My Expat Network 評價2021:是否值得购买?

我們該檢視什麼?

公开声明:
我们的测评

Wizcase包含由我们的社区评论员撰写的测评,这些测评都是基于评论员对产品进行的独立、专业的测试和检查。

所有权

Wizcase的母公司Kape Technologies PLC拥有CyberGhost、ZenMate、Private Internet Access和Intego,我们网站可能测评这些产品。

推荐费

使用我们的链接进行购买时,Wizcase可能会赚取关联佣金。但是,这对我们发布的测评内容或测评的产品或服务没有任何影响。我们的内容可能包含购买关联计划产品的直接链接。

测评标准

Wizcase上发布的所有测评都符合我们严格的测评标准,以确保每一篇测评文章都是基于测评员对产品或服务开展的独立、诚实和专业的检查。这些标准要求测评员不仅要考虑产品的技术质量和特性,还要考虑其对用户的商业价值,这可能影响产品在网站上的排名。

My Expat Network总览 六月 2021

My Expat Network 在 2011 年才面世,却已经非常火爆,收到了大量好评。然而,我对它做了详细测试,并将它与市场上顶级的 VPN 相比较,结果让我大失所望。

对于想要解决流媒体地域限制的人来说,My Expat Network 是个理想的选择。但遗憾的是,它只能解锁这 12 个国家的内容:英国、美国、澳大利亚、加拿大、丹麦、法国、德国、瑞典、挪威、荷兰、意大利和西班牙。

在安全方面,我不相信它真能让用户匿名,因为它记录身份信息,包括 IP 地址(这会暴露用户真实位置)。

好在 My Expat Network 提供 30 天退款保证,大家可以亲自试试,自行定夺。

赶时间?1 分钟摘要在此

My Expat Network 能解锁热门流媒体平台 Netflix、Hulu、Disney+ 和 HBO(但解锁不了 Amazon Prime Video)

My Expat Network 专注于解锁 12 个国家的流媒体平台,在这方面做得相当好,但是速度太慢了,无法播放全高清的流媒体内容,除非用户的网速极快。

它的网站上有一个电视导航,提供它能访问的流媒体平台的链接。除了 Amazon Prime Video 外,它成功解锁了我测试的所有平台。美国服务器一开始也有段时间难以解锁 Disney+,不过刷新连接几次后,就能成功了。

Netflix(包括美区):解锁成功

My Expat Network 解锁了全部 12 国的 Netflix。主要服务器(primary server)和隐身服务器(stealth server)都能解决 Netflix 的地域限制。

我的Expat Networking屏幕快照解锁Netflix US

我用 My Expat Network在美区 Netflix 看了《后翼弃兵》,画质很差

Disney+(包括美区):解锁成功

在它所服务的 12 个国家中,My Expat Network 解锁了 11 个国家的 Disney+——没解锁丹麦的,是因为 Disney+ 不在该国提供服务。

主要服务器 10 次里有 9 次访问不了 Disney+,但隐身服务器总能绕过地域限制。

My Expat Network的屏幕截图,畅游迪士尼+美国

我用 My Expat Network 的美国隐身服务器,在 Disney+ 上看了《沉睡魔咒》

Hulu:解锁成功

Hulu 在美国境外完全无法使用,但 My Expat Network 迅速解决了它的种种限制。隐身服务器和主要服务器都能有效绕过地域限制。

My Expat Network解锁Hulu的屏幕截图

我连着 My Expat Network,在 Hulu 上看了《为家而战》

HBO NOW:解锁成功

My Expat Network 的主要服务器和隐身服务器都能解锁 HBO NOW。连接服务器后,只需等 20 秒左右,就能访问影视库了。但这款 VPN 速度非常慢,只能看画质很差的电影。缓冲倒是不多,但别指望用 My Expat Network 看高清电影。

我的Expat Network即时解锁HBO的屏幕截图

My Expat Network 非常慢,所以我在 HBO NOW 上看的《神奇动物》画质很差

Amazon Prime Video:解锁失败

My Expat Network 解决不了 Prime Video 的地域限制。我每次试图用这款 VPN 访问时,亚马逊的算法都能检测到我在使用代理。我测试了全部 24 个服务器(12 个主要,12 个隐身),全军覆没。

