全儿童

即使该应用确实可以做到宣传的那样,也只会提供公开帖子和新朋友方面的更新信息。由于我和女儿是 Facebook 朋友,所以我已经掌握了这些信息。因此,虽然这个功能没法正常工作,但如果你与孩子坦诚相待(要激活这个功能也需要坦诚对话),那么即使功能正常,也不会产生什么价值。

在设备电池电量低时接收提醒

我认为这个功能非常有用,可能也是 Safe Kids 唯一一个在我测试的其他应用没有提供的功能。提醒会显示每个设备上剩余的电池寿命,因此我就知道是不是因为电池没电,孩子才没有回复我,或者 GPS 位置最近没有更新。

听取领先专家的建议

操作面板的每个部分都有儿童心理学家向家长提出的建议,我认为这对某些家长会有所帮助。每个过滤器和应用类别、时间管理等都有相应的建议。

安全儿童的育儿技巧
Safe Kids 的家长建议示例

用 Safe Kids 保护你的孩子!

安装8.5

在 Android 平台上安装非常简单。我在 Android 设备上前往 Safe Kids 网站,然后单击 Google Play 链接,就直接跳转到 Play Store 的下载页面。安装结束后,我打开了应用,它引导我完成了几个步骤,以正确配置我的设置。这些都是常规操作,例如授予对 GPS 的访问权限、允许 Safe Kids 在后台运行,以及向其授予设备管理员权限。

设置完成后,我必须选择设备将作为家长设备还是儿童设备。要用作家长设备,我就必须设置一个 4 位代码,每次打开应用时都必须使用该代码。

儿童应用上没有多少信息;仅仅是让孩子知道在他们提出请求时家长有何答复,以及当前的应用设置。

免费获取卡巴斯基 Safe Kids!

易用度8.4

一方面,我认为 Safe Kids 易于使用,因为它自带用于网络和应用的预设过滤器。但是,当我开始针对女儿的情况进行个性化设置时,我发现操作面板的设计存在很多问题。不管我想执行什么操作,我都需要点击很多次。有些功能,例如每个应用的时间限制,是我在寻找其他东西时偶然发现的。

需要明确的是,它不需要任何技术知识,只要你了解了所有功能的位置,用起来就很容易了。

支援 8.5

尽管卡巴斯基没有提供在线聊天,但却有一个广泛的知识库,可以回答大多数问题。所有卡巴斯基应用的支持页面都组合在一起。这不是什么大问题。你可以按 Safe Kids 过滤所有搜索,也可以针对你的问题进行具体搜索,以便仅查看 Safe Kids 的搜索结果。

我还测试了他们的电子邮件支持方案。我在星期四下午发送了一封电子邮件,然后在下个星期一上午收到了回复。我在下载 Windows 应用时遇到了麻烦,不断收到错误消息。我得到的回复非常详细,向我展示了在计算机上安装该应用所需执行的步骤。

客户帮助安全儿童
技术支持人员发送了详细回复,帮助解决我的问题

用 Safe Kids 保护你的孩子!

常问问题

? 卡巴斯基 Safe Kids 安全吗?

我测试了 Safe Kids(但不是用卡巴斯基防病毒软件测试的),该应用不含任何病毒和恶意软件。请务必从应用的官方网站下载,否则不良行为者可能会在安装文件中插入恶意软件。不仅如此,我在应用的网站上发现了这个隐藏页面,如果您从这里购买 Safe Kids,还可以享受优惠

我在论坛上看到过有关卡巴斯基是否可以信任的疑问,这家俄罗斯公司还曾因其隐私权政策受到质疑。尽管我没得到明确的答案,但我在 Safe Kids 隐私权政策中没有发现任何让我担心的条款。

? 卡巴斯基 Safe Kids 免费吗?

Safe Kids 有一个免费版,但缺了许多高级功能。Safe Kids 还有一个免费的 7 天试用版,可让你试用所有功能,然后你可以使用此特殊链接并注册,以购买年度订阅。

? 我可以看到孩子在设备上的活动吗?

每当你的孩子尝试被应用认为不适当的 Google 或 YouTube 搜索,或尝试访问被过滤器捕获的网站时,Safe Kids 都会向你发送提醒。但是,如果孩子的行为与年龄相符,你不会收到任何提醒,也不会看到使用记录。

? 什么是 Safe Kids 地理围栏?

