WARP VPN 評價2021:是否值得购买?

我們該檢視什麼?

公开声明:
推荐费

使用我们的链接进行购买时,Wizcase可能会赚取关联佣金。但是,这对我们发布的测评内容或测评的产品或服务没有任何影响。我们的内容可能包含购买关联计划产品的直接链接。

所有权

Wizcase的母公司Kape Technologies PLC拥有CyberGhost、ZenMate、Private Internet Access和Intego,我们网站可能测评这些产品。

我们的测评

Wizcase包含由我们的社区评论员撰写的测评,这些测评都是基于评论员对产品进行的独立、专业的测试和检查。

测评标准

Wizcase上发布的所有测评都符合我们严格的测评标准,以确保每一篇测评文章都是基于测评员对产品或服务开展的独立、诚实和专业的检查。这些标准要求测评员不仅要考虑产品的技术质量和特性,还要考虑其对用户的商业价值,这可能影响产品在网站上的排名。

WARP VPN总览 五月 2021

Cloudflare 公司以网络安全和基础设施起家,提供 1.1.1.1 DNS 服务后,出人意料地推出了免费的移动端 VPN:WARP。我很好奇这款免费 VPN 有没有用,可不可靠(简而言之:不可靠)。

为进一步了解,我亲测了 WARP 的流媒体解锁能力、安全功能、服务器网络和用户隐私政策。它虽能基本保障本地网络的安全,但是缺乏用户所需的 VPN 功能,比如突破地域限制、实现端对端安全。如果你需要一款功能齐全的 VPN,保护更多类型的设备而不仅仅是移动设备,不妨免费试用 Surfshark 30 天,享用高速、安全的网络

赶时间?1 分钟摘要在此

Cloudflare 的 WARP 无法解锁内容,仅能提高本地网速

WARP 无法解锁流媒体的内容——根据 Cloudflare 的说法,设计 WARP 时从未考虑这一点。不过,用户仍然可以访问本地流媒体,因为 WARP 不改变 IP 地址(服务商可用于定位用户的一项唯一标识符),仅提供加密,并可能为部分用户提速。

如果你所在的国家可以访问 Netflix,那么用 WARP 可以避免烦人的 Netflix 代理错误提示,增强网络安全的同时也不妨碍你观看心仪的内容。

如果你需要 VPN 来解锁流媒体服务,我强烈推荐 ExpressVPN,因为它有高速服务器和遍及全球的庞大服务器网络。要想在任何地方都能观看高清的流媒体内容,这些功能非常关键。

速度3.0

试用 WARP 免费版时,我的 WiFi 速度比平时慢了 80%,移动网络的速度则慢了 5% 左右。WARP 称,较慢的网络更有可能提速,而我家的网络平时速度超过 400Mbps,WARP 没能保持住这么高的速度。对于网速较慢或网速不稳定的用户,WARP 可能更有用。

使用WARP将速度降低80%的速度测试的屏幕截图

WARP 并非为高速网络而设计,因此连接后我的网速显著下降

尽管在家庭网络中连接它后网速显著下降,但这只会耽误数据消耗量大的活动,比如下载大文件。对于浏览网页、在线看视频等日常活动,80Mbps 足够了。据我观察,加载时间没有减少,视频和平时一样能立即加载成全高清。

测试期间,我对 WARP+ 的速度也感到失望。据称,它通过距离用户最近的 Cloudflare 服务器将流量导向至正在访问的网站,以此为用户提速。遗憾的是,我的网速基本没变。

为何大多数的速度测试都无意义以及我们如何正确地测试VPN速度

影响VPN速度的因素有很多种,但同时也使许多的速度测试没有意义。由于VPN会加密你的数据,使得一来一往的数据传输花费更多时间,造成连接速度缓慢。然而,若ISP刻意减慢你的连线速度(又称为节流),VPN或许可以加快您网路的连线速度。 增加新的服务器至互联网也可能会影响速度。根据您所在的位置,测试结果也可能会有所不同,因此您的速度通常可能与我们的速度有所不同。 我们的速度测试为非常可靠的基准,因为我们会在多个位置上测试其速度,为你提供更完整的依据,使其对所有用户更具可相比性。