速度4.3

My Expat Network 的速度非常慢,我在任何平台都看不了高清视频。

我测试了所有服务器的速度,发现速度平均下降了 85%。离我最近的是澳大利亚服务器,但它的速度竟然下降了 87%。美国服务器的距离大约是它的三倍,速度却快得多,但还是下降了 60%。就算连上 My Expat Network 最快的服务器,也仍然需要高速网络,才能零缓冲观看流媒体。

用 My Expat Network 玩游戏,延迟太高了,导致游戏体验不稳定。连接 VPN 前,我的延迟只有 8 ms,但不管连接它的哪个服务器,延迟都会立马升到 200 ms 以上。这会让游戏玩家扫兴,因为命令和动作要花很久才能到达游戏服务器,这样一来,玩家就不得不面对动作比自己快得多、流畅得多的对手。

连接这款 VPN 时,我无法打开 Ookla 测速。不过,我找到了另一个同样值得信赖的测速网站。

我的Expat Network速度测试跨屏幕截图

My Expat Network 不适合你,除非你原本的网速超快

与其凑合使用高延迟和低网速的 VPN,不如看看这些高级 VPN,速度足够快,适合玩游戏

为何大多数的速度测试都无意义以及我们如何正确地测试VPN速度

影响VPN速度的因素有很多种,但同时也使许多的速度测试没有意义。由于VPN会加密你的数据,使得一来一往的数据传输花费更多时间,造成连接速度缓慢。然而,若ISP刻意减慢你的连线速度(又称为节流),VPN或许可以加快您网路的连线速度。 增加新的服务器至互联网也可能会影响速度。根据您所在的位置,测试结果也可能会有所不同,因此您的速度通常可能与我们的速度有所不同。 我们的速度测试为非常可靠的基准,因为我们会在多个位置上测试其速度,为你提供更完整的依据,使其对所有用户更具可相比性。

服务器3.9

服务器网络:性价比低!

My Expat Network 称自己拥有 120 个服务器,对于一款号称解锁全球内容的 VPN 来说,这个数量太少了。经过全面测试,实际的服务器数量远低于宣传的数量。它在 12 个国家提供服务器,每个国家各有 1 个主要服务器和 1 个隐身服务器,后者为用户 IP 额外增加一层安全保护,让用户得以解锁更多限制地域的内容。

观看流媒体时,应尽量避免使用隐身服务器,除非遇到主要服务器解决不了的高级地域限制。由于增加了一层安全保护,隐身服务器的速度明显低于主要服务器。

两种服务器会给用户分配相同的 IP 地址。这样一来,只要平台识别出其中之一,两者就都会被屏蔽,令人担忧。我也不断尝试在各个服务器上刷新自己的连接,但始终被分配到同样的 IP 地址。也就是说,My Expat Network 只为我提供 12 个不同的虚拟位置。

提供相同IP地址的My Expat Network主服务器和隐形服务器的屏幕截图

主要服务器和隐身服务器基本一致

这个发现让我震惊,于是我和客服人员聊了聊。对方说这种可能性很小,可能是他们那边程序加载错误导致的。测试期间,我团队的另一成员也遇到了 IP 完全相同的问题。

我甚至取消后另外订阅了新的账户,想看看问题是不是出在之前那个账户上,然而换了资料不同的账户后,我依然只能获得 12 个 IP 地址。

My Expat Network电子邮件回复的屏幕截图,提供有关IP地址问题的说明

客服仍然告诉我,我应该能获得不止 12 个 IP 地址,但并非如此

对一款旨在解锁流媒体的 VPN 来说,120 个服务器已经够少了,因为数量少意味着服务器过载的可能性大,过载则会导致速度下降。我的测试发现说明,要么服务器数量远低于宣传的数字,要么每个订阅用户只能连接其中 12 个服务器。不管实际情况是哪种,都让人很难推荐这款 VPN 的任何方面,何况价格还贵。