这是 Safe Kids 的位置跟踪功能之一。你可以为孩子设置特定的位置,当他们到达或离开该区域时,你将收到提醒。

? 孩子是否可以绕过 Safe Kids 网页过滤器?

我让我的女儿尝试绕过过滤器(合理范围内,不能访问色情或毒品网站),但她没成功。她尝试了几个浏览器,都被阻止了。这并不是说就不可能绕过——肯定有些浏览器不受 Safe Kids 的保护,但是作为家长,你可以在操作面板的应用和游戏部分中阻止特定的浏览器打开。

? 我可以用 Safe Kids 限制屏幕时间吗?

限制屏幕时间是我开始测试家长控制应用的主要原因之一。Safe Kids 提供的每日时间限制功能还不错。尽管应用确实提供了设置每日或每周时间表的选项,但这个功能不太好用,我建议还是使用每日时间限制更好。

价格 8.6

在开始 7 天免费试用时,我不必输入信用卡详细信息,这一点让我很满意。

Safe Kids 只有一种套餐,价格非常合理,并且不限设备数量,这一点很让我惊喜。这样很划算。而某些较昂贵的应用,比如 Qustodio,每月费用要高出几倍,而且还限制设备数量。

获得 Safe Kids 的最低价格!

Kaspersky Safe Kids 提供以下方案

底线

如果你的预算有限,那么卡巴斯基的 Safe Kids 就是最好的家长控制应用。当然,应用还会继续改进。但是它目前已经具有监视孩子、限制屏幕时间所需的大多数功能,你还可以通过 GPS 跟踪确保他们不会走丢。尽管它确实缺少一些社交媒体监视功能,而且计划功能表现欠佳,但绝对值得一试。

我利用了 7 天的免费试用期(无需信用卡)。但是,如果你准备好购买年度订阅,请务必访问这个特价页面,享受更好的价格。

获得 Safe Kids 免费试用!

分享& 支持

WizCase是一个独立的测评网站。我们由读者支持,因此用户通过我们网站上的链接购买产品时,我们可能会收取佣金。用户无需为在我们网站上购买的商品支付任何额外费用——我们的佣金直接来自产品所有者。

支持WizCase,帮助我们确保提供诚实公正的意见。分享我们的网站以支持我们!

Kaspersky Safe Kids Reviews and Expert Opinion October 2020

Compatible on:

Kaspersky Safe Kids Overview October 2020

I was surprised when I saw that Kaspersky, an antivirus company, also has a parental control app. My first thought was that this product must just be an add-on to their suite of products, but probably doesn’t get the attention needed to create a top of the line app.

I have 5 kids, ages 4 – 16, and they spend a good part of their free time on the phone and tablet. I needed a way to limit their time and monitor what they were doing online, so I decided to test over 50 parental control apps and choose the best one. I ranked them based on the overall features, value for the money spent, and ease of use. My hope is that you can take my research and apply it to your kids and find the best app for your family as well.

The first thing I noticed is the app is called Safe Kids, with no mention of Kaspersky anywhere. Perhaps they are trying to distance this app from their other programs, which I thought was a good step. Safe Kids has one of the cheapest yearly subscriptions I’ve seen, I got a great deal when getting the offer through this hidden deal page. I also noticed that there’s a free 7-day trial, with no credit card required.

Try Kaspersky Safe Kids for Free!

For the testing period, I created a parental account on my Android phone and installed the child account on my daughter’s Android tablet. The Parent Dashboard wasn’t as clean and easy to navigate as others I’ve tested, such as Qustodio, but it’s manageable.

Safe Kids Has Some Great Features

  • By default, all Google and YouTube searches are protected by SafeSearch, so I know my daughter won’t even see results that aren’t age-appropriate. I tested it by searching for Sexy Videos. Without SafeSearch the results were for porn sites, but with it, the results were much tamer — an article in the NY Post and a music video occupied the first two results.

Safe Kids SafeSearch active

Inappropriate search results were removed
  • I was able to give specific apps permission to work, even when the phone is locked. This is a big deal for me since I’ve used other apps, like Google’s Family Link, that makes it difficult for my kids to call me when the phone is locked or read WhatsApp messages I send them.

Safe Kids App control

  • I can set a time limit per app. This way, I can make sure that my daughter won’t spend too much time playing games like Roblox or watching YouTube videos. On the other hand, I can give the math app extra time to encourage her to work on her studies.