服务器3.0

服务器网络:网络庞大,但不能手动选择服务器

WARP 基于 Cloudflare 的全球高速网络,该网络覆盖了 100 多个国家的 200 个城市。这般雄厚的自有基础设施胜过了很多 VPN。

屏幕截图显示了Warfla的母公司Cloudflare的全球网络以及它如何提高WARP的速度

众所周知,Cloudflare 拥有快速、强大的服务器基础设施,可谓 VPN 的雄厚根基

可惜的是,用户无法充分利用 WARP 的庞大网络,因为每次都会自动连接至距离最近的服务器。用 WARP 也无法访问限制地域的内容,因为突破地域限制并非它的设计目的(这一点与大多数 VPN 不同)。要想保护网络连接、提高网速,WARP 是理想的选择。它的服务器网络如此庞大,不管用户身在何处,都应该能在本地连上靠谱的服务器。另外,不同于其他 VPN(用于解锁流媒体),用户不会连接至最热门的服务器,因此也降低了服务器过载的可能性。

安全性:加密强大,但存在缺点

在 WARP 面世之前,Cloudflare 推出了 1.1.1.1 服务,从那时起我就欣赏它对更安全、更私密的互联网的承诺。1.1.1.1 是一款 DNS 解析器(用于在用户输入 URL 时连接到正确的服务器),可以提高速度,增强加密,而不使用网络供应商(ISP)或谷歌的 DNS。用它可以获得比谷歌 DNS 快一倍的速度——鉴于它比谷歌晚 8 年推出,如今是第二大公共 DNS 解析器,这样的速度很惊艳了。

WARP 是 1.1.1.1 移动应用中的新功能,有了它,用户除了加密 DNS 外,还能获得加密隧道。它能隐藏用户的流量,让其对 ISP 和本地网络的所有共享者都不可见,提高隐私程度,防止第三方监视公共 WiFi。这一步做得很好,但是它无法对用户访问的网站隐藏用户 IP 地址,因此并非完全保障隐私的良方。

用户还可以将 Cloudflare 的网关(Gateway)服务免费添加到 WARP 中,只需注册并在应用程序中输入唯一 ID 即可。这项服务可以基于威胁数据库(监测超过 2500 万个网站,及时发现新的恶意软件、间谍软件等威胁)识别出危险的 DNS 请求,将其拦截,进一步保障用户安全。

Cloudflare的WARP IP和DNS泄漏测试结果的屏幕截图-由于未替换用户的地址,因此未通过。

WARP 增强网络连接安全,但不能完全保障隐私

如果你希望 VPN 能保障你的隐私不被 ISP、本地用户和网站发现,不妨免费试用 Surfshark 的安全功能 30 天。它不仅速度快,服务器网络庞大,而且不同于 WARP,可以用于解锁全球各地的流媒体内容。

私密性:良好,但存在忧患

在用户隐私上,Cloudflare 做出了诸多承诺,包括:

  • 永不在磁盘上记录用户身份数据;
  • 永不出售用户浏览数据,或将其用于向用户发送广告;
  • 不要求用户提供个人信息,包括姓名、电话号码和电子邮箱;
  • 雇佣第三方检查人员来查验其承诺。

Cloudflare 声称只存储最低限度的必要日志,包括性能数据(用户的传输量)、匿名的设备数据、请求数据(源 IP、源端口和目的 IP)、崩溃日志和操作系统类型。

让我担忧的是,请求数据会保留 24 小时——据说是为了应对紧急执法要求。这些数据会显示用户访问过的网站,而大多数高级 VPN 都会想方设法避免存储它们。比如,Surfshark 使用基于内存(RAM)的服务器,因此用户数据从未存储在硬盘上。

Cloudflare 在 2019 年聘请了毕马威对其进行独立检验,它通过了检验,但存在一些小问题。检验者发现,Cloudflare 的日志其实是在 25 小时后才删除的,而且部分匿名数据被永久保存。基于此,它更新了自己的隐私政策。

种子下载:不改变 IP,不适合下载

我不推荐大家用 WARP 下载种子,因为它不隐藏用户 IP 地址。用户可以下载种子,但下载期间网络身份得不到保护,被抓住的风险和不连 WARP 时一样高。

此外,Cloudflare 在隐私政策中表明,当需要“回应传票、法院命令或法律程序,或确立或行使己方的合法权利或对法律索赔进行辩护”时,它将会分享用户的个人数据。也就是说,如果版权所有者发现你非法下载内容,通过合法途径要求 Cloudflare 提供相关信息,那么 Cloudflare 会与政府分享你的信息。

如果你需要用 VPN 下载种子,NordVPN 是不二之选。它拥有安全、高速的服务器,甚至所有服务器都支持 P2P 协议,包括种子下载软件。

Cloudflare 的 WARP 在中国是否管用?——不管用,别试!