安全性:安全功能卓越,但严重影响速度

My Expat Network 提供一些当今业内顶级的安全功能,但为此牺牲了所有服务器的速度。它使用 AES-256 加密技术,在提高数据安全方面,这种技术如今首屈一指。

Windows 和 macOS 应用程序使用 OpenVPN 协议,该协议在保护数据安全和防御黑客等网络安全威胁方面有良好的记录。安卓系统使用同样强大的 IKEv2 协议。

加了这些高级安全保护层,速度难免下降。大多数高级 VPN 使用这些安全协议,却不会让速度下降太多,而 My Expat Network 做不到这一点。

另外,iOS 用户只能连接主要服务器,不能连接更安全的隐身服务器。无法安装 VPN 的 Windows 手机需要手动安装,而手动安装只支持过时的 L2TP 协议。

私密性:隐私政策非常不可靠

My Expat Network 记录太多个人信息,还不说明如何使用这些数据、在什么情况下会将其分享给第三方。

最让我担心的是,My Expat Network 记录用户 IP 地址。在注册和付款时,它还收集用户姓名和联系信息。

在隐私政策中,My Expat Network 具体说明了它收集的信息类型。既然它明确告知了不收集的信息类型,那么可想而知,它会收集时间戳等可识别身份的信息。VPN 在政策中给出这样的声明,自然会让用户担忧。

我的Expat Network隐私策略的屏幕截图

My Expat Network 在其网站上收集部分用户信息

平心而论,My Expat Network 似乎并未推销其匿名性,而是以流媒体解锁能力为卖点。追求隐私的人应当另寻其他 VPN。

种子下载:仅荷兰服务器支持 P2P 共享和种子下载

荷兰服务器支持种子下载,但是速度太慢,无法下载大文件。

My Expat Network的洪流缓慢的荷兰服务器的屏幕截图

要想下载大的 P2P 共享文件,My Expat Network 的速度还不够快

My Expat Network 在中国是否管用?很可能不管用(仅在西安测试过)

客服称这款 VPN 能破解中国的算法限制,但没说明中国哪里可用。我不在中国,便让身处西安的一名团队成员测试一下 My Expat Network 表现如何。全面测试的结果表明,My Expat Network 无法绕过中国的审查。

要是 My Expat Network 能成功,我才要惊讶了,毕竟中国使用非常先进的算法来限制和控制网络权限,连高级 VPN 都难以应对其网络访问限制。不过,这些高级 VPN 成功翻过了中国的防火墙,为中国用户提供安全服务。

伺服器位址

au
ca
de
dk
es
fr
gb
it
nl
no
se
us

使用者经验 5.9

可同时连接的设备数量:仅 5 台,且连接设备越多,速度越慢

My Expat Network VPN 本身已经很慢了,但我连接所有设备后,发现速度又明显下降了。连接的设备有 2 台 Windows 电脑、1 台 iPhone、1 台 MacBook Pro 和 1 台安卓手机。

在我这里,美国主要服务器的速度最快,但是连接 5 台设备后,速度又下降了 75% 以上。在此之前,只连 1 台设备时,速度已经平均比平时慢 60% 了。我平时的网速并不快,因此连接设备多于 1 台时,只能龟速上网。

连接到我的Expat Network时进行速度测试的屏幕截图

多台设备同时连接 My Expat Network 时,只能进行对网速要求不高的活动

设备兼容性:兼容所有主流平台,包括 Linux,也可以在部分路由器上安装

My Expat Network 在 Windows、安卓、macOS、iOS、Linux、Ubuntu 和 Amazon Fire TV 上有专属应用程序。

它也可以直接安装在 DD-WRT 路由器上,该公司出售预装这款 VPN 的路由器。通过路由器,可以同时连接无数台设备,也可以在本身不兼容该 VPN 的媒体设备上连接,比如 PS4、Xbox、任天堂 Switch 和Apple TV。