Safe Kids Limit app usage

  • I like that when my daughter tried to access an app that was blocked, she can request permission to use it. This opens up a discussion between the two of us as to why she needs the app. Also, it helps unblock apps that Safe Kids blocks but I didn’t know why, such as the Google Go app (it has an age rating of 18+ for some reason, even though the searches are protected with Safe Search).

Safe Kids ask for permissionThere is Room for Improvement

  • I found the scheduling feature to be difficult to use. I wasn’t able to create an actual schedule, where the phone is available for a few hours, then blocked for dinner (for example), and available again before bed. I was only able to lock a one-time segment per day.
  • I would like to see a breakdown of daily time usage per app, while I can limit the amount of YouTube per day, I have no idea how much time my daughter spends on the app.
  • There was no SOS or “Call for Help” button. Thankfully, my daughter wasn’t in a situation where she needed it, but as a parent, I would have been more comfortable knowing it was there.

I’m really looking forward to seeing Kaspersky take care of these issues. In the meantime, it is an excellent option if you’re looking for an inexpensive annual plan that has no limit on the number of connected devices.

Get Safe Kids Free For 7 Days!

Features9.8

Kaspersky’s Safe Kids has all the standard features that I would expect from a premium parental control app. However, it lacks some extra features, such as an SOS button, that would help it stand out from the crowd.

Avoid Screen Time Addiction with Time Management Tools

My kids, like most kids these days, can spend an entire day staring at their phones. This is why setting screen time limits is one of the first features I look at when testing parental control apps.

While it does have the option to set both a daily limit and a schedule, it’s far from the best I’ve seen. Just to get to the Time Management screen, I had to click through 4 screens, instead of being front and center on the Dashboard: The gear icon next to Device Use > The name of the device > Time of Use > Daily Limits or Schedule.

Safe Kids Screen Time Limits

The daily limit is simple enough. You can either set a different limit per day or a general limit for weekdays and weekends.

Unlike other premium parental control apps, such as Qustodio, you can’t set a schedule that locks and unlocks the various at times throughout the day. Instead, I could only choose to block one chunk of time, for example when my daughter is at school, and the rest of the day, it’s unlocked.

Not only was I unable to have both the daily limit and schedule running at the same time, but if I switched from Daily Limit to Schedule or vice versa, the previous settings were deleted. This was really annoying because I created both a daily time limit and a daily schedule, and all the time spent was just wasted.

My final complaint with the time management feature is that there is no indication on the child’s app of how much time they’ve been using the device or when it turns off. All of a sudden, the screen is blocked, and it says “Time for a Break,” which caused frantic screaming from my daughter about how it isn’t fair, and that she was in the middle of doing something. I definitely agreed with her and extended her time a little bit.

Safe Kids locks devices

The message my daughter received when she reached her daily limit

There are three choices for what happens to the phone when the time limit expires;

  • Block device
  • Show a warning on my daughter’s tablet
  • Do nothing

The one positive about the Time Management control is that I can choose what apps should still be available when the phone is locked. This is important to me because, in the past, I’ve come across situations where my kids couldn’t call my wife or me, or read our text messages once the phone was locked.

A Smart Web Filter with 14 Categories

I really liked the thoroughness of the default web filter. It breaks up the internet to 14 categories, and each one is assigned an Access Setting of either Allowed, Warn, or Forbidden. I was able to go and adjust the filter for my daughter, for example, allow the use of VPNs and Anonymizer so she can watch US Netflix, which is forbidden by default.

Safe Kids customize web filter

When my daughter went to a site that triggered the Warn option, the website was initially blocked, and a message prevented the page from loading with a message saying Visiting this website is not advised. Since the page isn’t forbidden, she can click on the link on the bottom of the page that says Go there anyway. I view this as a trust-building exercise — I give some control to my daughter, and she has to use her best judgment.

Safe Kids warns options

I did see that the filter was blocking some non-English websites, even though they were educational, which happens with nearly all of the parental control apps I’ve tested. What’s nice about Safe Kids is that they include an exclusion option, all I needed to do was add the URL, and we didn’t have to worry about the page being blocked again.

Remove Inappropriate Search Results

One feature that I really like is forcing Safe Search when using Google and YouTube. For Google searches, it removes the inappropriate search results, and with YouTube, it completely blocks the entire page and says which filter category it triggered. In the past, my kids have figured out that if the YouTube app is blocked, they can usually login to YouTube.com and bypass the monitoring. So, it was nice to see that Safe Kids enforces this on both the YouTube app and website.