WARP 在中国不管用。它只会基于现有 IP 地址对数据进行加密,因此无法解锁在中国境内被封的内容

如果你需要一款靠谱的 VPN 在中国上网,推荐你了解一下在中国可用的最佳 VPN

伺服器位址

WARP VPN

使用者经验 8.6

可同时连接的设备数量:未说明

Cloudflare 并未给出明确的设备并发数上限,用户可以在不登录账户的情况下,任意在多台设备上使用。如果用户使用不同的谷歌或苹果账户在不同的移动设备上登录,那么各设备上所安装的程序将不会被关联至同一个 WARP 账户。

我在 2 台安卓设备上使用同一个谷歌账户测试了 WARP。在将近一天的时间内,两台设备都一直保持 WARP 连接,从未掉线,速度也没有明显变慢过。

设备兼容性:目前仅支持移动设备,但桌面版正在开发中

WARP 目前仅有安卓和 iOS 的版本。

Windows 和 Mac 的测试版很快就会推出,但你必须报名进入候选名单,才会在它们推出时得到通知。在此期间,如若有 Windows VPN 的需求,不妨了解一下这些适用于 Windows 的最佳VPN

设置和安装的难易程度:在安卓和 iOS 上可轻松安装

  1. 前往 Google Play 或 iOS App Store,下载 1.1.1.1 的应用。
    移动应用商店的1.1.1.1的屏幕截图。
  2. 打开应用,点击“开始”(Get Started),阅读并接受隐私政策。
    屏幕快照显示启动应用程序时设置的WARP
  3. 首次点击连接时,应用会引导你在设备上添加新的 VPN 配置。之后便会自动连接。
    在iPhone上设置的WARP VPN配置的屏幕截图

支援8.6

联系 Cloudflare 客服非常困难,而本不应如此。它甚至在论坛里告诫用户不要用传统方式(邮件、实时聊天和电话)联系客服,而应提交错误报告并等待回复。我提交了一份报告,询问 Cloudflare 能否告诉我提速的方法。很遗憾,一个多星期后(写这篇文章的时候),我仍然没有收到回复。我不禁怀疑支援团队到底有没有好好管理,还是说他们只收集错误报告。

Cloudflare的WARP客户支持信息的屏幕截图,通知用户仅将应用程序用于支持问题。
此外,唯一的方法便是利用 Cloudflare 的支援论坛,求助庞大、活跃的用户社群,其中 1.1.1.1 应用有一个专门版面。由于没有即时支援,除了在应用中提交错误报告外,这也不失为一个好方法。

支持为何重要?

并不是只有在安装VPN时才需要有好的顾客支持,在其他情况下也常会需要。譬如说,当您要连接到某个特定的伺服器后、想改变安全协议的时候、或是想配置您的路由器的时候,顾客支持都能派上用场。我们会检查所有的VPN,以确保所有的VPN都可以使用(即使是在深夜)。我们也会检测所有VPN的速度,以及他们的反应速度。

价格8.0

WARP 最大的优点是免费,用户也可以付费升级至 WARP+(承诺速度更快),价格为 $4.99/月。

Cloudflare 没有官方的退款保证,只有通过 Google Play 订阅的用户可以在 48 小时内申请并获得退款,而 iOS 用户无法获得退款。幸好我是在安卓机上订阅的,成功获得了退款。

WARP Google退款流程的屏幕截图

WARP 不提供更长的退款保证期,我很失望

我目前不会推荐 WARP+,因为它的提速效果不比普通的 WARP 好。只需要花不到 WARP+ 一半的价格,就可以订阅 Surfshark,享受更快的速度和更高级的安全功能,解锁 Netflix、Disney+、Hulu 等限制地域的流媒体。