设置和安装的难易程度:非常容易安装

安装流程非常简单,只需登录账户、进入安装页面并下载软件。安装向导很有帮助,我不到 5 分钟就完成了设置。

My Expat Network安装第一步的屏幕截图

用户账户页面有各平台版本的 My Expat VPN 下载链接

My Expat Network选择支持的平台的屏幕截图

My Expat Network 兼容所有主流平台,包括部分路由器

My Expat Network安装的最后一步的屏幕截图

My Expat Network 的安装向导简单直白

My Expat Network 不如其他 VPN 用户友好。它没有标准的桌面图形用户界面(GUI),查看服务器列表需要先打开系统托盘,找到它最小化的图标,然后才可以在列表中选择自己要用的服务器。我一开始有点困惑,但最终还是习惯了。

我的Expat Network桌面界面的屏幕截图

用户得在系统托盘中打开 My Expat Network 的服务器列表

支援7.5

My Expat Network 没有实时聊天和电话号码,无法提供即时帮助。唯一的支援方式是电子邮件,回复时间通常在一小时内。我提交工单后立即收到了邮件通知,大约 45 分钟后,一位客服人员联系了我。

它有一个内容有限的知识库,其中包含安装指南,指导用户在多种设备上安装设置 My Expat Network。它还提供免费安装服务,用户可以让技术人员远程虚拟访问自己的系统,为自己安装 VPN。

我很欣赏它的客服,因为客服支持它所服务的 12 个国家的 9 门官方语言:英语、丹麦语、法语、德语、意大利语、荷兰语、挪威语、瑞典语和西班牙语。

支持为何重要?

并不是只有在安装VPN时才需要有好的顾客支持,在其他情况下也常会需要。譬如说,当您要连接到某个特定的伺服器后、想改变安全协议的时候、或是想配置您的路由器的时候,顾客支持都能派上用场。我们会检查所有的VPN,以确保所有的VPN都可以使用(即使是在深夜)。我们也会检测所有VPN的速度,以及他们的反应速度。

价格6.3

My Expat Network 支持 3 种付款方式(借记卡、信用卡和 PayPal),但是作为一款普通 VPN,它的价格相对较高。有一些高级 VPN 和它性能相近,却提供更低的价格、更强的安全功能、更快的速度和更多的服务器。

退款保证:真实且迅速

My Expat Network 提供 30 天无理由退款保证。为测试这一项,我先在账户内取消了订阅,但取消订阅只停止了自动续费,没有自动退款给我。

要拿到退款,必须通过邮件工单申请,但无需提供取消订阅的原因。我的退款申请在一小时内就通过了,钱在 48 小时内退到了我的 PayPal 账户。

My Expat Network退款流程的屏幕截图

三步轻松收到退款!

My Expat Network 提供以下方案

最终结论

My Expat Network 擅长解锁多数流媒体平台,但它在市面上既非最便宜的产品,又非最可靠的产品。服务器非常慢,连接后网速很可能下降多达 80%。

它只提供 12 个国家的服务,性价比非常低。有些高级 VPN 以更低的价格提供更好的服务。

常见问题解答

My Expat Network 是否划算?

很遗憾,不划算,My Expat Network 提供的服务器太少,记录的信息太多,不值得这个价位。它旨在解锁流媒体,但是由于服务器太慢,用户甚至无法观看高清视频。服务器数量也远少于网站上列出的 120 个,这意味着服务器可能人满为患,进一步降低网速。

My Expat Network 能否免费使用?

My Expat Network 没有免费版,不过它提供真正的 30 天无理由退款保证。我亲测过,通过邮件申请了退款,对方没有试图挽留我。

My Expat Network 能否保障数据安全?

能,My Expat Network 拥有卓越的安全功能,比如 AES-256 加密技术,可以保护数据不受第三方监视。可惜它也记录用户 IP 地址和住址、联系信息等身份信息——作为 VPN,其隐私政策非常不可靠。

使用 My Expat Network 会不会惹上麻烦?