Safe Kids blocks unsafe search results

Safe Kids blocked the YouTube search results

Each time my daughter triggered the web filter, I received an alert. It included the search term or what website she tried to access, and which category triggered the alert. This makes it really easy for me to monitor what she’s doing online, without having to look at her phone constantly.

Safe Kids YouTube monotoring

Alert I received after my daughter searched for a video on YouTube

Monitor the Games and Apps Your Kids are Using

I try and stay on top of which apps my kids are using, but let’s be honest; it isn’t easy. There are so many apps that I don’t know, and I don’t have the time to read the user reviews or go and play with each one. That’s why I was so happy when I saw that Safe Kids could monitor these apps for me, and restrict the ones based on their age ratings from the App Store, Google Play, ESRB, and PEGI.

Safe Kids breaks down all apps into 15 categories, and you can set permissions to either allow or forbid each one.

Safe Kids Filter categories

A partial list of the web filter categories

The final part of the app’s features is setting exclusions. I was surprised when my daughter requested access to the Google Go Assistance app, which was blocked because it has an 18+ age restriction. I gave her permission to use the app, and it got added to the exclusion list.

To set the per-app limit, I had to click through 7 pages.

  1. Click the gear icon next to Apps & Games
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the page, under exclusions and click Apps
  3. Click on the + icon on the top of the page
  4. Click select app
  5. Click on the app or apps I wanted to monitor
  6. Choose limited by time
  7. Then I could set daily limits for each app

Safe Kids interface not intuitive

Set Limits with Kaspersky Safe Kids

Know Where Are Your Kids Are At All Times

I like to think that I’m a pretty relaxed parent (don’t count installing dozens of parental control apps on my kids’ phones against me), but I like to know where my kids are. That’s why the location tracking feature is so important to me. This is one area that Safe Kids excels. The map with their GPS location is front and center on the Dashboard.

Safe Kids real-time location tracking

There is a Geofence option. This means I was able to set an Allowed Area for my daughter by adding an address or location and setting an area radius for that location and a date and time. I found this helpful when my daughter wanted to go to the movies with friends, and I wanted to know when she was coming home. The app gave me an alert when she left the movie theater, and I was able to relax, knowing she was on her way home.

Safe Kids Geofence

Set a radius for allowed locations

Safe Kids Monitors Facebook and VK

The Safe Kids website claims that the app will monitor your child’s social media activity. I’ve been using this app for about a week and I still haven’t seen an option to view my daughter’s Facebook or YouTube history. I finally emailed the customer support staff to ask where the social media monitoring feature is located?

Turns out that social monitoring is only available through the browser-based dashboard, at My.Kaspersky, and it only monitors Facebook and VK. To activate the Facebook monitoring I had to allow Kaspersky to send my daughter an email requesting her to log in to Facebook and grant them permission to monitor her activity.

Safe Kids social network monitoring

Email my daughter received asking her to connect Safe Kids to her Facebook

However, even after following the instructions and giving Kaspersky permission to view her Facebook account, it still wasn’t working. The dashboard shows that we never clicked on the email, but I saw the Facebook notification that we logged into Kaspersky Safe Kids.

Safe Kids Facebook

Even if it did work as advertised, the app would just update me on public posts and his new friends. This is information I already have since we’re Facebook friends. So while it’s annoying that it doesn’t work, if you have an open dialogue with your kids, which you’d need to activate this in the first place, it doesn’t add much value.

Receive Alerts When Device Batteries are Low

I found this to be a surprisingly useful feature, and perhaps the one feature Safe Kids has that I haven’t seen with most other apps I tested. It shows me how much battery life is remaining on each device, so I’ll know if the battery is dead, that’s why my kid isn’t responding or the GPS location didn’t update recently.

Get Advice From Leading Experts

Every section of the Dashboard has advice for parents from a child psychologist and I think it can be helpful for some parents. There is advice for each of the filter and app categories, time management, and much more.

Safe Kids parenting advice

Example of the Parent Advice from Safe Kids

Protect Your Kids with Safe Kids!

Installation9.8

The Android installation was very straightforward. I went to the Safe Kids website on my Android and clicked on the Google Play link, which brought me straight to the download page at the Play Store. I opened the app after it installed, and it walked me through several steps to properly configure my settings to work with Safe Kids. These were standard permissions, such as granting access to GPS, allowing Safe Kids to run in the background, and granting it Device admin rights.