WARP VPN 提供以下方案

最终结论

WARP 有一些很棒的功能,比如加密隧道和 DNS,但总体不如市面上其他高级 VPN。

我原本很期待 WARP 为我提速,但实际上不管使用 WiFi 还是移动数据,网速反而都下降了。它的主要功能在于防范本地网络的共享者,以及隐藏浏览记录,以防被 ISP 和其他监视人员获取。要是速度和安全性得以提高,我没准会改变主意,但在那之前,我不会推荐 WARP。

如果你对 VPN 的需求是功能齐全,速度快,安全性强,能解锁大量流媒体平台,而且价格实惠,那么 Surfshark 更合适。你还可以零风险免费试用它 30 天。此外,Surfshark 还提供中文的原生应用程序。

常见问题解答

WARP 是否划算?

WARP 是免费的,所以不妨亲自试试,看看它有没有改变你的网速。如果你原本的网速比较慢或者不稳定,它可能会提高你的网速。另外,如果你希望在公共网络中保障自己的安全,或者向 ISP 隐藏自己的活动,它是个稳妥的选择。WARP+(付费版)则不划算,因为我的测试结果显示速度没有变化,而且同等或更低价格可以买到更好用的高级 VPN。

如果你需要更安全、能解锁流媒体、支持种子下载的 VPN,可以在市面上最佳 10 款高级 VPN中挑选一款试试。

能否免费使用 WARP?

能,获取 WARP 完全免费,在安卓或 iOS 的应用商店中即可下载。

欲了解其他免费 VPN,可参考这份市面上最佳免费 VPN 清单。不过,我不建议大家使用免费 VPN,因为它们不仅性能差,还存在安全隐患。

WARP 是否真正安全?

WARP 安全,但安全功能有限。它加密用户的流量,但用户下载种子时,它不向其他下载者和种子站隐藏用户的 IP 地址。这种做法有时能保障安全,有时则让用户暴露在风险之中。它还会将一些日志保留 24 小时,但实行严格无日志政策的 VPN 就不会这么做。

想要安全就选 Surfshark:拥有先进的加密技术,让用户始终匿名上网;实行无日志政策;改变用户 IP 和 DNS 地址,以防被网站识别。

使用 WARP 是否合法?

合法,使用 VPN 在几乎所有国家都是合法的。在个别国家,比如朝鲜和伊朗,使用 VPN 是非法的;还有一些国家禁用 VPN,或者阻碍人们使用 VPN。只要你连接 WARP 期间不从事犯罪活动,应该就没有问题!

立即试用 WARP

重要須知

X 保證天數

联络资料

www.warpvpn.com

比較選項

9.8 / 10
拜访
9.5 / 10
拜访
9.4 / 10
拜访
WARP VPN
4.0  / 10

分享& 支持

WizCase是一个独立的评论网站。我们由读者支持,因此用户通过我们网站上的链接购买产品时,我们可能会收取佣金。用户无需为在我们网站上购买的商品支付任何额外费用——我们的佣金直接来自产品所有者。

支持WizCase,帮助我们确保提供诚实公正的意见。分享我们的网站以支持我们!

WARP VPN Review 2021: Before You Buy, Is It Worth It?

What do we look at?

Disclosures:
Referral fees

Wizcase may earn an affiliate commission when a purchase is made using our links. However, this has no influence on the content of the reviews we publish or on the products/services reviewed. Our content may include direct links to buy products that are part of affiliate programs.

Ownership

Kape Technologies PLC, the parent company of Wizcase, owns CyberGhost, ZenMate, Private Internet Access, and Intego, which may be reviewed on this website.

Our Reviews

WizCase includes reviews written by our experts. They evaluate the products/services in accordance with their professional standards.

Reviews standards

All reviews published on Wizcase meet our strict reviewing standards, in order to ensure that each review is based on the reviewer's independent, honest, and professional examination of the product/service. Such standards require the reviewer to consider the technical qualities and characteristics of the product alongside its commercial value for users, which may affect the product's ranking on the website.

WARP VPN Overview May 2021

WARP’s free mobile VPN came as a surprise to many after starting off as an online security and infrastructure company with its 1.1.1.1 DNS service. I wanted to know if it’s a viable free VPN option or if it’s cutting corners (in short: it is).