在允许使用 VPN 的国家,使用 My Expat Network 不会惹上法律麻烦。白俄罗斯等国家禁用一切 VPN,中国和俄罗斯则只允许“政府批准的 VPN”运营。不过,在大多数国家,使用 Expat VPN 进行合法活动应该都是安全的。

立即试用 My Expat Network

重要須知

United Kingdom
2011
3
30 保證天數

联络资料

[email protected]
www.my-expat-network.com

比較選項

9.9 / 10
拜访
9.7 / 10
拜访
9.6 / 10
拜访
My Expat Network
5.6  / 10

分享& 支持

WizCase是一个独立的评论网站。我们由读者支持,因此用户通过我们网站上的链接购买产品时,我们可能会收取佣金。用户无需为在我们网站上购买的商品支付任何额外费用——我们的佣金直接来自产品所有者。

支持WizCase,帮助我们确保提供诚实公正的意见。分享我们的网站以支持我们!

My Expat Network Review 2021: Before You Buy, Is It Worth It?

What do we look at?

Disclosures:
Our Reviews

WizCase includes reviews written by our experts. They evaluate the products/services in accordance with their professional standards.

Ownership

Kape Technologies PLC, the parent company of Wizcase, owns CyberGhost, ZenMate, Private Internet Access, and Intego, which may be reviewed on this website.

Referral fees

Wizcase may earn an affiliate commission when a purchase is made using our links. However, this has no influence on the content of the reviews we publish or on the products/services reviewed. Our content may include direct links to buy products that are part of affiliate programs.

Reviews standards

All reviews published on Wizcase meet our strict reviewing standards, in order to ensure that each review is based on the reviewer's independent, honest, and professional examination of the product/service. Such standards require the reviewer to consider the technical qualities and characteristics of the product alongside its commercial value for users, which may affect the product's ranking on the website.

My Expat Network Overview June 2021

Even though My Expat Network just started in 2011, it’s already very popular and has plenty of positive reviews. However, after comparing it to top performing VPNs on the market through rigorous tests, I was pretty disappointed.

My Expat Network is ideal if you want to bypass geo-restrictions on streaming services. But sadly, you can only unblock content in 12 countries: the UK, the US, Australia, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Sweden, Norway, Netherlands, Italy, and Spain.

In terms of security, I’m not confident that it really keeps you anonymous as it logs identifying information like your IP address (which gives away your real location).

Luckily, My Expat Network offers a 30-day money-back guarantee so you can test it for yourself and make the final call.

Don’t Have Time? Here’s a 1-Minute Summary

My Expat Network Unblocks Popular Streaming Platforms Like Netflix, Hulu, Disney+, and HBO (But Can’t Access Amazon Prime Video)

My Expat Network is focused on unblocking streaming platforms in 12 countries and did a pretty good job, but the speeds are too low to allow full HD streaming unless you have super-fast internet.

The website has a TV Guide with links to the streaming platforms My Expat Network can access. It unblocked all the platforms I tested it on except for Amazon Prime Video. The US servers also struggled for a while with Disney+ but worked after refreshing the connection a few times.

Netflix (Including Netflix US): Unblocked

My Expat Network unblocked Netflix in all 12 countries. Both primary and stealth servers bypass Netflix’s geo-restrictions.

Screenshot of My Expat Networking unblocking Netflix US

I watched The Queen’s Gambit on Netflix US with My Expat Network in very low quality

Disney+ (Including US Libraries): Unblocked

My Expat Network unblocks Disney+ on 11 of the 12 countries it serves — Denmark servers don’t work because Disney+ isn’t available in the country.

For Disney+, the primary servers failed to connect to the platform 9 out of 10 times, but stealth servers always bypassed the geo-block.

Screenshot of My Expat Network unblocking Disney+ US

I watched Maleficent on Disney+ using My Expat Network’s US stealth servers

Hulu: Unblocked

Hulu is strictly not available outside the US, but My Expat Network quickly bypassed its restrictions. Both stealth and primary servers fared well against the geo-blocks.

Screenshot of My Expat Network unblocking Hulu

I watched Fighting with My Family on Hulu while connected to My Expat Network

HBO NOW: Unblocked

My Expat Network was able to unblock HBO NOW using both primary and stealth servers. Just about 20 seconds after connecting to either server, I was able to access the movie library. This VPN is very slow though. I could only watch movies in grainy standard quality. There wasn’t too much buffering, but don’t expect to watch high quality movies through My Expat Network.