Once everything was complete, I had to choose whether the device will be used as a parent or child device. For the parent device, I had to set a 4 digit code, which I have to use every time I open the app.

There isn’t a whole lot of information on the kid’s app; it lets them know what the parent replies were to any requests made, and the current app settings.

Get Kaspersky Safe Kids for Free!

Ease of Use9.6

On the one hand I found that Safe Kids was easy to use because it comes with a preset filter on the web and apps. However, as I started using it and personalizing it for my daughter, I found that the Dashboard design is very flawed. For every action I wanted to take, I had to click through too many pages. Some things, like the per-app time limit, I found purely by accident while looking for something else.

To be clear, it doesn’t require any technical knowledge, and once you learn where everything is, the program is pretty easy to use.

Support 9.8

While there is no live chat option, Kaspersky does have an extensive knowledge base that can answer most questions. The support pages for all Kaspersky apps are grouped together. This isn’t a big deal. You can either filter all searches by Safe Kids or be specific in your questions so that you will only see results for Safe Kids.

There is also an email support option that I tested. I sent an email on Thursday afternoon and received a response the following Monday morning. I was having trouble downloading the Windows app, I kept getting an error message. The response I got was detailed and showed me the steps I needed to do to install the app on my computer.

Safe Kids customer support

Technical support sent to a detailed response to help fix my problem

Protect Your Kids with Safe Kids!

FAQ

😇Is Kaspersky Safe Kids safe?

I tested the Safe Kids (not with the Kaspersky antivirus), and it was clean from all viruses and malware. It’s important that you download the app from its official site, otherwise bad actors can insert malicious software in the installation file. Not only that, but you can get a great price if you get Safe Kids from this hidden page I found on its website.

I’ve seen questions on forums about whether you can trust Kaspersky, and this Russian company has been questioned about its privacy policies. While I don’t have any definitive answers, I didn’t see anything in the Safe Kids privacy policy that concerned me.

🤑Is Kaspersky Safe Kids free?

There is a free version of Safe Kids, but it lacks many of the premium features. There is also a free 7-day trial that gives you access to all the features, and then you can use this special link and sign up for an annual subscription.

😁Can I see what my kids are doing on their devices?

Safe Kids will send you alerts whenever your kids attempt a Google or YouTube search that is deemed inappropriate or if they try and visit a website that got caught by the filter. However, if your kids are acting in an age-appropriate manner, you won’t receive any alerts or get a usage history.

🤩What is Safe Kids Geofencing?

This is one of the location tracking features that Safe Kids has. It allows you to set a specific location for where they will be, then you will receive an alert when they arrive and when they leave that area.

😎Is it possible for kids to bypass the Safe Kids web filter?

I challenged my daughter to bypass the filter (within reason, no porn or drug websites), and she was unable. She tried several different browsers, and they were all blocked. That’s not to say it’s impossible — I’m sure there are browsers available that Safe Kids won’t protect, but as a parent, you can block a specific browser from opening in the Apps & Games section of the Dashboard.

🤓Can I limit screen time with Safe Kids?

Limiting screen time is one of the main reasons I started testing parental control apps. Safe Kids does a decent job with a daily time limit option. While they do offer an option to set up a daily or weekly schedule, it isn’t very good, and I would recommend sticking to the daily time limit.

Pricing 9.9

I really liked that I didn’t have to enter my credit card details when starting the 7-day free trial.

I was pleasantly surprised when I saw that Safe Kids has just one very reasonable pricing option which covers unlimited devices. It’s a great deal, especially when compared with some of the more expensive apps, like Qustodio, which is several times more per month and you only get a limited number of devices.

Get the Lowest Price on Safe Kids!

Kaspersky Safe Kids offers the following plans

Bottom Line

Kaspersky Safe Kids is the best parental control app if you’re on a budget. Of course, it be improved but it already has most of the features that you need to monitor your children, limit screen time properly, and make sure they don’t get lost with GPS tracking. While it does lack some social media monitoring features and the schedule feature isn’t great, it’s definitely worth checking out.

I took advantage of the 7-day free trial (no credit card required). But If you’re ready for the annual subscription, make sure to use this special deal page, to get a better price.

Get Safe Kids Free Trial!

Share & Support

WizCase is an independent review site. We are reader-supported so we may receive a commission when you buy through links on our site. You do not pay extra for anything you buy on our site — our commission comes directly from the product owner.

Support WizCase to help us guarantee honest and unbiased advice. Share our site to support us!