To find out more, I tested WARP’s streaming capability, security features, server network, and user privacy. Although it offers compelling security for local networks, it falls short in delivering the features that you want in a VPN such as geo-spoofing and end-to-end security. If you need a fully-fledged VPN to protect more than just mobile, you should try Surfshark’s high speeds and secure network for free for 30 days.

Don’t Have Time? Here’s a 1-Minute Summary

WARP by Cloudflare Doesn’t Unblock Content — It Only Improves Connection Speeds in Your Country

WARP is unable to unblock streaming content — according to Cloudflare, it was never designed with this in mind. However, you can still access local streaming services. This is due to WARP not changing your IP address (a unique identifier that services can use to geolocate you), but only providing encryption and possible speed improvements for some users.

You can avoid annoying Netflix proxy errors with WARP, unless you’re already in a country that doesn’t have access to the streaming service. This allows you to connect with added security without blocking access to your favorite content.

If you need a VPN to unblock streaming services, I highly recommend ExpressVPN for its high-speed servers and large global server network. These features are the key to streaming content in high definition from anywhere.

Speed3.0

While testing WARP’s free version, my speeds were reduced by around 80% while using WiFi and by around 5% with mobile data. WARP claims that speed improvements are more likely on slower networks, though my home network can reach over 400Mbps and WARP wasn’t able to maintain these high speeds. For users with slower or unreliable connections, WARP is more likely to provide benefits.

Screenshot of WARP speedtests on a home WiFi connection without WARP connected and the 80% speed reduction with it connected.
I got significantly slower speeds when connected to WARP since it’s not intended for high-speed networks

Even though my speeds were significantly reduced on my home network, this was only a problem for data-intensive activities (like downloading large files). For day-to-day activities, including browsing or streaming videos, 80Mbps is sufficient. I noticed no reduction in loading times and streams loaded instantly in full HD just like before.

I was disappointed in WARP+’s speeds when I ran tests. It routes your traffic to the websites you’re visiting through the Cloudflare server closest to the site to increase your speeds in theory. Sadly, my speeds were almost exactly the same.

Why Most Speed Tests are Pointless & How We Correctly Test VPN Speeds

Speed determines how fast content uploads, so if you're torrenting or streaming, you want the speed to be somewhat identical to your regular internet speed. Since a VPN encrypts your data, it usually takes a bit longer to send your data back and forth, which can slow down your connection. However, if your ISP deliberately slows down your connection (also known as throttling) a VPN might increase your internet speed. Testing a VPN is somewhat pointless because new servers pop up and affect speed. Your speed can also differ according to your location, so your speed test might not match ours. Having said that, we tested the speed in numerous locations to provide you with the average.

Servers3.0

Server Network — Large Network but No Manual Server Selection

WARP is based on Cloudflare’s fast global network in 200 cities and over 100 countries. This is an impressive built-in infrastructure that many other VPNs lack.
Screenshot of Cloudflare's global server network map.
Cloudflare is known for its fast and robust server infrastructure — a great foundation for a VPN

Unfortunately, you can’t take full advantage of WARP’s large network as you’re always auto-connected to the closest server. You also can’t use WARP to access geo-blocked content since it wasn’t designed with geolocation spoofing in mind (unlike most other VPNs). WARP is ideal for securing your connection and potentially increasing your speed. The fact that it has access to such a large network means that you should have a reliable local connection from anywhere. Server congestion should also be reduced as users won’t be connecting to the most popular servers like on other VPNs (to unblock streaming services).

Security — Strong Encryption With Some Drawbacks

I’ve liked Cloudflare’s commitment to a more secure and private internet for a while, starting with the 1.1.1.1 service before WARP was released. 1.1.1.1 is a DNS resolver (used to connect users to the right server when they enter a URL) that adds speed and encryption rather than using your ISP or Google’s DNS. You can use it to get speeds up to twice as fast as Google’s DNS — impressive considering it launched 8 years after Google and is now the second-largest public DNS resolver.

WARP is a new addition to the 1.1.1.1 mobile app, with which you now get an encrypted tunnel in addition to its encrypted DNS. It hides your traffic from your ISP and anyone locally sharing your network, giving you increased privacy and preventing third-party spying on public WiFi. This is a great first step, but it doesn’t hide your IP address from websites you visit — if you want complete privacy, this isn’t the best solution.