Screenshot of My Expat Network unblocking HBO NOW

I watched Fantastic Beasts on HBO NOW in very low quality because My Expat Network was very slow

Amazon Prime Video: Blocked

My Expat Network doesn’t bypass Prime Video’s geo-restrictions. Amazon’s algorithms could detect that I was using a proxy every time I tried to connect to the platform using this VPN. I tested all 24 servers (12 primary and 12 stealth) and nothing got past the restrictions.

Speed4.3

My Expat Network’s speeds are very low, and I couldn’t stream in HD on any platform.

I tested speeds across all servers and noticed an average 85% drop in speeds. The closest server to me was Australia, which surprisingly recorded an 87% speed decrease. The US servers were about triple the distance but were much faster — they still had a 60% drop in speeds though. Even with the fastest connection, you’ll still need high-speed internet if you want bufferless streaming with My Expat Network.

Latency was also too high for reliable gaming with My Expat Network. Before I connected to the VPN, latency was 8 ms, but it jumped to over 200 ms with every server. This is bad news if you’re a gamer because it will take too much time for commands and actions to reach the game server, so you have to compete against people whose movements are much faster and smoother than yours.

I couldn’t connect to Ookla for speed tests while connected to this VPN, but I found another equally trustworthy speed testing site.

Screenshot of My Expat Network speed tests across different servers

My Expat Network isn’t the VPN for you unless you have super-fast internet speeds to begin with

Instead of settling for high latency and low speeds, there are several premium VPN providers that have speeds fast enough for gaming.

Why Most Speed Tests are Pointless & How We Correctly Test VPN Speeds

Speed determines how fast content uploads, so if you're torrenting or streaming, you want the speed to be somewhat identical to your regular internet speed. Since a VPN encrypts your data, it usually takes a bit longer to send your data back and forth, which can slow down your connection. However, if your ISP deliberately slows down your connection (also known as throttling) a VPN might increase your internet speed. Testing a VPN is somewhat pointless because new servers pop up and affect speed. Your speed can also differ according to your location, so your speed test might not match ours. Having said that, we tested the speed in numerous locations to provide you with the average.

Servers3.9

Server Network — Not Enough for the Price!

My Expat Network claims to have 120 servers, which is too limited for a VPN that claims to unblock content worldwide. After thorough testing, the server numbers are far lower than what the company claims. This VPN serves 12 countries, and each has 2 connections, a primary server, and a stealth server. The stealth server adds an extra layer of obfuscation to your IP, allowing you to unblock more geo-restricted content.

You should avoid stealth servers when streaming unless you’re facing advanced geo-blocks that the primary servers can’t bypass. The extra security layer makes stealth servers significantly slower than their primary counterparts.

Both primary and stealth servers assign you the same IP address. This is worrying if a platform flags either connection, since both servers will be blocked. I also repeatedly tried to refresh my connection across all servers and I was always assigned the same IP addresses. This suggests that My Expat Network allowed me access to only 12 different virtual locations.

Screenshot of My Expat Network's primary and stealth servers giving the same IP address

Primary and stealth servers are basically the same connection

This was a shocking find and I took it up with the help desk. They told me that it was highly unlikely and that the issue was probably caused by a program on their end that didn’t load properly. nother member of my team got the exact same IPs during testing.

I even canceled my subscription and paid for a new one to see if it was a problem with my specific account, but I still had access to only 12 IP addresses even with the new details.

Screenshot of My Expat Network email response providing an explanation for an IP address issue

Customer support still held that I should have access to more than 12 IP addresses, but I didn’t

120 servers are already too limited for a streaming VPN because they increase the risk of overcrowding, which leads to downtimes. These findings suggest that the server number is either far lower than that, or you only get access to 12 servers with each subscription. Both scenarios make it very difficult to recommend this VPN for anything, especially given the price.

Security — Commendable Security Features But It Affects Speeds Drastically

My Expat Network employs some of the industry’s best security features to date, but that comes at the expense of speed across all servers. It uses AES-256 encryption, which is one of the best security features today to enhance your data security.

Windows and macOS apps use OpenVPN protocol, which is well-documented to secure data and keep it off the hands of hackers and other cybersecurity threats. Android systems use the equally powerful IKEv2 protocol.

With these advanced layers of security, a slowdown is to be expected. Most premium VPNs employ these security protocols without losing too much on speed, but My Expat Network couldn’t manage.

Also, iOS users can only access primary servers and not the more secure stealth servers. Windows phones that can’t install the VPN require manual installation, which only accommodates the outdated L2TP protocols.

Privacy — Very Poor Privacy Policies

My Expat Network logs too much personal information, and it isn’t very clear about how it uses the data or under what circumstances it would divulge the info to a third-party.

What I found most worrying was the fact that My Expat Network logs your IP address. It also collects your name and contact information during the sign-up and payment process.

In its Privacy Policy, My Expat Network specifies what information it collects. While it is very specific on what it doesn’t collect, you can assume that it collects information like timestamps or other identifiable information. This specificity in a policy naturally should make any VPN customer wary.

Screenshot of My Expat Network's privacy policy

My Expat Network stores some customer information from their website

To be fair, My Expat Network doesn’t seem to market itself on anonymity but rather streaming capability. If you’re after privacy, you should look elsewhere.

Torrenting — Only the Servers in the Netherlands Support P2P Sharing and Torrenting

The servers in the Netherlands allow torrenting, but the speeds are too slow for you to download large files.

Screenshot of My Expat Network's slow torrenting Netherlands servers

If you’re looking to download large P2P shares, My Expat Network won’t be fast enough

Does My Expat Network Work in China? Highly Unlikely (But Only Tested in Xi’an)

Customer support insists that the VPN bypasses the restrictive algorithms in China, but couldn’t specify where. Since I’m not physically located in China, I asked a team member in Xi’an if they could test My Expat Network’s performance. After thorough testing, they couldn’t bypass the censorship in China using My Expat Network.

I would have been surprised if My Expat Network worked because China has very advanced algorithms to restrict and regulate internet access, and even premium VPNs struggle with these barriers to internet access. However, there are several premium VPNs that successfully get around China’s firewalls and provide secure service from the region.

Server Locations

Australia
Canada
Denmark
France
Germany
Italy
Netherlands
Norway
Spain
Sweden
United Kingdom
United States

User Experience5.9

Simultaneous Device Connections — Only 5 at a Time and Speeds Suffer With Each New Connection

My Expat Network VPN is already slow, but I still noticed significant drops when I connected all my devices ­— 1 Windows PC, 1 iPhone, 1 MacBook Pro, and 1 Android phone.

The US primary server was my fastest connection, but the speed dropped by over 45% when all 5 devices were connected. Connecting through a single device had already resulted in an average speed drop of 60%. My internet isn’t very fast, so I could only browse lightly when connected to more than 1 device.

Screenshot of speed tests while connected to My Expat Network

With multiple devices connected to My Expat Network, I could only manage light browsing

Device Compatibility — Compatible With All Major Platforms Including Linux and Can Also Be Installed on Select Routers

My Expat Network has dedicated apps for Windows, Android, macOS, iOS, Linux, Ubuntu, and Amazon Fire TV.

This VPN can also be installed directly into DD-WRT routers, which can be bought preinstalled with the VPN from the company. With the router, you get unlimited device connections and you can use the VPN on unsupported media devices like PS4, Xbox, Nintendo Switch, and Apple TV.

Ease of Set-Up & Installation — Very Easy to Install

Installation is very straightforward — all I had to do was log into my account, which directed me to the install page where I downloaded the software. The Install Wizard was very helpful, and I was through with setup in under 5 minutes.

Screenshot of the first step of My Expat Network's installation

Customer account contains link to download My Expat VPN for all platforms

Screenshot of My Expat Network's choice of supported platforms

My Expat Network works on all popular platforms including select routers

Screenshot of the last step of My Expat Network's installation

My Expat Network’s install wizard is very straightforward

Using My Expat Network isn’t as intuitive as other VPNs. Instead of having a standard desktop GUI, accessing the server list requires you to go into the system tray and find the minimized icon for the software. Then you can select the server you’d like to use on the list of servers. This is a little confusing at first, but I got used to it eventually.