You can also integrate Cloudflare’s Gateway service into WARP for free by signing up and entering your unique ID in the app. This gives you another layer of security by blocking dangerous DNS requests by matching them against its threat database (which monitors new and evolving threats including malware and spyware across over 25 million websites).
Screenshot of Cloudflare's WARP IP and DNS leak test result - it didn't pass since it doesn't replace users' addresses.
WARP increases connection security, but doesn’t add complete privacy

If you want a VPN that keeps you private from your ISP, local users, and websites, you can try Surfshark’s security features for free for 30 days. It has high speeds and a large server network, and it can be used to access streaming content from anywhere unlike WARP.

Privacy — A Good Foundation but a Few Grey Areas Leave Room for Concern

Cloudflare makes a number of promises for user privacy, including that it:

  • Never logs user-identifiable data to disk.
  • Never sells your browsing data or use it in any way to target you with ads.
  • Doesn’t require personal information including your name, number, or email address.
  • Hires third-party auditors to verify its claims.

Cloudflare only claims to store the absolute minimum necessary logs, including performance data (how much users transfer), anonymized device data, request data (source IP, source port, and destination IP), crash logs, and type of operating system.

I was concerned that it retains request data for 24 hours — supposedly to respond to emergency law enforcement requests. This could show which websites a user visited, something that most premium VPNs aim to avoid with various methods. For instance, Surfshark uses RAM-based servers so user data is never even written to a hard drive.

When Cloudflare hired KPMG to perform an independent audit in 2019, it passed with a couple of minor issues. The auditor found that Cloudflare’s logs were actually wiped after 25 hours and some anonymized data was stored indefinitely. It updated its privacy policy in line with this.

Torrenting — No IP Change Makes It a Bad Choice

I don’t recommend torrenting with WARP, since it doesn’t hide your IP address. Although you can download torrents, your digital identity won’t be protected. The chances of getting caught are just as high as if you weren’t connected to it.

Additionally, Cloudflare has stated in its privacy policy that it will share your personal data “to respond to subpoenas, court orders, or legal process, or to establish or exercise our legal rights or defend against legal claims.” This means that if you’re caught illegally pirating and the copyright holder legally requests information from Cloudflare, it can share your information with the government.

If you need a VPN for torrenting, NordVPN is a fantastic choice with secure and high-speed servers. You’re even able to use P2P protocols including torrenting software on all of its servers.

Does WARP by Cloudflare Work in China? — No, Don’t Try!

WARP doesn’t work in China. WARP only encrypts your data using your existing IP address. This means that it’s unable to unblock content that’s blocked inside China.

If you want a reliable VPN for browsing in China, I recommend checking out the best VPNs for China.

Server Locations

WARP VPN

User Experience6.0

Simultaneous Device Connections — Inconclusive Number of Devices

Cloudflare doesn’t state a definitive number of maximum device connections, so you can use it on as many as you want without logging into an account. If you connect on multiple mobile devices logged in to different Google or Apple accounts, the separate installations won’t be tied back to one user’s WARP account.

I tested WARP on 2 Android devices under the same Google account. I stayed connected on both devices for almost a whole day and the connection never dropped or noticeably slowed down.

Device Compatibility — Currently Just on Mobile but Desktop Version In Progress

WARP is currently only available on Android and iOS.

Beta versions will soon be available for Windows and Mac, but you’ll have to enter a waiting list to be notified when they’re available. If you need a Windows VPN in the meantime, you can take a look at this list of the best VPNs for Windows.

Ease of Set-Up & Installation — Easy Mobile Installation on Android and iOS

  1. Go to the Google Play or iOS App Store and download the 1.1.1.1 app.
  2. Open the app, click “Get Started”, and accept the Privacy Policy once you’ve read it.
    Screenshot of the WARP install process on Android.
  3. When you click to connect, you’ll be prompted to install a new VPN configuration on your device. Afterwards, you’ll be automatically connected.
    Screenshot of Cloudflare's WARP initiating a connection on an Android phone.

Support3.0

Cloudflare has made reaching customer support far more difficult than it should be. It even warns users in its forums not to contact support through traditional means (email, live chat, and phone) but submit a bug report and wait for a response instead. I sent a report and asked if Cloudflare could advise me on how to improve speeds. Unfortunately, more than a week later (at the time of writing), I still hadn’t heard back. This makes me wonder if support is sufficiently managed or just used for bug reports.