Screenshot of My Expat Network Desktop Interface

You have to open My Expat Network’s server list in the system tray

Support7.5

My Expat Network doesn’t have a live chat or phone number for real-time assistance. Customer help is only accessible via email support, and they typically reply within the hour. I got an email notification immediately I opened a ticket and an agent contacted me after about 45 minutes.

It has a limited knowledge base made up of installation guides to help you set up My Expat Network on a variety of devices. There’s also a Free Installation service, where customers can schedule a technical support representative to remote into their system and install the VPN for them.

I appreciated the help desk because it was available in 9 languages to match the national dialects of the 12 countries it serves: Danish, French, German, Italian, Dutch, Norwegian, Swedish, and Spanish.

How We Test Customer Support and Why Should You Care

We personally test the customer support team of every VPN we review. This means asking technical question through the live chat feature (where applicable) and measuring the response time for email questions. Whether you need to connect to a specific server, change your security protocol, or configure a VPN on your router, finding a VPN with quality customer support should be important to you.

Pricing6.3

Even though My Expat Network offers 3 payment options (debit card, credit card, and PayPal), it still has a relatively high cost for a sub-premium VPN. There are several premium VPN providers that offer similar performance at competitive prices, with stronger security features, faster speeds, and more servers.

Money-Back Guarantee — Genuine and Quick

My Expat Network has a 30-day money-back guarantee with no questions asked. I tested it by first canceling my subscription in the account. Cancellation just stopped the recurring payments but didn’t automatically process my refund.

To get the money back, you have to request it via an email ticket without a reason for cancelling. My refund request was approved within an hour of my request and I had my money back in my PayPal account in under 48 hours.

Screenshot of My Expat Network's refund process

I received my refund in 3 easy steps!

My Expat Network offers the following plans

Final Verdict

My Expat Network does a decent job unblocking most streaming platforms, but it’s far from being the cheapest or most reliable option on the market. The servers are very slow, and you should expect drops in speed of up to 80% when connected to its servers.

This VPN services only 12 countries which is very limited for the price. There are several premium VPNs out there that provide better service for a comparative price.

Common FAQs

🤑 Is My Expat Network worth the cost?

Unfortunately no, My Expat Network offers too few servers and logs too much information for a VPN in its price range. It’s a streaming VPN but you can’t even stream in HD because its servers are too slow. The server numbers are also far lower than the 120 listed on the website. This means you run the risk of working with overcrowded servers which further slow down your internet speed.

🤗 Can I use My Expat Network for free?

My Expat Network doesn’t have a free version but it offers a genuine 30-day no questions asked money-back guarantee. I tested it out by asking for my money back via email and there were no attempts to make me stay.

😉 Does My Expat Network keep my data safe?

Yes, My Expat Network employs top-shelf security features like AES-256 encryption to protect your data from third-party snooping. Unfortunately, it also logs your IP address and other identifying data like your address and contact information — very poor privacy policy for a VPN.

😇 Will I get in trouble for using My Expat Network?

You won’t get in legal trouble for using My Expat Network in countries that allow VPNs. Countries like Belarus ban all VPNs while China and Russia only allow “government approved VPNs” to operate. Using Expat VPN for legal activities should be safe in most countries though.

Try My Expat Network for yourself

Important to know

United Kingdom
2011
Yes
3
30 days guaranteed

Contact Details

[email protected]
www.my-expat-network.com

Compare with Alternatives

9.9 / 10
Visit
9.7 / 10
Visit
9.6 / 10
Visit
My Expat Network
5.6  / 10

Share & Support

WizCase is an independent review site. We are reader-supported so we may receive a commission when you buy through links on our site. You do not pay extra for anything you buy on our site — our commission comes directly from the product owner.

Support WizCase to help us guarantee honest and unbiased advice. Share our site to support us!