Screenshot of Cloudflare's WARP customer support information, informing users to only use the app for support issues.
Your only other option is to use Cloudflare’s support forums in the large and active community and a dedicated section for the 1.1.1.1 app. Since there’s no instant support available, this is another good alternative to submitting a bug report in the app.

How We Test Customer Support and Why Should You Care

We personally test the customer support team of every VPN we review. This means asking technical question through the live chat feature (where applicable) and measuring the response time for email questions. Whether you need to connect to a specific server, change your security protocol, or configure a VPN on your router, finding a VPN with quality customer support should be important to you.

Pricing5.0

The best thing about WARP is that it’s free and you can also get an upgrade to WARP+ for $4.99/month (which promises faster speeds).

There’s no official money-back guarantee from Cloudflare — you’re only able to get one if you subscribe through Google Play and initiate the refund within 48 hours. You won’t be able to get a refund on iOS. Fortunately, I bought my subscription on Android and successfully got a refund.
Screenshots of WARP Google refund process.
I was disappointed that WARP doesn’t have a longer refund policy

I can’t currently recommend WARP+, since it didn’t improve my speeds over the regular WARP connection. For less than half the price of WARP+, I can get a Surfshark subscription — which has higher speeds, more advanced security, and the ability to unblock geo-restricted content like Netflix, Disney+, Hulu, and more.

WARP VPN offers the following plans

Final Verdict

WARP offers some great features such as an encrypted tunnel and DNS, but overall fails to compare to other premium VPNs on the market.

I was most excited to see WARP’s supposed higher speeds, but experienced slower speeds on both WiFi and mobile instead. It fills a very niche spot in the VPN market — primarily offering protection against those sharing your local network and hiding your browsing from your ISP and other prying eyes. If the speeds and security features can be improved, I might change my mind. I can’t recommend getting WARP until then.

If you’re searching for a more fully-featured VPN with high speeds, strong security, and the ability to unblock numerous streaming platforms while on a budget, Surfshark is a better option. You can also try it for free for 30 days with zero risk.

Common FAQs

😀 Is WARP worth getting?

Since it’s free, it’s worth checking to see if WARP makes a difference to your internet connection. If you have a slow or unreliable connection, it may help you get faster speeds. Otherwise, it’s a good basic option if you want to stay secure on shared networks or hide your activity from your ISP. WARP+ (the paid option) isn’t worth using since my tests showed no difference in speeds, and you can get a premium VPN with better features for the same price or less.

If you’re looking for higher-level security and the ability to unblock streaming content and torrenting, you should check out one of the top 10 premium VPNs on the market.

🤑 Can I use WARP for free?

Yes, you can get WARP completely for free through the Android or iOS mobile app stores.

If you’d like to find out more about other free VPNs, you can check out this list of the best free VPNs on the market. However, I recommend against using free VPNs for their weak performance and security issues.

🙃 Is WARP actually safe?

WARP is safe, but it has some security restrictions. Although it encrypts your traffic, it doesn’t hide your IP address from peers or websites you visit when you’re torrenting. This gives you security in certain situations but leaves you exposed in others. It also keeps some logs for 24 hours, but you can avoid this by choosing a VPN with a strict no-logs policy.

For a secure alternative, Surfshark has advanced encryption that keeps you hidden online, a no-logs policy, and changes your IP and DNS addresses so websites can’t identify you.

😅 Is it legal to use WARP?

Yes, using a VPN is legal in almost all countries around the world. There are a few including North Korea or Iran where it’s criminalized, and some other countries that ban VPNs or make using them a challenge. As long as you don’t engage in criminal activity while connected to WARP, you should be fine!

Try WARP now

Important to know

No

Contact Details

one.one.one.one

Compare with Alternatives

9.8 / 10
Visit
9.5 / 10
Visit
9.4 / 10
Visit
WARP VPN
4.0  / 10

Share & Support

WizCase is an independent review site. We are reader-supported so we may receive a commission when you buy through links on our site. You do not pay extra for anything you buy on our site — our commission comes directly from the product owner.

Support WizCase to help us guarantee honest and unbiased advice. Share our site to support us!